2003 Baja

Consumer Reviews

2003 Subaru Baja

$3,162 - $12,854  MSRP Range
2003 Subaru Baja

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Subaru Baja?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Baja

by outdoors101 from on Sun Nov 09 2008

I am a proud owner of a 2003 Baja. It has been an amazing car. I have been the only owner and made minimal repairs. I have carried a canoe and gazebo weighing 900 lbs in this vehicle. I would definatly recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm in Love

by Brody Baja from Canandaigua, N.Y. on Wed Nov 19 2008

I just purchased my Baja from a friend . She purchased another used Baja.It has 100,000 miles. It handles great and I just drove it in our first winter storm. I live in Upstate N.Y. It did great. I truly enjoy driving it.I hope with loving care, I can drive it another 200,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this Truck, but Subaru missed out.

by dave from 22624 on Tue Oct 30 2007

They should bring it back. They just need to ad some extras. Also market it better. If they had the limited version like the outback, then they would have sold a lot more. Also an optional cap.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Subaru Baja Sport (Turbo)

by DJ from Fort Myers, FL on Wed May 28 2014

I have had a man crush on this vehicle for 5 years now. The problem was the cost. Used Bajas are still going for over 8k with 200k miles on them, but that just shows how great these vehicles are. I found one in Virginia with 200k miles for a little over 4 grand so I decided I would buy it. Rebuilt the entire engine, transmission, and even turbo'd this truck for under 6k. Vehicle had no issues when I bought it and the only issue it has now is that it causes me speeding tickets from a naturally lead foot problem, but overall this truck is phenomenal. Rides smooth. Even when I bought it used the only problem the truck had was the rust on the stock rotors, and the cruise control had disconnected. Overall if you are looking for a pickup truck with great gas milage, room for 4, and great performance than you have found it here. This truck lasts forever and repairs are cheap and quick.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just a FUN truck?

by Baja Buddy from Northern MI on Sat Mar 23 2013

Bought my Baja with 80,000 miles. Went through and changed all of the fluids just to be safe. I'm amazed at where this thing will go. I have an Outback also and it's nice when you have something a bit too big (or dirty) to put in the Outback. The "switchback" door allows me to haul 8 ft. lumber. I've got the Ozz Bros toneau cover and want a bed extender. I like the looks and versitility the Baja offers. Wish they would start making them again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

never a problem--aside from regular maintenance!!

by Kider from N Lakewood, WA on Tue Nov 29 2016

This is the 7th Subie, and this one is the best!! the "6" is smooth and handles mountains with aplomb!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

cool car

by Matt from Bath Maine on Fri Jan 17 2014

roomy interior is essential. drives smooth. good handling. fun to drive. could use some more storage for my knickknacks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun little car, big gas appetite!

by Baja Boi from Syracuse, N.Y. on Wed Nov 06 2013

Great fun car/truck to drive, but the gas sure goes quick! Didn't give full thought to the "all wheel drive". But sure am looking forward to the winter roads!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Baja fan from Millerton on Tue May 15 2018

Good Car,It's a Subaru.Car. Truck.Want another Baja for a second vehicle.With or without turbo.V6 would be nice if they made them.Family all have had Subies.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect "occasional" vehicle

by Baja in Florida from Jacksonville, FL on Tue Nov 22 2011

The Baja is a good option for those that occasionally need a truck (my wife and I load up our bikes in the back on the weekend, and every now and then to haul the extra big box that wouldn't fit in her trunk)... its great when you occasionally need a 4WD (I'm in Florida and its good at the beach or in bad weather)... and its nice to have 4 doors for that occasional 3rd or 4th person; and I fold down the back seats and convert to a cargo area to haul my golf clubs to the course... The styling of the vehicle is unique - not for everyone but I've always liked it... It's extremely reliable and mine still looks as good today as when it came off the showroom.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2003 Subaru Baja

Subaru Baja fills yet another niche that no one knew existed: a compact four-door pickup that drives like a car.

Here's the modern equivalent of the iconoclastic Subaru Brat from 1977, back in the days when the Japanese automaker was struggling for identity. The Brat was quirky and unique and cute as a koala.

Today, Subaru has made major inroads with its all-wheel-drive line of small and midsize sedans, wagons and the truck-like Forester. They all drive well with a reputation for bulletproof reliability.

And the Baja is, well, a lot more practical than the Brat. It has four doors and a usable front and back seat, plus a pickup bed that extends to a bit more than 5 feet with a "Switchback" passage... Read More