2018 Stinger

Consumer Reviews

$17,686 - $39,606  MSRP Range
2018 Kia Stinger

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

151 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Kia Stinger?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 151 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best daily performance sedan for the $$ out there.

by RMA from Tampa Fl on Sun Nov 04 2018

I simply love driving this car, been watching it way before its release & will prob buy another within the next 1.5 year or so.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kia Stinger!! Great car!!!

by Golfman from Washington UT on Wed Feb 28 2018

This car is comfortable, fun to drive, very good looking, has all the cool features, comes with a V6 twin turbo engine. It's got the get up and go!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Norm from Chatsworth CA on Fri Mar 23 2018

I have been driving since 1964. I have had 3 Corvettes,a Ford Gran Torino Sport and several American and European luxury sedans. I started driving Korean cars in 2009. I had the first Sonata when they came out with the new model. When the Stinger came out I knew I had to have one. It lives up to all of my expectations and then some.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

dont know yet to soon

by ralphs stinger from myrtle beach on Mon Feb 19 2018

one of hottest looking cars that i have owned very fast a real head turner.they have some great colors i will have to see how the dealer treats me after buying this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FUN FUN FUN

by Patti M from Oregon on Mon Feb 19 2018

Oh My Goodness! What a fun ride this car is! It was way to much fun for me. I could have got into big trouble with this ride! Handles so hat think it could read my mind. Effortless to drive. FUN fun fun! Loved every minute....had to give it back for something more conservative tthe grandkids would all fit it. Greg and Anthony we wonderful to me. I bought a Kia Sportage, that is a fabulous ride as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Stinger GT2: Nice car, just not my kind of car

