2008 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota 4Runner

$5,903 - $18,999  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

59 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 59 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Twelve years. Zero problems. 120,000 miles.

by Jeff B. from Fredericksburg VA on Fri Jul 17 2020

Most reliable vehicle that I have ever owned along w/my 1977 Toyota Celica GT. Currently have over 100,000 trouble-free miles on 2008 4Runner and still going strong. Only negatives are cornering. Rides like a truck. And fuel consumption. I have the Limited w/8 cyl. engine.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like it but would like a title

by Keith from Oxford MS on Sat Mar 18 2017

I like the car but dealership Car Smart of Memphis has not provided the title and its been over 60 days.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by ValA from Washington on Fri Dec 01 2017

This vehicle is the perfect size. It is comfortable, spacious and very maneuverable. It handles well in all weather conditions. I like that the seats fold down too provide a large area for transporting loads. It’s versatility allows for comfort when transporting kids, traveling for outdoor activities, or just day to day traveling. It is reliable in all road conditions; even slick, muddy off-road areas with the help of the 4 wheel drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the 4Runner

by Keri from Salem AL on Fri Oct 02 2020

This is my second 4Runner and I purchased it new. It is a 2008 limited, has 150K miles and still drives like it did when I drove it off the lot. My first was gently used 2002 SR5. I'm pretty sure I will always drive a 4Runner. My only complaint is that it doesn't have all the amenities as the much more inexpensive cars. It needs REAR overhead air/heat vents. Needs power gate. Glad it finally has the safety features and the apps in the infotainment center.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota 4Runner - Best Dependable Vehicle

by Breezy from Columbia, SC on Sat Oct 31 2020

This vehicle is comfortable, clean, few scratches and is excellent pulling a trailer. Has towing package. Leather seats all features are in working condition. Only 2 owners.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great suv

by Brighp2 on Wed Aug 23 2017

Very reliable and comfortable with plenty if power. Little pricey but they hold there value if you take care of them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value!

by ForAllYouSend from Metairie, LA on Wed May 02 2018

Reliable, stylish, workhorse- Great car but I got a new job so I never drive it. Only drive my Camry. I purchased from neighbor's estate sale last year. I'm the second owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

gets the job down

by waynes from watkins glen on Mon Jun 26 2017

reliable by history. reasonable mileage for its weight. takes regular gas. the ride is pleasant. easy to get in and out with the side step thing amabob

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable truck on earth

by luxqueen from on Wed Sep 06 2017

This car had everything I wanted except a back up camera. It had an aux input, great bass for music, drove smoothly, and it lasted for years and is still lasting! Awesome car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Prev
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2008 Toyota 4Runner


4Runner is a Tough-Looking SUV That Can Handle the Kids, Too

Overview

The 2008 Toyota 4Runner is a seriously cool truck. It’s a testosterone-loaded, V-8, 4×4 super truck that just happens to work pretty darn well as a kid-hauler. Just because something can tow 7,300 pounds doesn’t mean it can handle my boys, but this SUV wrangles both with authority. And as an added bonus, it makes Mom look tough.

Living with the 4Runner is kind of a power trip. Stepping on the gas produces a muted growl and powerful launch; it’s not super quiet, but it’s not obnoxiously loud either. The V-8 engine handles hills without a hitch and hauls more than I would ever care to load into an SUV... Read More