2016 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota 4Runner

$25,100 - $40,288  MSRP Range
2016 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

132 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 132 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Durable

by ActiveMN from Minneapolis, MN on Thu Aug 17 2017

After testing the Highlander Limited and 4Runner Limited, we knew the 4Runner was our vehicle. Although the 4Runner is not the most technologically advanced vehicle on the road, reliability and durability were key factors that swayed our purchase. The resale value of the car also was appealing. We plan to keep the vehicle for a long time and knowing this is #2 on the resale value list of all vehicles was appealing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable but severly under powered

by doubled from syosset. ny on Tue Nov 21 2017

the vehicle is severely under powered that uses a lot of gas and has an uncomfortable truck like ride. The vehicle occasionally doesn't start when the button is pused with the brake pedal depressed. the dealer hasn't figured out why. it looks as if it is a diagnostic mode.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most efficient and reliable car I've owned

by toyotalover from New York, NY on Tue Jun 05 2018

It is a great vehicle, as an SUV it has great gas mileage. This was a purchase I'd always wanted and really happy with the result.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Could have better seats

by cdmobley1 from Sneedville, Tn on Sun Oct 07 2018

The fake leather seats are absolutely uncomfortable. And how is it that a SUV doesn't have dual climate control or rear seat control? It also doesn't have automatic headlights but does have heated wipers. Its 4 wheel capabilities are out of this world though. Still wish it had a V8 and a better transmission.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top of the pack for SUVs

by Ron from Santa Ana, Ca on Mon Nov 05 2018

I bought this newer 4Runner, spending the additional money after finding that they retain their value so well that it was hard to save much money getting an older one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Mark R from FLAGSTAFF, AZ on Fri Sep 29 2017

A Toyota vehicle in general is always a good investment, especially when it is a four wheel drive vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable SUV

by A mom from Forest City, North Carolina on Sun Jul 29 2018

I test drove the 4runner today and absolutely loved it. Feels very solid on the road, height is great. Very tight steering. very comfortable seats. leg room in back seats was great. trunk space is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most "solid" feeling vehicle I have ever owned!

by Ethandh from mountains of Maryland on Mon Aug 06 2018

I LOVE this vehicle!! It's comfortable and roomy inside. It feels extremely solid and feel very safe in it. I feel it is a great family vehicle, as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our new 4Runner!!

by Tracy from Thornton, Co on Fri Apr 21 2017

Can't say enough good things about our 4Runner - meets all of our needs as an on-the-go family with busy teenagers and 2 giant breed dogs. Tows our fishing boat like a champion! Only negative is the headlights don't automatically turn on and off - minor inconvenience we've already adjusted to:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV out there

by Trent from Silt, CO on Tue Aug 22 2017

Toyota quality, what else do I need to say. I love the third row option. Wish fuel economy was better but you cant have it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com