NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2019 GMC Sierra 1500

#4 Most Popular Truck
$29,600 - $58,300  MSRP Range
2019 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

82 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 82 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing truck all around

by Buzodia from Rigby ID on Sun Dec 09 2018

Was a long process to buy the right truck. The two finalists were the 19 Sierra AT$ and a 19 Ram Rebel. I went with the GMC simply for it far superior engine and transmission combo and more aggressive styling. I must say, all the new trucks on the market are great, such a huge improvement over the 2005 Ford F150 I traded in. After 12k already I'm still extremely happy with this truck, I'd like a bit softer seat bottoms and a bit more ride height but other than that she's a amazing vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Time Truck Owner

by CailinR from Massachusetts on Wed Nov 28 2018

This is my first time with a truck and I am so thrilled with my selection of the Sierra. It is a great balance of form and function and I am excited to drive it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Bought 6/28 put in shop 6/29 and still there

by Eric S from Parkland, FL on Mon Jul 08 2019

Purchased new for my son as there were lots of discounts and rebates that made buying used seem silly. Took A test drive and heard a slight whine from the rear end. Drove 5 miles home and whine got worse. Took back to dealer next morning only to find out rear differential was bad with metal shavings. We have not seen it since. Dealer is in constant contact but parts are on back order with no date of arrival. I left GM due to poor build quality before so not a good start this time around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC nailed the AT4!

by GoBizon! from Fargo, ND on Mon Dec 17 2018

Great interior and technology with a smooth ride. You sit higher in the AT4 model but it feels like more. New end gate is functional yet practical. Awesome truck!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice truck

by SB from Punxsutawney on Thu Jun 13 2019

The new design of this truck is beautiful all the way around. The fuel economy isn’t bad either. It has more than enough power with the 5.3 motor.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Style and Comfort

by Lance from Florida on Sat May 04 2019

This Truck has reached every expectation I have ever wanted. The Style, the Price, the color, it really is one high tech vehicle. It’s definitely a must see. I purchased the 1500 GMC Sierra crew cab and love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Design

by Vtvette from Kernersville, NC on Tue Feb 12 2019

I liked the exterior design of the new 2019 as soon as I saw the first one. It has great lines that really screams sporty. The interior is certainly more roomy than the 2018 2500 series that I owned. Plenty of USB ports; however I do not like the fact that the vehicle has to be running for the 110 volt plug to function. The acc. mode shuts down to quickly as well. I work out of my vehicle regularly and this is an inconvenience. The older model GM trucks allowed for auxiliary batteries in the engine compartment, but the newer vehicles are truly more confined in that compartment. I also like the new storage compartments in the rear seat backs and the conformed storage unit under the rear seat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truck

by richie from West Chester,Pa on Tue May 28 2019

Best looking truck on the market, strong engine, ride is great with 18" tires. Best of all !--the tail gate !--I have the 6.2--gets better mpg than the Hemi !--however you should put 93 OCT. Double cab I have, interior is great. Maybe old style, to some, not for me. Price wise it is about three thousand more, with less stuff than the Ram--May not be worth it ! MAYBE trade in--questionable--

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing vehicle the look the built very smooth.

by Ruben-Pearland from Pearland Tx on Tue Jun 18 2019

I am satisfied with the overall . It is smooth the color the look the build is super Awesome. It Has Everthing I have been looking for- will last for a long time I feel it is well built.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truly Awesome TRUCK!

by BigR from Denver, CO on Sat Jun 01 2019

My Sierra AT4 is an amazing truck. It rides smooth as a baby's butt and is a Trojan horse with torque to yank an elephant airborne. GMC did this diddy up right!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2019 GMC Sierra 1500

The verdict:

Quieter, more capable and more spacious than before, the redesigned 2019 GMC Sierra 1500 works beautifully but disappoints with substandard interior materials and designs.

Versus the competition:

Few competitors can touch the power and versatility of a 6.2-liter V-8 and 10-speed transmission, and the GMC’s bed technology is genuinely useful, but Ford and (especially) Ram have interiors that leave GM’s supposedly premium truck brand in the dust.

GMC launched the new 2019 Sierra 1500 at the very edge of North America in St. John's, Newfoundland, at the easternmost tip of Canada — a way of conveying that the new Sierra is a very different truck from the 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500, finally, after years of badge engineering and shared body panels. With GMC's mission to be a "Professional Grade" of trucks and SUVs, doing something unconventional should be expected. Creating a nicer truck than the Silverado should also be expected.

But aside from a few exclusive features and some distinctively different exterior styling, there isn't much different between the Silverado and the Sierra, inside or underneath. All... Read More