2017 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota 4Runner

$25,874 - $43,082  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

148 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 148 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Real SUV

by Go Blue! from Zeeland, MI on Fri Sep 29 2017

This replaced my last generation Ford Explorer. I wanted a body on frame (truck) SUV, like my old Explorer...not a unibody. This SUV does extremely well on the trails, and I'm looking forward to playing in the snow this winter too. Very comfortable ride, despite the body on frame construction. Quiet too. Only negative is the Entune radio & Nav. Sound isn't the best, and the Nav screen is rather small.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rugged and powerful.

by Lady Dyan from Cleveland, Ohio on Mon Oct 02 2017

The vehicle allows us to tow our toys and haul kids to and from sporting events with not problems. There was always room for gear.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Ride!

by LilPomPom314 from Arkansas on Sat Jan 13 2018

This was a simply gorgeous 4RUNNER, barely 10,000 plus miles. Truly a very nice ride!! Frankly, I just wanted them all!!!! If you purchase from Cauldwell Toyota ask for Joel Tomlinson! He’s the best!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4runner

by Mattlundy3 from Salem UT on Sat Jan 13 2018

After having other SUV’s for years finally decided to jump to the 4 runner! Doesn’t disappoint!! Love it! Handling and comfort is perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4runner

by Utvolsmcgee from Highlndville on Wed Sep 06 2017

I I love you baby! Our new 4Runner! I think it looks sharper than any car on the road. It's like driving on a cloud!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unreal car for the money

by Rsch from Illinois on Mon Oct 30 2017

Love it - just terrific I can’t believe how much I like this car. For the money, I don’t think you can possibly get better value. So far the service is good and the car handles flawlessly. The look is great and the comfort is great for an suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest car I've ever had

by TristanM on Sun Aug 13 2017

This car meets all my needs. Great styling inside and outside. Perfect for a family, or great for a single driver like me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I had one before! Needed a new one!

by Carol four wheeling from Valley Springs California on Sun Jun 17 2018

This car is everything I need and want! Great car and great price! Has a lot of room for family and my dogs!!!! Has the four wheel drive I wanted now some off roaming time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally Biased review on the Toyota 4Runner

by therealikp from Keene, TX on Wed Jan 24 2018

I purchased this tank as my daily driver. I choose the TRD Off-Road model because it was the best fit for my budget to help me navigate the cement curbs found at the grocery store, and the speed bumps found along my urban jungle as well as those moguls found and impassable terrains found in the natural wilderness. I will slowly customize 4runner like those found on Instagram pages, and I believe that the availability/variety of aftermarket parts are great for this platform. Although some might complain that its fuel efficiency is lacking, I guess Toyota had to be a standard vehicle in some other aspect to make it fair for the other car companies to have a chance in the marketplace. If you like making unscheduled visits to your local dealer's service department, please go right ahead and avoid this car. However, if you want to pass this on to your unborn children as I do, go ahead and join the club.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best SUVs I've owned

by Highmonks from Tampa, Fl on Fri Dec 15 2017

Drives very smooth, it's comfortable, and looks really good. I'm gonna replace the front grill for the TRD Pro and the tires for some off road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota 4Runner

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is an affordable, no-frills, off-road-capable SUV with a hint of weekend-toy fun factor.

Versus the competition:


If the 4Runner TRD Off-Road were a Jeep, its capabilities and luxuries would fall somewhere between the primitive-but-capable Jeep Wrangler and the more refined Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is slowly becoming one of a kind thanks to a focus on off-road capabilities and ruggedness rather than the refinement, passenger comfort and crash avoidance technologies that are prioritized in competing models. If you’d like the latter, there are a plethora of car-based SUVs out there, like the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, to get the family around in leather-trimmed comfort. The 4Runner, on the other hand, has hardware better suited for weekend camping trips, mountainous exploration or, as I found, oddly good maneuvering of an urban landscape.

What makes it so capable? The Toyota 4Runner retains body-on-frame construction, a once-common chassis type that’s given... Read More