2005 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2005 Toyota 4Runner

$3,136 - $15,836  MSRP Range
2005 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

65 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 65 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

SIMPLY SUBLIME

by KAIZEN from LAWTON, OK on Tue Oct 03 2006

SUBLIME DRIVING EXPERIENCE. BANKVAULT LIKE, SOLID CONSTRUCTION. SUPERBLY CAPABLE, ON AND OFF ROAD. OOZES QUALITY. IT IS A TOYOTA, AND THAT SAYS IT ALL. SIMPLY SUPERLATIVE IN EVERY ASPECT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In a league of its own

by Stoney from Memphis, TN on Mon Sep 18 2006

The Toyota 4Runner, with its sleek styling and strong curb appeal is a wonderful investment for the money. The strong 4.0L V6 has plenty of power and great acceleration. The unique controls on the interior continue the overall modern look and increase functionality over traditional panels. The seats could use some work as far as comfort goes, but the ride is incredible (for an SUV) with acceptable off-road handling, even on the 2wd I own. The automatic limited slip works well if need be. Great vehicle. Roomy. Classy. Strong. Versatile.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Toyota guy from Denver, CO on Tue Dec 13 2011

I'm a bit loyal to the 4runner as it is since we have a 1999 model in the family still that has served us very well. While a bit pricey they most definitely hold that value well. It is comfortable but is obviously more like a truck than a luxury SUV or crossover when it comes to noise, handling, and getting into the vehicle. Great overall car but the newer ones can be a bit more pricey to maintain as well. For example, 2 new programmed keys and FOBs ended up costing over $500 through the dealer since the lot that I purchased the vehicle from didn't have them. A great overall vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good 4runner

by Frank on Sat Apr 14 2018

overall its a good car just be ready for possible Head Gasket Failure at about 150k miles the 03 -05 are known for Head Gasket Failure .Gasket blew at 195k but the heads weren't warped thankfully.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Stay away from used 4.0L V6

by Not your fathers 4runner from Hartford, CT on Tue Feb 16 2016

There is a flaw in this engine and they all blow head gaskets between 100 - 140K miles. The repair is costly. I definitely wish I purchased the V8.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Heater went out the first week/gaskets blew

by MagicToyotaLies from Wa on Mon Feb 24 2020

Shoddy work done by the mechanics. Bought a used 4runner from them after they boasted about how every service was done by them. Car fax say that vehicle was checked for a check engine light that came on 5/11/19 with the previous owner. That owner then traded it in for something newer, and we bought the car... 30 days in, and the head gaskets blew, and they’re telling me that there’s nothing they can do. Maybe stand by your guaranteed services, like you said you did, when you sold us the vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I sold toyota for 10 years. I bleed toyota red blo

by Louie from Tampa Florida on Sun Sep 30 2018

Best S.U.V on the market. I had a 1999 3.4l 4wd limited with 17" BBS Wheels and a sport Hood Scoop. White pearl one nice looking bad xxx 4runner. 21000 Miles no issues. I sold it in 2008 . Now I am loking to purchase a 2005 sport 4wd v8 4runner with 185k to 200k miles .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

User Unfriendly

by Mr Venison from Bel Air Maryland on Mon Jan 08 2007

We bought the 4 Runner for 1 reason, the Grand Cherokee didn't have enough headroom for me. Oh well, I lose. The 4 Runner is my wife's and to my surprise after purchase I found that the passenger's seat is non adjustable vertically and I don't fit unless the seat is angled back. I'm not that big, only 6'1" but the seat is fixed alot higher than the low position on the driver's side. I guess that the primary driver of a vehicle can get used to about anything but since I only drive it ocassionally it's a mystery to find many controls. I had to stop, get out of the vehicle and lean in to find the cruise control. I had to as my wife where the emergency flasher were (to check the trailer lighting). It's common to drive off a lighted parking lot without headlights since the dash is illuminated when the headlights aren't on. The dimmer is on the dash and the headlight switch is on the steering column. The heat and airconditioning controls are mounted so low that it's a safety concern losing sight of the road when adjusting. There is a switch for the rear window on the dash but trying to find one in the rear took days, it's built into the lock mechanism. There is no lockset on the passenger's side so since I only have a spare key w/o a fob, it was a real mystery trying to get into the passenger's side in the dark. Gas mileage is average, but factoring in the cost of premium fuel the economy is poor. Really bad when towing. My trailer is only 4000 lbs, but on mostly level road I couldn't get up to 9 mpg. From what I've heard this vehicle should last, but my wife will be putting all the miles on it. The 4 Runner is definitely not user friendly to the ocassional driver.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car that I have owned

by Michael Lee from New London WI on Thu Sep 07 2017

This car is much more reliable than any other one I have had. I have never had a car through cars.com and I would definitely do it again and recommend it to a friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV made

by Frank from Dallas TX on Tue Aug 08 2017

These things are bulletproof meaning the engine / transmission will last forever. I hope 4Runners stay around forever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7