2014 CX-5

Consumer Reviews
2014 Mazda CX-5

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

161 Reviews
2014 Mazda CX-5
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 161 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A surprise choice

by Old Guy from Minneapolis on December 16, 2013

Confronted with several thousand dollars out-of-pocket for scheduled maintenance on my '06 PT Cruiser, I went looking for alternatives. I've driven small cars all my life (more than half a century of driving), and after comparing dozens of models of 5-door hatchbacks and small SUVs, the CX-5 was the best match for what I needed to carry, how I like to drive, and offered excellent fuel economy for an old retired guy on a fixed income. I was VERY surprised to find myself in the market for an SUV. I drove several, and even in person, the CX-5 won me over. I've had mine for a couple months now, and am so far very happy with it. Positives: Exterior styling, done so well that it conceals to some extent the fact that the CX-5 is an SUV. The car's coefficient of drag is lower than the much smaller PT Cruiser it replaces! The interior is stylish without being too extreme, and I like the all-black look. It's quite comfortable, and ? another reason I ended up with an SUV ? easier for someone with a surgically-repaired back and balky knees to get into and out of than the 5-door hatchbacks that I was also considering. The car comes with most of the features as standard equipment that I'd have ordered as options in years past, including A/C, 4-wheel disc brakes, alloy wheels, and a USB port in the console that allows me to listen to my iPod while it's hiding inside the console. The 6-speed manual transmission might be the best manual transmission I've ever driven, and I've driven a lot of them since I got my first driver's license in 1960. Throws are short, crisp, and gear engagement is positive. It's a pleasure to row through the gears in traffic. 6th is truly an overdrive, and I don't generally use it under 50 mph. I did not opt for 4-wheel drive, so winter traction is only "adequate," and I also did not opt for the larger engine, so "adequate" is a fair description of the car's power as well. It wouldn't win many drag races, but I'm able to merge with highway traffic without any problems. Negatives: Color choices are limited on the base model to silver, dark gray and black. To get actual colors, you have to move up a trim level, and in doing so, you lose the manual transmission, which is only available on the base model. I wasn't willing to give up the 6-speed, so I settled for silver instead of the sky blue I wanted. Mazda's larger engine is also not available in the base model, and I'd have liked to have had the extra horsepower, but the 6-speed came first, and I'd have had to go to an automatic transmission if I moved up to a Touring model. I wasn't willing to do that. I've had the car about 2 months now, not long enough to get a feel for reliability. So far, I like it very much. It's not only comfortable, it's nimble. While it's quite a bit larger than my previous vehicles, when I'm behind the wheel, it doesn't drive like it's larger. Steering is quick and positive, brakes are powerful, gear changes are smooth, and the driving experience is very pleasant. Sitting up a bit higher not only makes the CX-5 easier to get into and out of than a "regular" car, it's a bit of an advantage in traffic as well. Mileage so far in almost exclusively urban traffic has been 27 to 28 mpg, so I'm well satisfied with that as well. Maybe not quite as much zoom-zoom as the TV ads would have you believe, at least not with the small engine, but it's versatile, carries a lot of stuff, and it's genuinely fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Home Run...Should be a Hit!

