2004 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota 4Runner

$2,668 - $15,196  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

66 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 66 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Vehicle.

by Tee from Ft Wright , KY on Fri Aug 25 2017

The 2004 4Runner that I own and purchased new is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. This vehicle to date has never had a major mechanical problem. There is not even a squeak or rattle etc . The vehicle still drives as solid as it was new. I can't praise the Toyota 4Runner enough. It is an outstanding vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Have owned it for 13 years and love it!

by JSinCincy from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Jan 08 2018

I am amaze with how little this car has required as far a maintenance. Besides oil, breaks, and tires, this car has not needed anything. I am going to be very sad the day I let it go...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value and Reliability

by L.Ray from Hickory,NC on Fri Apr 07 2017

Purchased new in 2004. Great in all types of weather and conditions. Have 190,000 miles and hope for 190,000 more!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tight suspension low miles well maintained

by Swayman from Loveland co on Sun Jun 25 2017

True 4 wheel drive, perfect Colorado SUv rated number 1 by consumer products. Snow, ice orcrectration, this truck made for Colorado.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I bought the car from scum bag salesmen

by Mike from Euless tx on Thu Jul 27 2017

It's not been too swell because they sold me a beat up car that's costing alot in repairs. If everything worked fine I'd give it an 8/10. But so far 4/10.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing vehicle

by Courtnet from Export PA on Mon Mar 05 2018

This 4runner is an amazing vehicle. They are built well, and hold up. High safety rating and overall a great vehicle, and will hold up to whatever you throw at it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable old friend

by Tezinelko from Elko, NV on Wed May 02 2018

This car has been more than reliable over the years from thousand mile trips to visit family or distant parts of the country, to mountain climbing and boony-busting off-road in search of big game. I have never been stranded by broken parts nor left behind in the field or on the highway. This baby is a peach!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In DEMAND type of vehicle.

by Keith64steeler from Fresno, Ca. on Mon Aug 21 2017

We bought this 4+ years ago and have never been sorry. It has cost very little to maintain and his been totally reliable. Ours is the V6 2WD SR5 version. This SUV is such heavy demand, especially used (price is probably $50+K new). The 4Runners really hold their value---people pay a lot for ones with over 200K miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Test Drive

by VinceC from plymouth on Mon May 14 2018

I like the leather seats and the design of the vehicle. Very little rust for a 2004 even with the high miles. I like this vehicle barbecue of the timing chain vs belt

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great dependable and stylish 4 wheel drive.

by Jhook78 from Asheville, NC on Fri May 25 2018

This SUV is the most reliable I've ever owned. I had a 99 model with 267,000 miles (sold it at that mileage) at one point and the 04 seems to be right behind it in terms of longevity. I would definitely recommend the 4Runner to anyone without question.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7