2018 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2018 Toyota 4Runner

$28,305 - $45,713  MSRP Range
2018 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

246 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 246 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect vehicle for our family!

by B & C from Wernersville, Pa on Thu Jul 05 2018

We love the 4Runner for its sporty body style and reliability. The 4 WD is the reason we choose it over the Toyota Highlander, since we live in the country and winter weather. The interior is comfortable but kind of wish it had more storage on the interior. I love my Nautical Blue color because it is not as common as Black, White, Gray, or Silver.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subtle Aggression

by James Taylor from Atlanta, GA on Sat Sep 29 2018

If you are an EDC kinda guy, please consider the 4Runner. Great utility and fantastic design with all the options you crave. Rear automatic window combined with a moonroof offer an unparalleled driving experience. Abundant aftermarket options are always a plus as well. Basically what I? saying is... you are gonna have to pry this steering wheel from my cold, dead, clammy hands!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for your buck

by LarryBoffroad nut on Thu Jun 21 2018

This vehicle checked almost all our boxes, first and foremost it is the best for your buck, very reliable vehicle, some times less is more, well this Toyota 4Runner checked that box not having all the extras that we usually didn’t use anyway. When compared to the Jeep Grand Cherokee we loved the size and other options that this 4Runner had. One of the biggest but most simple thing we found was the entertainment/ radio touch screen, we noticed that you could navigate very easily through the menu from one to another, we both have apple phones and the 4Runner s radio and software was very apple friendly. Another feature I liked was the off road functions for going up and down steep grades to being able to set the vehicle accent / decent speeds. The back hatch window rolls completely down which is nice to get that breeze going through the vehicle, and the most simple to me anyway was the fact that the rear wiper was hidden up on top and out of the way so when you go through a car wash you don’t get one of those stupid wiper covers that you see on the back of everyone SUV after they leave the car wash. In our opinion the 4Runner checked off the most boxes for us.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Second 4Runner - Because They Are Just Too Cool

by Christopher from Escalante, UT on Mon Jul 02 2018

I’m 57 and need a well-crafted, reliable, comfortable and versatile vehicle. The 4Runner SR5 Premium is it! Smooth on the highway, quick around town and certainly capable off-pavement, which I do a lot of. I’ve come to appreciate the stock ground clearance being high - no need for lift kits or larger tires to enjoy off-road fun. Window and door seals are excellent - very effective at keeping the dust and dirt from getting in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Go anywhere vehicle

by Tim ATVer from Lincoln, NE on Fri Jan 19 2018

Perfect vehicle for my needs which are towing and off roading. Love the styling and toughness of this vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4Runners are the best

by #MountainEscape from Orem, Utah on Thu Jan 10 2019

I love my 4Runner. My last one have over 200k miles and almost no maintenance issues. This one seems to be the identical sequel. It goes everywhere I need to go and meets all of my outdoor activity needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the 2018 4Runner! Simple, comfortable, rugged

by 1sr 4runnner on Sun Mar 25 2018

Love the 4Runner. Simple design inside , lacking latest tech inside, but that’s less to break. Huge knobs to control everything. Very comfortable too. Off road capability is basically unmatched for size, plus option for 3rd row searing. Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the look and ride of the vehicle

by Cindy from Pa on Thu Aug 23 2018

Love it . no other midsize SUV can compare . I have a jeep and there is no comparison . got it all over grand Cherokee

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

by 4runner lover! from Littleton, CO on Thu Feb 15 2018

Love our new 4runner! Couldn't ask for a better car! Can't wait to go off-roading! Got just the options we were looking for. What else can we say about it? It's a Toyota, so it's got to be great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

COMFORTABLE, PEP, LOOKS AND DESIGN

by VOL4LIFE from Hampstead, North Carolina on Thu Feb 01 2018

Just turned 400 miles today, but performance is excellent, smooth ride , and styling is almost unbelievable. Also, the 4Ruunner holds it's value quite well. Absolutely no complailnts today. Think I made a very wise choice. Previously had a Toyota Highlander, and it was an excellent, comfortable vehicle. Had 65,000 miles on it when traded and never had the slightest problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com