2016 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota 4Runner

$25,110 - $40,282  MSRP Range
2016 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

132 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

81 - 90 of 132 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV out there

by Trent from Silt, CO on Tue Aug 22 2017

Toyota quality, what else do I need to say. I love the third row option. Wish fuel economy was better but you cant have it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest truck on the planet

by KelsiLainePhoto from Edmond, OK on Sat Jan 13 2018

Overall, the vehicle was wonderful and we loved driving it! The exterior design is so sleek and it was paired with an interior to match!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Held its value

by 4runner Lov from Tempe on Wed Jul 19 2017

It was a great truck however it was lacking in interior comfort and options. The truck held its value so if your tires of getting ripped off on trading in or resales this is the truck for you.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Car!

by Drezmp from St. George utah on Tue Mar 13 2018

This has become my absolute dream car! Everything about the 4Runner is amazing besides the entertainment system, not the best but still pretty good. Overall a sweet 4x4

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice ride

by Angie from NJ on Fri Apr 20 2018

This truck has a nice and comfortable ride--heated/cooled seats, third row seating,box-like design and feel interior and exterior (unlike smaller SUV's which are just like compact cars), moonroof, can seat 7, good resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The vehicle I always wanted.

by Hud from Lake Wales, FL on Tue May 02 2017

This was my 14 th new Toyota that I have owned and is an excellent vehicle in all regards, it lags well behind the competition in advanced technology for the same price. There is no lane change warning, radar cruise or a large enough display to read the GPS while driving like the Honda Elite my wife owns. The vehicle needs updating to compete with its competition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Long term satisfaction

by CJMITRE from Seattle, WA on Sun May 20 2018

I love cars and working on cars but hate worrying if they will break down. Toyota has always been one of my top choices and the 2016 4Runner is no exception. It has all of the features I need and I know I will still be driving it well past 200k miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Retirement Choice

by Tim from Montana on Tue Oct 17 2017

It is all the I hoped for. I am experienced and picky. It follows various vans, F150 4x4, and 2001 Grand Cherokee. I get to drive it more because my wife thinks it is comfortable compared to her Sienna van. My SR5 has more 4x4 capability than any past 4x4. I laugh at other SUVs with higher ratings because they focus on what I don't care about. They miss the reliability, simplicity and rugged performance. My only gripe is the OEM tires don't match the aggressive capabilities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4runner

by caitlin from on Thu May 04 2017

This is a great and awesome car. Love it! Drives well and comfortable. Love the bluetooth capability as well as the easy to use display.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4-runner

by TAStuder from Houston,TX on Mon Apr 10 2017

4-runners are great vehicles. I owned a 2006 for six years, and it sold in one day. Reliable, well built, sturdy vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com