by Diverman on Sat May 19 2018

My wife and I are no stranger to KIA and Hyundai, having been customers of both brands these past six years. We've been waiting for another sport compact coupe to come out to replace our aging KoupSX, but it seems KIA has abandoned that market to the Japanese. In the meantime, we were invited to drive the Stinger by the GM of our local KIA dealership. I had been intrigued by the glowing articles about the car. The opportunity finally came up during an oil change visit for one of our stable of KIA/Hyundai vehicles. I selected a GT2, which has an out-the-door sticker price north of $50k. This was my first chance at seeing one up close, much less driving one. Outside: The exterior design gives me pause, somewhat. Despite the artful hand of Audi's Peter Schreyer as the head of KIA's design board, the exterior of this car seems to be a stitched-together conglomeration that borrows heavily from other cars. The tail lamps look as if they were directly lifted from a current-generation Dodge Charger, and like that car, the Stinger seems like the factory got the front and back just right, but those darn sides were a problem. Its probably just the result of focusing on having a "sports sedan", but the car looks stretched and a little boring between the wheels. The Stinger is supposedly a clean sheet design, yet the overall visual signature of the Stinger seems to be that of an Optima with a body kit. The roofline and window glass looks almost identical at first glance. Closer examination of the car as a collection of parts reveals that almost nothing is identical about the two cars, which means an awful lot of work went into making something brand new look visually identical to something thats been out for years. What a shame. If you look at the original KIA Stinger GT Coupe concept, its obvious there are people there that know how to design an exciting-looking car. They must have all been on sabbatical when the Stinger sedan was sent to clay. Interior: I found the interior to be well laid out, and the material quality was above average, on par perhaps with the Volkswagen CC. I liked the heated/cooled seats. I did not like the nanny-functions. I can't stand beepers and lights warning me about cars next to me. The Stinger offers synthesized motor noise through the stereo, but I have no idea why = none of the settings had any effect on perceived sound level. The car had no tone to speak of no matter what setting I used. I'm not sure why KIA - or any manufacturer - would synthesize such sounds and play them through the stereo when they could simply use an intake sound tube between the airbox and interior, just as Hyundai does. Or just add a couple of resonators to the exhaust in the right spot, and tune the car properly. Make it, don't fake it. Performance: To produce the Stinger, KIA hired Albert Bierman away from BMW, where he previously headed BMW M, the performance division of that storied company. Apparently, not much of his expertise made it into this car. This car was quick. Very quick. I was surprised at how quick it was. It was also boring. The novelty of quick wears off... quickly... when one realizes that the car has no character. I found the sensation to be very reminiscent of driving old Cadillacs and Buicks and the like which had huge engines and old-school three speed automatic transmissions: Push the pedal to the floor, the trans downshifts, and the car scoots down the road with nary a bit of feeling. Its just a luxury barge with a tighter than usual suspension. To be fair, the car handled exceptionally well, but it did it in a numb fashion, if that makes sense. I felt disconnected from the road. The steering was tight and responsive, but offered no feedback. At no point did the steering feel like it was linked to the actual tires, but more like I was telling the car where to go, and after deciding that it seemed like a good idea it went there on its own volition. I haven't looked much into the sub-systems on this car but I'm willing to bet this is "electric" steering, not hydraulic. I didn't buy the car, though I actually went into the test drive with a desire to replace a KIA with another, new KIA, and I had a substantial downpayment in my pocket. Had I never read a single article about this car and then judged it on its own merits I may have been a little more lenient on it. But I'd heard all those shining reports of how this is the car that was going to break the German stranglehold on sports cars. If you've read any reviews of this car, you'll see many people making favorable comparisons to BMW, Audi, and the like. The word on the street seems to be "the Germans should be worried... look out! Here comes KIA!" Let me put that to rest: the Germans have nothing to worry about. Evidently Bierman thinks the Stinger should cost as much as a BMW in order to compete with one. But the value isn't there. This car doesn't have the performance of the German marques, certainly not the character, and KIA doesn't have the pedigree. If the GT2 was offered at a price point below $40k, then KIA would sell so many of these cars you'd be sick of seeing them on the road. At $50K+? No way. For that much money I could buy a three to four year old M3 or Audi S5, enjoy a much more road-connected car that does everything exceptionally well, and still have money left over for several sets of tires plus maintenance. Then of course, there were the nanny systems... I think my mind was made up when the car shut itself off at a stop light. I thought it had stalled but it was just a nanny letting me know I was about to save a tiny bit of fuel by shutting off the motor for 30 seconds, and sweating inside of a car with suddenly non-working AC. (No idea if KIA is aware that shutting a car off and restarting it within the next minute, dozens of times a day, will definitely shorten engine life as it washes the protective oil off the cylinder walls. We'll see how that works out for them.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

GARBAGE STAY AWAY

by Kiaihateyou from Annapolis Md on Fri May 18 2018

I bought this car thinking I could have a budget muscle / sports car with decent reliability. Boy was I wrong. 3000 miles in already and when I hit anything above 3000rpm the whole car is shaking and acceleration stalls out. Taken to dealer 2 times and they have been super rude claiming there are no problems. Accelerate onto the highway and it stalls out again when merging. This thing currently has the acceleration of a Prius. Taking back next week to have a look. 100k fake warranty I am never buying a Kia korea again. Should have gone with the mustang gt almost 500 hp car instead. xxxx Kia

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It was a very nice test drive but rather own

by Speed Racer from Cincinnati, OH on Tue May 29 2018

Could use some work on interior (Seats) and affordable 52k?. Found better pricing different areas of Country. Happy to see it at 42-45k. More where it should be. Car is a Sleeping Giant for a Kia.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

How are you still in business!!!!!!

by FISH BAIT from Indianola on Fri Sep 11 2020

YOU list a car for sale 31,000, I call to buy and you start telling me add this add that. I said I don't want all that. I want the car for what you listed it for. You then say the best out the door price is 36,000 and some change. Seriously how does that work. I think its hook and bait. Well guess what I'm not a fish and I didn't take your bait. TERRIBLE BUISNESS PRACTICE AT THIS DEALERSHIP!!!!!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not good

by Gatora from Port st lucie on Thu Aug 02 2018

Computer was shot after 3k miles. Vehicles is completely stock. I have also heard that the yellow stingers are having issue with their paint job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com