2004 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota 4Runner

$2,668 - $15,196  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

66 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 66 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable and what we need

by JeanWV from West Virginia on Sun Jun 10 2018

The 4Runner is one of safest cars you can own, responsible for among the very least traffic deaths. It's well designed, and comfortable for being more of a truck than a car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable. Best SUV I've owned.

by 4Runner45321 from New York, NY on Wed Feb 07 2018

I'd highly recommend the 4Runner. The 2004 has since been improved with updated technology etc., but having been in one collision in this car I can tell you it's one of the safest vehicles on the road.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ,best value

by GORGEOUS from FL on Thu Dec 07 2017

i drove this SUV to long drive many time, IT drive great and its very reliable. It has the best transmission as Toyota made very good Transmission. I will say it is maintance free SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Vehicle.

by Tee from Ft Wright , KY on Fri Aug 25 2017

The 2004 4Runner that I own and purchased new is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. This vehicle to date has never had a major mechanical problem. There is not even a squeak or rattle etc . The vehicle still drives as solid as it was new. I can't praise the Toyota 4Runner enough. It is an outstanding vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best, most reliable car I have ever owned.

by Irishsportsfan from Charlotte, NC on Mon May 28 2018

Bought it used in 2006 and drove it until 2018, with only normal maintenance along the way. While I don’t think Toyota makes them that way any more, it was by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. I miss it already.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value and Reliability

by L.Ray from Hickory,NC on Fri Apr 07 2017

Purchased new in 2004. Great in all types of weather and conditions. Have 190,000 miles and hope for 190,000 more!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Test Drive

by VinceC from plymouth on Mon May 14 2018

I like the leather seats and the design of the vehicle. Very little rust for a 2004 even with the high miles. I like this vehicle barbecue of the timing chain vs belt

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car for the price.

by Tony V UK fan from Burlington, ky on Sun Jan 14 2018

this car has a lot of leg room which is great as my husband is tall. Lots of room for luggage and of course the dog!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Have owned it for 13 years and love it!

by JSinCincy from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Jan 08 2018

I am amaze with how little this car has required as far a maintenance. Besides oil, breaks, and tires, this car has not needed anything. I am going to be very sad the day I let it go...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tight suspension low miles well maintained

by Swayman from Loveland co on Sun Jun 25 2017

True 4 wheel drive, perfect Colorado SUv rated number 1 by consumer products. Snow, ice orcrectration, this truck made for Colorado.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7