2008 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota 4Runner

$5,702 - $19,502  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

59 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My fourth 4 runner! All I will ever buy!

by Glitter from Saint George,Maine on Sat May 26 2018

These vehicles are wonderful and,since I have a very steep dirt driveway,I really need reliable,easy to use,true 4 wheel drive! Only vehicle that can tackle my driveway in the winter...I live in Maine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car. Terrible on gas

by Gas guzzler from Boston ma on Thu Mar 13 2014

I have the 08 sport 4runner and I love it, except for one thing. The gas mileage. About 12mpg in the city. 17 highway. Other than that it's great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very reliable model to choose

by 4-Runner Enthusiast from Falmouth, MA on Thu Mar 24 2011

I decided to buy the car I took out on the lease instead of buying a new car. The buy-out price is far lower than the cars worth - the best of any used car I could ever find on the market. So, the question is: Why not buy the car you're driving already and not go through the time and trouble of searching for another car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I've owned 3 Toyota's before this one.

by 4Runnergramps from Arvada, CO on Mon Feb 02 2009

This is my next to last vehicle purchase, and it will be another 4Runner. Excellent SUV. Toyota #1

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV

by Nob from Ghana on Sun Feb 07 2010

I have never seen anything like this. Very powerful and reliable. The interior is not as flashy as I want but good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest vehicle I’ve owned

by Jeff H from Packwood wa on Tue Apr 10 2018

I love my new car and am looking forward of many years of ownership I am very happy that I contacted this dealership and purchased my vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not Good

by Dr. S from Baltimore, MD on Tue Jul 25 2017

I have owned this car for the past five years. Average cost of fixing this car is around 500 dollars a year and that's not including regular maintenance. Bottom "splash plate" under the car starts rattling (sounding like a Ford Truck) because it has rusted around the screws. Its a 40 thousand dollar car so expectation is that its well built. But Toyota CUTS corners, and I have learned my lesson.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4 runner

by 4runner from Reno, Nevada on Mon Apr 02 2012

It's a great family car but bad on gas. Its a good car for the rain or snow. It has a lot more room then your average car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Buyer Beware

by Hoodwinked from Virginia on Sat Sep 19 2015

I live 3 1/2 hours away and drove to see a Toyota that I was told on several occasions from not one, but two people that work at a Toyota dealership that the SUV was in EXCELLENT CONDITION. Well, I will tell buyers, DONOT go by by their word nor by any pics shown on their site. I arrived after a long drive to see the SUV with great expectations only to be GREATLY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. PLEASE ASK TO THE SALEMAN TO TAKE CLOSE UP PICS OF ALL DAMAGE BIG OR SMALL SO YOU DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME !! I drove another 6 hours away doen south and found a SUV on the same day. I ended up driving 750 miles and spent $ 100.00 in gas, but I was happy with my southern car not a northern car!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by ValA from Washington on Fri Dec 01 2017

This vehicle is the perfect size. It is comfortable, spacious and very maneuverable. It handles well in all weather conditions. I like that the seats fold down too provide a large area for transporting loads. It’s versatility allows for comfort when transporting kids, traveling for outdoor activities, or just day to day traveling. It is reliable in all road conditions; even slick, muddy off-road areas with the help of the 4 wheel drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2008 Toyota 4Runner


4Runner is a Tough-Looking SUV That Can Handle the Kids, Too

Overview

The 2008 Toyota 4Runner is a seriously cool truck. It’s a testosterone-loaded, V-8, 4×4 super truck that just happens to work pretty darn well as a kid-hauler. Just because something can tow 7,300 pounds doesn’t mean it can handle my boys, but this SUV wrangles both with authority. And as an added bonus, it makes Mom look tough.

Living with the 4Runner is kind of a power trip. Stepping on the gas produces a muted growl and powerful launch; it’s not super quiet, but it’s not obnoxiously loud either. The V-8 engine handles hills without a hitch and hauls more than I would ever care to load into an SUV... Read More