by Known to Zoom from Santa Cruz Mountains, California on July 24, 2013

The 2014 Mazda CX-5 is the absolute perfect car ? if your criteria is: 1) Drives like a small BMW sedan, 2) Carries camping gear, bikes and kayaks down bad dirt roads to your favorite primitive campground. For a compact cross-over SUV it is high on utility and it is the first SUV where the S truly does mean sports car-like. However, it is not the perfect car if your criteria includes: 1) Tomb-quiet interior under all road conditions and speeds, 2) Zero intrusion of road-feel of any kind through the brakes, steering or suspension or 3) Extended off-road terrain crawling. Despite high ground clearance, fairly high seating position and a tall SUV body, it corners fast with no discernible body lean. At any semi-sane speed it is quiet inside, and the ride is composed over marginal surfaces. The steering is very precise - both light at parking speed and well weighted for feedback at higher speeds. The suspension allows for full power acceleration and cornering over broken and undulating surfaces with no drama. Brake modulation is linear with little pedal travel and no unexpected grab as you approach full foot pressure. The engine produces good torque from about 2200 rpm. This minimizes downshifting of the 6 speed automatic when accelerating after a traffic slow-down, or when going uphill with additional people or gear on-board. It also pulls quite strongly to over 5000 rpm ? great for 40-70 mph passing. Acceleration is responsive enough to put a smile on your face coming out of a twisty turn in 3rd gear. Rapid manual up-shifting and down-shifting is easy with the lever pulled over into the manual shift gate next to your right thigh. Even in manual mode, stomping the gas produces an instant kick-down to the lowest gears. In automatic mode the optimum gear is selected immediately, even downshifting when approaching a stop or when going down hill. The exterior styling is sleek, muscular and emotive without being overdone. The interior is elegant rather than flashy, even a bit austere ? like an Italian suit. Small buttons and virtual buttons on touch screens are minimized in favor of rotating knobs and push switches that provide tactile feedback and can be found and operated without taking your eyes off the road. An excellent balance of function vs. fashion. The wide use of soft-touch materials adds to the impression of quality. The seats are initially firm, but feel comfortable and supportive even after several hours on the road. Substantial side bolsters keep you in place during spirited cornering. Rear seating and leg/foot room is spacious for 2 adults, but ?cozy? for 3 adults. The driver?s seat adjusts for height, tilt and lumbar support. When combined with the tilt and telescoping steering, drivers of all sizes should find a perfect position. The 3 individually folding 40-20-40 seat backs will accommodate a mountain bike with the front wheel still attached, or 2 adults in the rear seats plus long items like skis or 2X4s. Mine is a Grand Touring All Wheel Drive with Tech Package. It includes a Bose stereo, sunroof, back-up camera, Xenon High Intensity headlights (that steer with the front wheels and self-level as people and gear are added), leather seats, Bluetooth, a Tom-Tom nav system plus blind spot monitoring and low speed collision avoidance. It has the highest EPA gas mileage results among the 20+ compact SUV models. And according to owner reviews it regularly returns better highway mileage than the EPA figure. My cumulative average mileage for 1050 miles of mountain roads and highways is 27 mpg. Currently Consumer Reports predicts that long term reliability will be well above average.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

An overall good choice

by badlands17 from MA on February 3, 2014

I traded in a '11 Ford Escape Limited AWD for the '14 Mazda CX-5 GT AWD fully loaded in Sep, 2013 so this is after 4 mo of use. Overall, a good vehicle. Pickup is good, comparable to the V6in the Escape. Mileage is better, though not as good as some on here indicate. In town averaging 23-24 mpg. However, in winter cold, mileage has dropped to 20-21 mpg. Use of remote start in bitter cold for 10 minutes, mileage drops to 18-19. Sound system is good, but not as good as the system in the '11 Escape. Some on here have complained about the Bluetooth connection. I have been using Pandora and the system works fine. Unlike satellite radio (ie Sirius), Pandora is coming through your cellphone first, then to the onboard system. Any problems I have had are with my Android phone connection to Pandora, not with the system built into the vehicle. The winter rubber mats which came with the car (or as an option) are definitely worth getting. Good points are: Appearance, pickup, around town mileage. Haven't had a chance for long highway trip to honestly evaluate highway mileage. The passing/change lanes warning system is a great feature except that when you put on your turn signal in an off highway situation, things like sign posts, etc. can trigger the alarm. Needing improvement: Probably nitpicking here but, interior lighting is poor. The "glow" indicator for buttons on the door panel for windows, locks, etc and on the steering column do not exist making it difficult to find buttons in the dark. The "trunk light" is on a side panel so you don't get much light in the storage area. Storage is poorly designed. Door storage bins are built to hold 1 pint water bottles at an angle, useless for anything else. Cup holders are back to back instead of side to side making it a pain keeping track of drinks with a passenger. Center console is too low to rest your right arm on. Interior carpeting is inferior to what was in the '11 Escape. Front console storage area is useless as items are easily thrown out of it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The bomb!

