2001 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2001 Toyota 4Runner

$2,678 - $10,602  MSRP Range
2001 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable workhorse

by ATC Yakker from Houston, Texas on Mon Jan 08 2018

Great vehicle. Selling it with 248k miles. Was reliable daily and pulled a light trailer kayak fishing for 2 years. Original transmission and engine, never had issues until the very end. Wouldn't go past 3k RPMs. Changed cat converters and still didn't feel the same. May be transmission but nothing slips until after 3k RPM.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle ever

by HRB from Celina, TX on Mon Mar 05 2018

Perfect car for me, reliable and powerful enough for a daily driver and to meet my towing needs. Great overall vehicle. Would recommend a 3rd generation 4Runner to anyone, very versitle vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It’s a 4Runner best all purpose suv

by Andy00027 from Tucson on Sun Oct 07 2018

I love my 4Runner, it’s older now so it’s not as comfortable as it used to be and it doesn’t have all the fancy Bluetooth etc. but it’s a Toyota so it’s reliable, safe and can go anywhere.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best ever

by Runner from minnasnowta on Sun Oct 22 2017

I can not speak more highly of the 3rd generation Toyota 4Runner. Total cost of repairs for 350000 miles have been $1,400. The most reliable vehicle I have ever owned...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 & 2002 4Runners - best ever manufactured

by 3rd Generation Fan from Greer, SC on Tue Oct 23 2018

Purchased a 2001 new and drove it for years before trading it on a 2004 with the V8. Loved the V8 but preferred everything else about the 2001. Recently purchased a 2002 SR5 for my son as a first car with 134K miles on it. Only required routine maintenance and reinvigorated my fondness of this generation of the 4Runner. My wife has a 2016 and I have a 2017 but I honestly prefer driving my sons 2002 the most. Toyota should go back and release the 2002 styling again with modern electronics and possibly slightly upsized to match current and it would sell like hotcakes. These 3rd generations go for 250K+ miles with ease so they are uber reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Does very well what it is designed to do

by Superdad from NW British Columbia on Sat Oct 06 2007

We bought this vehicle used - 35,000 km. The odometer now reads 125,000. I have never had a problem with the vehicle and, besides normal maintenance, has not seen a mechanics wrench. Handles inclement weather very well with the stability contol and all wheel drive features. Excellent off-roader, stable towing platform. A secure, safe, fun to drive vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great All-Purpose Vehicle

by Broker from North Carolina on Wed Jul 30 2008

Toyota trucks are notoriously tough. Just watch TopGear and see how they tried to kill a Toyo pickup (and failed, even though the body was shot). I bought mine knowing I could count on seeing the odo cross 200k without much fuss. I also need a durable off-roader for my activities on NC's barrier islands. Deep sand driving is not for your mom's crossover! This rig has never failed on-road or off. Best features have been high-quality accessories including multi-mode 4wd, leather, stereo, climate, and sunroof. Even gas mileage is tolerable (22hwy/17city). Handling is par for an off-roader, poor for those who like soft car rides.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic SUV...but has frame rust issues

by Gerasimos from Burlington, VT on Mon Apr 24 2017

The 2001 Toyota 4Runner is a great all-around SUV both on and off-road. The only real issue is the frame. This vintage of Toyota 4Runner suffers from an easily rotting/rusting frame. The same issue exists on the same vintage Toyota Tacoma; which Toyota issued recalls for, but did not for the 4Runners. So, if you're interested in a 4Runner, they're great, but definitely have the frame inspected first.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car,

by A-Cardenas from IRVING Texas on Tue Feb 28 2017

This is a car that you can trust, for everything, It has a great torc, stable, great for towing, great on gas milleage, we are so great full that we purchase this vehiculo from a friend FOR us TOYOTA IS A RELIABLE TRUSTY BRAND THAT ANYONE CAN OWN!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I ever Owed

by Happy owner from Reno Nevada on Sun Apr 12 2020

Hello I bought this car new, it has olmos 200 thousand miles, and is the best SUV I ever Owed it drives like tanks, and the only major expense was , the timing belt any thing else just regular maintenance

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2001 Toyota 4Runner

“Sometimes you feel like a truck, sometimes you don’t.”

That’s how Toyota division general manager Don Esmond explains why the Highlander sport-utility vehicle joins the 4Runner in the lineup for 2001.

4Runner is built off a pickup platform and as such acts more truck-like with firm ride and handling. Highlander is built off the Camry platform and behaves more like a sedan in terms of road manners.

“For those with a bias toward rugged use, we have 4Runner; for those demanding the image and versatility of an SUV but who prioritize the ride, handling and comfort of a sedan, we have Highlander,” Esmond said.

With Highlander, the Toyota lineup... Read More