2006 Xterra

Consumer Reviews
2006 Nissan Xterra

Change Vehicle
4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

32 Reviews
2006 Nissan Xterra
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Rugged, Reliable, Powerful (and nice to look at)

by Off-Road at the GC from Grand Canyon, AZ on August 25, 2006

Why would anyone buy a powerful (4.0L 265hp), inexpensive ($20,000 after rebates), off-road warrior and then complain about a slightly noisy muffler, gas mileage and seats not being cushy enough? If you want a plush, fluffy street utility vehicle... buy a $35,000+ something else! This is the Swiss army knife of production SUV's. I live at the Grand Canyon and these are the choice of local explorers. Carry everything, go anywhere, hose it out when you're done. With the new vehicle dynamics control (VDC), the transition from highway to dirt goes almost without notice. The Xterra is not built to be an interstate cruiser but I travel long distances often and have no complaints. Go test drive one in the hills and on the highway. Then come back here and write a review.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent value

by SUV fan from Westwood, NJ on October 10, 2011

I recently purchased a 2006 Nissan XTerra SE for my soon to be 17 year old son. Plenty of power, but fuel economy so far only about 15 mpg around town. 4WD system for wet/snow or off road only, so have not used much yet. Somewhat noisy, but optional Rockford Fosgate sound system overpowers road noise. Excellent cargo capacity. Rear seats fold flat and passenger front seat as well. Very rugged styling, with sturdiest roof rack I have ever seen. 5 speed automatic always able to find proper gear with very little sensation of shifting. Deep tinted windows excellent for keeping interior cool, and concealing cargo. Excellent anti lock braking system stopping vehicle consistently with little if any fade.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love my Xterra

by kid from Tulsa on December 13, 2011

I have an Xterra and i absolutely love it. its got the torque in the beginning where it really counts. In my opinion its the best car I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So much fun to drive. Best 4WD SUV I've driven.

by Owner from South Shore, MA on August 10, 2017

"Ain't no mountain high, ain't valley low, and no river wide enough baby!" Not to mention ain't no blizzard this SUV can't handle either. Never got stuck riding on the beach. This vehicle has some bumps and bruises with a bit of rusting along the edges, which simply adds to the character of who this car is and what it's been through. The mechanical aspects of the vehicle have been kept up to date and are in very good condition. Hoping to find a buyer who will appreciate the Xterra as I do.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by bric from st louis on July 19, 2006

lots of fun to drive, turns heads, everything is close by, you dont have to stretch for any controls, it has more than enough power but handles very well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Workhorse

by Misterleon from Long Island, NY on April 11, 2017

I've never owned such a reliable vehicle. 110,000 miles without a single problem. Engine and transmission are very strong. I have no doubt it will last another 150,000 miles at least.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WORTH EVERY PENNY!

by T.Absher from Evansville, IN on October 4, 2013

I love the Nissan Xterra. I previously owned a Jeep Liberty and constantly had issues with it. So, I traded it in for a Xterra. I love my new car! It is spacious, and feels like a tank. I feel as though it is safe and practical for my family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's an SUV, not a smart car - and a good one

by Drewster from Chicage on February 20, 2007

I'd recommend it! Don't buy this TRUCK if you want a Crossover SUV or a pickup truck. If you want a rugged small-size SUV this is a great option. I almost bought a Dodge Nitro, but opted for this one instead - GREAT DECISION! Buy the "X" model with the power package option ($1100) and put your own accessories on (hitch, wheels, step rails, etc.), you'll save a ton of money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Xterra

by SUV enthusiatst from boston,MA on April 16, 2012

I love it. The extras that came with it such as the cd changer and tow package. The Nissan dealership was friendly and helpful and very polite.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No frills 4X4

by James P. from Georgetown, Texas on February 19, 2018

This is a no frills 4X4 off road vehicle. If your looking for a crossover, this vehicle is not for you. Ample power for off roading and towing. Reliability has been outstanding.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2006 Nissan Xterra