2000 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota 4Runner

$212 - $14,532  MSRP Range
2000 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

49 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 49 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love my 4Runner

by Doodle Dude55 from Minneapolis MN on Tue Jan 09 2018

This car has met all of my driving needs for 18 years. Bought it new. Has averaged 19.9 mpg. City &hwy combined. Reliable workhorse. It’s cost about $1200 a year in preventive maintenance to keep it in top condition, not including tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever Owned

by EmilyLMoss from Charlotte, NC on Thu Jun 29 2017

This car was a part of my family for 17 years. It was serviced regularly and well taken care of, it had 450,000 miles on it and was still running beautifully with no issues at all. It's build saved my life, I hit a patch of ice on the road and lost control of the car, I rolled 4 times off a hill and hit a tree, because of how safe this car is I walked out of that accident with only bruises, nothing broken, not even bleeding. If I had not crashed I would still have that car today.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by Dthomas11b from Canyon, tx on Wed Jul 26 2017

This vehicle had the 3.4l v6 which is a bulletproof motor easy to work on it just keeps going I know a few of these motors going over 500,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV. Driven for 18 yrs. No problems.

by Goddy on Thu Jul 19 2018

Excellent SUV like all Toyota’s. We have driven Toyota’s since 1980. Will never own anything else. No comparison to Hyundai. Reliable transportation and drives great.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by ak_roadster from Huntington Beach on Sun Sep 10 2017

This car is great for transporting friends, family, and all their belongings. The spacious trunk area is great for large items, like camping gear, luggage, or daily things like groceries or beach towels. This car rides just like a truck, so you do hear the road when driving. However, the leather interior and wood finishing makes the car interior luxurious. I will miss the space I had in this car when I sell it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever had!

by Tyler on Mon Mar 19 2018

Was still running great when sold it at 240,000 miles. No major issues. Original plugs lasted 200,000 miles. Great for everyday and great for off-road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I've ever owned. Very reliabl

by CynthiaT54 from Madisonville on Sun Jun 11 2017

This car meat all my needs. You can convert it to the size of a truck to haul more. It has a great towing package. All leather interior. Very nice ride. Very dependable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Ever - good for EVERYTHING

by P.G. from Atlanta/Georgia on Wed May 03 2017

Best ever had! In every 3gen 4runner forum WORLDWIDE youll read from owners and ex Jeep guys that truck run 400k+miles with regular maintenance and beats all 4x4 SUVs from his year! Lot of fun at rwd and 4x4. Perfect for EVERYTHING-comfort,trips,family,offroad,gas,work,low maintenance and reliability!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable vehicle we have ever owned

by Sandeedra from Statesboro, Ga on Mon Mar 05 2018

This 4Runner has been the most reliable vehicle we have ever owned. We have never had any issues with the mechanics at all and only very minimal wear on the drivers seat as far as the integrity of the interior. I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ridiculously reliable

by ERock from Raleigh, NC on Thu Sep 07 2017

230K miles and the only major repair we've ever had to perform was to replace the water pump (around 150K miles) and some of the gaskets have started to allow oil to leak. This car has paid for itself a couple times now.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com