by Ex RAV4 from Kansas City on April 12, 2013

Have had my 2014 CX-5 GT for about three weeks. The ONLY thing I can find to complain about is that you have to lift your legs a bit higher to get in and out of the car without scuffing the edge of the car. I found the CR-V and RAV-4 to be so much bigger than my 2004 RAV-4, and I really didn't need anything that big. Plus, their styling has gone to the bow-wows. Driving this car is heaven--very responsive, quick when it needs to be, and a most comfortable ride. I honestly don't know what more you could ask of a car and not spend $50,000. Do wish they offered a few more colors...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good SUV

by Poppy from Bronx, New York on March 3, 2013

I found the Mazda CX5 to be an all around great car. The pickup with the new 2.5 engine is more than sufficient. It handles well. Rides smooth and the cabin is quiet. I am very happy with my decision to purchase a Mazda CX5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best CUV available

by car enthusiast from Vancouver, WA on November 24, 2013

This is my first car that is utility oriented. I used to autocross and track my cars. It was time for me to get something with more cargo room and passenger seats. I never liked the poor MPG of SUV/CUV's. When CX-5 came out the first thing I noticed was high MPG numbers. It was unbelievable. In fact, there were no other SUV that came close. I went and test drove the 6 speed manual first but it was not what I expected from Mazda. I have had few miata's and their manual tranny had raised my expectations too high. When I test drove an automatic tranny CX-5, it felt good for an automatic. 1st to 2nd gear and 2nd to 3rd gear shift happens very early in the low rpm ranges unless you stomp on the pedal. Ride quality is very compliant. The seats are very comfortable. knobs and levers are positioned just perfect. The four disk brake grabs like sports car brakes. I have been getting 30.4 mpg for my daily 20 mile commute which is 50/50 city/hwy. Cool feature: The 12V outlet in the front provides power only when the car is on. However, the 12V outlet under the center armrest is on all the time which is very convenient for charging my iPhone. Con: The windows don't get power as soon as the engine is turned off.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A gem in a crowded market

by Hatman from Snohomish, WA on November 21, 2013

Great style, comfort, features, and value. Had a super dealer, Mazda of Everett in Washington. Love the Bluetooth & radio features, leather and heated seats. but mostly, the comfort, style, and GREAT mileage. Nice to have the 170+ ponies with the new 2.5 liter. Looking forward to the first road trip. Added some goodies: all weather mats, cargo liner, roof cross bars, and OEM mud flaps. Handles great, quiet, and has the blind spot side mirror alert, plus a great backup camera..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Choice for Crossover

by Second Mazda from Portland, Oregon on August 12, 2013

Disclaimer: This is my second Mazda. I set out to purchase another AWD Cross-over and decided on the CX-5 GT w/tech package. After 3,000 miles the vehicle performs very well. Good visibility around 3-sides, back-up camera is the perfect touch for the rear. The engine is smooth, the transmission shifts seamlessly. The seats are very comfortable. The vehicle handles well around turns, and on the highway accelerating to speed. The blind spot monitoring works well as does the rain sensing wipers. The adaptive headlights are great around and through turns and up hills. Lastly, the remaining features all seem integrated well and our smart phone connects easily to the sound system. The navigation system provides lots of information, but the manual is lacking in some of the details. All in all, this is a well configured, and integrated vehicle. It is fun to drive and is a great replacement for my previous Mazda, with much better gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beyond Happy!

by MCX5 from Norther New Jersey on December 6, 2013

I could not be happier with the car, the ride, the utility, the mileage, the quality, etc.. My only regret (now) is getting the Touring rather than the Grand Touring . . . I'm thinking that the 19" wheels and leather interior would make it THAT much more fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A good car car ruined by road noise

by CX-5-Owner from Edmonton, Ab, CA on March 13, 2014

Unbelievable how noisy it is, on any road surface that isn't brand new. That's a pity, otherwise the car is remarkable, especially steering and acceleration for its size and weight (2014 model with 184 HP). The dashboard and controls should have been better designed, it seems that their design was left for a young team that tried to copy state-of-the-art cars and failed a little bit in everything. Anyway, a good car that proved to be very confident during this winter: not a slightest skid or sign that it would go out of control.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17
Our Expert Review: 2014 Mazda CX-5