2012 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2012 Jeep Compass

$6,573 - $14,721  MSRP Range
2012 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

51 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Jeep Compass Sport

by Louie Gooty from California on Tue Apr 10 2012

I was looking for a 4X4 that has great gas mileage and handles well, and I found it. After reading all professional reviews online I chose to get the 5spd sport. It handles nicely and has a lot of zip for a 4cyl 2.4l. The interior is nice and comfortable and the sport is nicely equipped even with it being the lower end model in the Compass line. Still has cruise control, A/C, power windows and door locks, and 4 wheel drive, with one pull of a lever. It is very quiet and great on gas. The new styling is what brought me to it and everything else it has made me buy it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Compass

by JeepBaby from Lawrence, KS on Sun Sep 23 2012

I upgraded from a 1997 Jeep Cherokee Sport, which I loved dearly. Besides the Jeep name, the exterior styling of the Compass is what attracted me. Because I cannot afford the new Grand Cherokee I focused on the Compass, which has similar front-end styling. I love the CVT transmission, but be aware that it does take some getting used to. I thought it was sluggish, but it's because I couldn't hear or feel the transmission shifting gears. I love the ease of all the interior controls. The tall riding backseat bench is comfortable. I don't feel like my legs are in my chest. I like that the spare tire is kept under the cargo space. It is extremely easy to fold down the back seats. I will say that the front seats are not the most comfortable, however they are a step up from my 1997. Overall, I bought a brand new vehicle for a stellar price and am impressed as ever with the Jeep. I will be loyal to the brand for life.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice car

by katiedid from st louis mo on Thu Feb 16 2012

Just bought a new Jeep Compass..traded in my 2002 Jeep Cherokee..not as nice as the old Jeep but for the money it is great. It is quiet, steers great and has a lot more zip than I thought it would, and it is much better on gas!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome

by mrsbunnylady from PA on Sun Sep 23 2012

just bought one! Gas mileage is awesome. The ride is smooth and comfortable. Surprisingly roomy, enough room for four adults to ride in comfort. Handles well, and looks sleek and sporty. Lots of "trunk" space behind rear seat. Rear seats flat for more storage...a big plus! Front windshield offers a huge view. Auxiliary jack is nice for playing iPod. cup holders light up when headlights are on..nice feature for finding a place for your water bottle at night! Love our compass! Great value for the MSRP. If you are looking for a smaller suv or a family car, this is what you want!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by CM from Schenectady NY on Mon May 22 2017

Recently bought this used vehicle and couldn't be happier I highly recommend the Compass for those looking fir a small suv

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for the price!

by New Jeep Owner from Pictou, Nova Scotia on Tue Jul 24 2012

Best vehicle I've owned. Gets us everywhere including so far into the trails and woods, cell phone GPS didn't know where we were. Looked like an ATV trail and we came out the other side (40+kms through). FUN -- FUN -- FUN!! All this and GREAT fuel economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Meets my need in every way

by Best of all worlds from Park City Utah on Thu Aug 23 2012

I just love my little Jeep Compass and it is loaded with so many comfort features. I get good gas mileage and it looks like a little Grand Cherokee. The 4 wheel drive and high clearance will come in handy this winter in Park City. This is the second Compass I have had and my wife would rather drive this vehicle than her 2011 Tahoe. Very happy with this small crossover .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I've owned

by Tsschlosser from Bismarck ND on Thu May 04 2017

Love it! Drives nicely. Looks good. Not too big but not too small. Excited to where I can go with it and happy for the 4 wheel drive here in the ND tundra

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My first Jeep

by My first Jeep from Washington State on Fri Jul 05 2013

I have had my Compass for 11 months so far, and I am enjoying it. The only thing I wish it had was better gas mileage. For a 4cy eng I thought it would get better gas mileage than the 6cy Escape I traded in for, but they run about the same.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

my wonderful new car

by Lucky from Thomson, GA on Wed Nov 20 2013

I am 100% satisfied with this vehicle purchase. It's perfect for me and I would recommend the Jeep Compass to anyone. I love the sturdy feel while driving. I was very surprise with the comfort in back seat, as well as the driver or front passenger. First week and I'm in love. Almost 300 miles and still plenty of gas. Thank you Thomson Motor and Mr. Crook.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6