2008 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota 4Runner

$5,903 - $18,999  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

59 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Bobby J from San Diego. CA on Fri Sep 05 2008

I have the UrbanRunner 4x4 Sport Edition and it is by far the best SUV on the market hands down! It look similar to the standard Sports Edition model, but it has some great things that make it stand out. The running boards and roofrack are a smoke black and the interior is totally unique. It has both leather and micro-suede seats which are very comfortable and a one-of-a-kind Nav system using a removable Tom-Tom Nav screen. I high recommend this vehicle to anymore that wants a mid-side SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Had

by Randogg from Houston, TX on Tue May 09 2017

Have the rare V8 Sport Edition with the even more rare Shadow Mica color and it's a great SUV. We tow our boat around with it and you can't even tell the boat is there, just pulls it along with no problems. Suspension is awesome, soft enough for comfort but reactive enough so it doesn't feel like it's rolling. Has to do with the X-REAS system for sure. I'd buy another without even thinking about it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable car

by ed from new york.ny on Fri Dec 14 2007

needs to meet modern technology and efficiency otherwise there are no cars like this for the money you pay for it. Yuo may pay a little more for gas. but it is safe from all prospectives. I would like to see the third row added to this model

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV should continue to make this style

by Mallym95 from Des Moines, IA on Sun Apr 29 2018

Only complaint is gas milage. Handles well, easy to work on, dog loves the back window rolling down. Great vehicle over all. Fun to drive and has great power, most likely why bad gas milage 17-22 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV owned, had a jeep for 5 yrs poor quality

by K from VA on Tue Dec 11 2007

I love this SUV, gas milage is not that bad 17 city, 25 interstate. Very reliable, unlike my jeep before

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 runner the BEST!!

by actionboo from Lafayette on Tue Mar 06 2018

The absolute most reliable car I have ever owned. The 4runner, in my opinion is the best SUV on the market. My favorite part is the back roll down window. Can't much cooler than that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love the style and the comfort

by JLM from Denver, CO on Thu Aug 17 2017

Great vehicle for a daily commute, but also can use in 4 wheel drive which is great for Colorado Mountain trips and the winter snows.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

just the best

by 4runner from boston ma on Thu Mar 02 2017

On my 2nd 4 runner will buy nothing else, dependable, comfortable and so much better than the Jeep brand

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top of the line SUV in every way,

by patmeyers52 from Columbia, MO on Wed Aug 02 2017

This is defiantly a top of the line SUV in every way. Thus SUV has incredibly versatility, exceptional reliability and a great ride whatever the terrain. This car has never failed me and has been a great family. I have never taken it off road or towed with it but it comes with all those necessary extras.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever owned

by Csmirh on Mon May 28 2018

By far most reliable for money. I would not buy anything else. Never had a problem under the hood. Tires and oil changes are all I did for 10 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2008 Toyota 4Runner


4Runner is a Tough-Looking SUV That Can Handle the Kids, Too

Overview

The 2008 Toyota 4Runner is a seriously cool truck. It’s a testosterone-loaded, V-8, 4×4 super truck that just happens to work pretty darn well as a kid-hauler. Just because something can tow 7,300 pounds doesn’t mean it can handle my boys, but this SUV wrangles both with authority. And as an added bonus, it makes Mom look tough.

Living with the 4Runner is kind of a power trip. Stepping on the gas produces a muted growl and powerful launch; it’s not super quiet, but it’s not obnoxiously loud either. The V-8 engine handles hills without a hitch and hauls more than I would ever care to load into an SUV... Read More