2010 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2010 Toyota 4Runner

$11,714 - $25,194  MSRP Range
2010 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

48 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 48 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

by 4Runner4Life from Plano, TX on Thu Sep 07 2017

The re-design in 2010 is very good. The interior size isn't much bigger than the 2002-2009 model. Interior design is significantly different and much better than the previous model. Seats are comfortable. The engine has 270 hp (up 30 from previous model) which helps with accelerating. The rear seats recline, which is helpful for taller people. There are plenty of connections in the front and back to charge your electronics. Overall, this is an excellent purchase. More Toyota reliability with the 2010!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never a problem rock solid

by Donp from Urbandale on Mon Mar 09 2020

I purchased used with 150k the only thing I have done is scheduled servicing. Still drives like new. My son in-law has a 2018 very few differences between them.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Safe Vehicle

by JAC from Central WA on Wed Sep 27 2017

4Runners are rock stars in the mountains and snow and have a much lengthier lifespan than the average rig. The interior design could use a revamp, but other than that, it was a great vehicle for me!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable based on previous ownership

by 4Runner fan from New Jersey on Tue Dec 24 2019

So far so good need more time to evaluate! Vehicle is solid better ride than expected,gas mileage is better with new intake (TRD)enjoyable .thats it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good.

by Sherrie from Silt, CO on Fri May 10 2019

So far I love this car. I’ve only had it a few days, but I like it. It’s not quite as roomy as my van but I’m getting used to it. Good gas mileage for an all wheel drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota the most responsible car

by Gonzalez from San Antonio tx on Sat Apr 08 2017

Nice roomy car love it would recommend it to a friend only use it for a weekend car but it's did Carly go camping and will driving

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, but not equal to the 4th Gen 4-Runner

by legsofwood from Buena Vista, CO on Tue Nov 23 2010

5,000 miles on the 2010 4-Runner SR-5, more than half towing a pop-up tent trailer. No real problems, but I miss my 2003 4-Runner's V-8 power and full time all-wheel-drive. Fit and finish on the new car is excellent. 4-wheel drive system is just like my 1996 4-Runner - adequate, but not all-wheel-drive, all the time. I live in the mountains of Colorado, so that's a big deal. V-6 in the 2010 gets pretty good mileage, but doesn't have the torque of the V-8. Cruise control tends to overshoot up to 5mph, especially on short, steep hills, which is a nuisance. We have cops here that will nail you for 5 over. In Colorado, we are forced by Toyota to "buy" the sliding sunroof (unused), the backup camera (worthless) and the backup sonar (a nuisance that I've turned off). The sunroof causes the roof rack bars to be located too far back to appropriately support my bike racks and roof box, so I had to buy a step stool, even though I'm 6'2" tall to reach my goodies (running boards don't help). Fortunately, I got the car for less than the going price for a 2007, similarly equipped!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4Runner - '10

by Puma from Tennessee on Tue Oct 11 2011

Not sold on the performance, but great gas mileage. Styling is OK, but did not hit the mark. usual excellent fit, finish, reliability. Looking forward to the next generation. Needs dual exhaust system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Running 4 All Time

by Toy Fan # 1 from Elgin, Illinois on Mon Dec 06 2010

Purchase new in Aug of 10, replaced 2006 SR5 with Limited in Blizzard Pearl, Great Color. Love the truck overall. Great on the Highway, very low wind noise, especially without the cross bars on. Overall fit and finish is exceptional. Miss some of the features of the previous runner though, like the hidden antenna, locking fuel door and auto latching reach door. WHY would they do away with these great features. Do agree with some that the sheet metal is thin, take it through an automatic car wash and watch the hood shutter. Ouch. Aside from that it is great. Love the Limited 20 inch wheels, but would have preferred a bit wider tire and there are no choices unless you change out the wheels. Put the running boards from Toyota on, they don't help much for function, too narrow. But they shure do look great. Would also appreciate factory mud guards for a truck costing 40K. If you are lookin for a great mid size body on frame SUV this is it. Go for the Limited, the suspension on the SR5 is too mushy, much better with X-Reas, better stability at high speeds on the highway, no wander in the wind. Also the Limited has better sound deadening. This will help you appreciate the 15 speaker JBL rolling jukebox. WOW. With the XM, Ipod and standard radio, the entertainment is endless on long trips. Can't wait for summer vaction. Only amassed 2500 miles so far. Looking forward to many, many more miles to go. Will be watching for mid generation changes, such as the return of projector beam headlamps and LED tail lights. Also, I opted for the third seat, much better than that usless rolling cargo deck. Third seat is great for 2 small kids in a pinch, instant 7 passender vehicle. Great in Mid West snow with Geolandar tires, however the anitlock brakes are extreamly sensitive, plenty of acceleration, but give yourself lots of room to .......stop! Would I buy another one, YES!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Toyota I have purchased, I have owned three

by BILL Z from Phoenix, Arizona on Thu Jan 13 2011

My SR5 4Runner 4X4 is Great! I owned a 2004 Sequoia, 2008 Highlander Sport, and now my 2010 SR5 4Runner 4X4. I am averaging 19mpg in town driving (excellent for a 4X4). Love the way it handles. I have pulled a sandrail and other trailer with plenty of power to spare. Love the color (Manetic Gray w/Blk interior). Very roomy inside, and has an excellent sound system. The sliding deck in the rear is very handy for loading and unloading cargo. A Great Veheicle!! I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking for a quaility all around SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2010 Toyota 4Runner

The completely redesigned 2010 Toyota 4Runner reminds me why Americans fell in love with truck-based SUVs — and why we’re falling out of love with them. If you’re someone who wants a rugged, off-road-capable truck — or simply wants the rugged look — you’ll find the 4Runner a strong competitor to the likes of Nissan’s Pathfinder and the 2010 Ford Explorer. If you’re simply looking for the utility of a vehicle with good visibility, four powered wheels and a liftgate, chances are you’d be happier with a Toyota RAV4, Toyota Highlander or another of the car-based crossovers to which buyers have flocked.

The 2010 has made some sacrifices in towing capacity in the... Read More