2017 Optima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Kia Optima

$10,545 - $22,081  MSRP Range
2017 Kia Optima

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

241 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Kia Optima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 241 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very sound, reliable vehicle.

by Deb from Los Angeles, California on Thu Apr 06 2017

I'm very pleased with the performance, reliability and look of my new Kia Optima. The vehicle is solidly rated with different auto publications which provides a tremendous level of confidence in my decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my KIA

by KIAKathyFWB from Fort Walton Beach FL on Thu Apr 13 2017

Haven't had my 2017 KIA Optima long but I love it so far! Very sporty and sleek. Love the safety options, especially the blind spot detection, backup camera, all the airbags, and the lighting of the door handles when approaching the car at night.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury to the max

by Ann from Palm Harbor, Florida on Tue Apr 04 2017

My new car has all the technology I'll need in a car for years to com ... AND it come in a beautiful stylish package ...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

lights

by mattie2 from south bend, ind on Thu May 04 2017

Love the car.....buy very poor headlights...... Watch out if you want good lighting at night the regular headlights are very poor.......and no forglights are available.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous Car!

by Rico C from California on Thu Mar 30 2017

Not much to say for now but overall, we love our new car. It runs great and smooth. Love the sound system and we love the exterior color.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the investment

by Thom2154 from Santa Rosa CA, on Fri Jan 11 2019

Nice design, great mileage from a reasonably priced, nice size sedan. The c ar lives up to its reputation and provides a good styling, comfortable ride with great economics. Up to 40 MPG on the road and average in the high 20s around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quiet car to drive!

by Juice7 from Westerville, OH on Fri Apr 07 2017

The Optima feels like a high-end car. It is solid and handles very well on curves. Very quiet on the highway. Great design style.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An excellent and reliable car

by Bob from on Thu Apr 06 2017

My new KIA Optima meets all of my expectations and I feel sure that I will drive and enjoy it for many years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First impression is very good.

by Brad from Syracuse Utah on Sun Apr 16 2017

Just leased 2 Optimas and my wife and I are very happy. We are impressed by all the convenient features included and we have the base models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Upgrade

by Karen from Kissimmee, FL on Mon Oct 29 2018

I had a 2013 EX Kia Optima and traded up to a 2017.. I love the upgrades they made to the overall vehicle. Smaller steering wheel, heated seats, back up camera, and more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 25

Our Take on the 2017 Kia Optima

Editor’s note: This review was written in November 2015 about the 2016 Kia Optima, but little else of substance has changed. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The newly redesigned 2016 Kia Optima, with its blend of driving dynamics and a well-thought-out interior, remains competitive in the absolutely cutthroat midsize sedan field.

The redesigned Optima’s major improvements are under the skin: chassis tuning and an additional engine offering. For a newly redesigned car, though, the 2016 Optima doesn’t look hugely different from the previous year’s car. You can run through the rest of the changes here.

... Read More