2004 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2004 Nissan Maxima

$1,879 - $8,199  MSRP Range
2004 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

56 Reviews
77% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 56 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Family car AND fun? YES!!!

by kingobeach from Kansas City, MO on Thu Aug 12 2010

This is the 3rd Maxima I've owned and it takes the fun factor to a much higher level than my previous one. The acceleration is strong once you reach the upper rpm's (3800+ thanks to the variable valve technology) and handling is great. The ride may be firm for those accustomed to a Lincoln, Cadillac or Lexus but I like it. The interior is amazingly roomy and seats are very comfortable - even at my size (6' 2"/230 lbs). Fuel economy driving about 60% highway has consistently been around 23 mpg. I bought this used with 126k miles on it so did have a couple relatively minor issues to resolve. The only problem I have now is a known issue with the radio where the front left speaker cuts out (only) when playing a cd. Though I've only had it 4 months, it's my second favorite car ever. I would definitely recommend one to someone looking for a sports car but married to someone that wants a family-friendly vehicle. The auto transmission also has the slap-shift feature which allows you to manually select gears making this car even more fun - and safe on icy/slippery roads.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most powerful and reliable vehicle.

by Zachary from Philadelphia, PA on Fri Sep 29 2006

All power options! Maximum safety and economy! Redesigned and more upscale than ever before, the 2004 Maxima re-emerges as the car it used to be - one of the best combinations of performance, luxury and value in the midsize segment. It arrives with a roomier interior, lots of upscale options and a V-6 that purrs. It bounces back in its original role as Nissan's "premier" car, second only to the Z in name recognition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

its an ok car

by nickb from Queens, New York on Thu Jun 15 2017

buying it with a lot of miles comes with a lot of headache. the oil is the primary thing, always check that.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Prestige and Good Horse Power

by katanga from New york 11434 on Fri Dec 15 2017

This vehicle performs extremely well for being 13 years old. It starts as soon as you turn the Key. It is reliable, comfortable and drives very well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We purchased our Nissan Maxima brand new in 2004.

by Maxima fan from Staunton, Va. on Wed May 22 2019

This vehicle has been extremely RELIABLE with little money spent on repairs. It has a great body style and is sporty inside and out. With over 183,000 miles it is still running great and all systems are working properly! This car has terrific power and fast acceleration.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have ever owned

by Mr. Max from Stateline, Nevada on Thu Mar 22 2007

I really like the power, the style and the comfort of the 2004 Maxima. The turning radius is not very tight. I love the interior, especially the split bucket seats in the rear. The car came with everything anyone could ask for except Satellite Radio. On the 2004 Maxima, it has a SAT button, however one cannot purchase an in dash unit. In order to get Satellite radio, you must purchase an after market one. Other than that, the car is great. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants to have fun driving.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kept up with a V8 M6 on the parkway

by GramGreen on Fri Apr 24 2020

I have owned this car for over a year. Banger for your dollar. If you want speed, I paid $4,000 for this car plus $400 for a catback exhaust. Just raced a BMW M6 in traffic yes he was faster, but he never lost me. Over 145MPH top speed. STOCK. 265HP will have you smiling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great looking car!!!!!

by mrlewis86 from Birmingham, Al on Sat Dec 14 2019

Will get you back and forth with no problem. New paint job. Well worth it!!! Rebuilt title, very clean, Cold AC. Hot Heat. Everything working.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Something i'd love forever, if i could.

by WoofWoof12 from La Marque, Texas on Tue Sep 15 2020

Foreword: I'm young, and i don't make the money required to maintain this vehicle. It's been garage-kept, loved, and well maintained by one single person before me. This car was the baby of one individual, and as such it speaks true to how well this vehicle can hold through the years if given the love anyone can possibly can. Reality after 250,000 miles: It's reached it's prime, and far passed it. It's time. Time to turn this car off, and give it the final blessing it deserves. Not being sold, not being scrapped. As much as i want to drive it currently with a blown header, it's time. Current state (After all these many miles & love): 1. (INTERIOR) The interior is still beautiful, you could even pass it for 'fresh off the lot' factory quality. It's held on. Sturdy, and beautifully designed. 2. (EXTERIOR) The exterior has kept it's original "Radiant Amber" color well, though admittedly has faded in it's quality through the years. It's unmistakable however, that if kept in a proper climate, this car's exterior can with-stand the test of time. Though, expect the reality of the 'Metal' trims to peel, and much of any plastic to peel and fall off. 3. (Transmission, Drive-Train & Motor) The motor, though having been replaced in the past (Now covering roughly 180k+ miles, transmission remaining stock to the car since the beginning) still has the pep you'd expect from the 3.5L V6. Though i don't know the condition of the motor that was used to replace the wrecked one, it was a Nissan Motor none-the-less... When you press that pedal, you can expect an admittedly long lag, before you get kicked ever-so-slightly throw back in your seat taking you onward into watching your speed-o-meter running through it's numbers pretty confidentially. Even at a surprising rate. 4. (Accommodations/Quality/Luxury) So, i'm an electrician. And though this vehicle has never been considered to be used as a service vehicle. I managed to fit an entire 300ft of 3/4 EMT into this car. Having dropped the backseat to reveal the entrance to the trunk. I was able to fit all 3 bundles of pipe into the car, with room to spare. Obviously in a pinch, with an embarrassing moment having arrived to a job site. But PRIDE, seeing as how the car was able to do so. Final notes, though i have more information; I love this car. It's been given to me in it's late life, and i love it to death. I only wish i had the income to restore it to factory quality at this point, but i frankly cannot. I have to move onto another vehicle. THAT BEING SAID, if i had the ability, this car is absolutely worth restoring and making a "Forever Car"... BUT ONLY FOR: 1. Someone who only wants a decent little pep when they press that "Trigger" (Peddle) 2. Someone who doesn't mind the lack of the "New Age" touch-screen(s), adaptive cruise, back-up camera, Etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Nissan Maxima SE

by Long-time Nissan owner from Mississippi on Sat Sep 20 2014

First, we have owned 4 Nissan cars, 3 Nissan trucks, and the trucks were purchased from the family business when "retired." The current 2004 Nissan Maxima we purchased in 2004 with 3 miles on it, still in "plastic." It now has over 250,000 and the major issue was having to replace the control console on the Dual-Control A/C and a sensor/resistor. Cost about $550. Other than this, it has been routine service every 3000 miles. We use quality oil, oil filter each time, have replaced tires @ about 60,000 miles as needed , and a VERY expensive headlight. Fog lights have occasionally stopped working, then start again. Headliner along rear window top area has started to "unglue" but is still repairable with minimum effort & time if I'd just remember to do it when @ home. All of our Nissans have been wonderful vehicles. When the time comes, if we can afford a new Maxima, we will stick with what works. Good mileage and comfortable when traveling. The Bose radio system really can crank out the music, and the XM is used more than any other radio feature. We love our Nissans!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2004 Nissan Maxima

Don’t consider this a quiz as much as a good ol’ fashioned jog of the brain: Quickly now, what ever happened to the Nissan Maxima?

You remember the Maxima, right? It was the sedan signified by . . . (We’ll wait for the response.)

OK. Wasn’t it the one that had the unique . . . (Still waiting.)

To be fair, you couldn’t be blamed if you forgot about the Nissan Maxima, especially with the recent explosion of the Altima, its smaller cousin. Maxi-who? Maxi-what?

Maxi-exactly.

In the swirl of press surrounding the redesign of the Altima, it is understandable if you can’t put your finger on the Maxima’s whereabouts. The Altima did, after all, take home... Read More