2017 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius Prime

$17,115 - $26,555  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius Prime

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 81 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most gas efficient car in the market

by Javi N from Houston, TX on Wed Jan 17 2018

Toyota Prius has established itself as the most reliable and signature hybrid vehicle to date. The Prius Prime has significantly improved the gas efficiency on this vehicle with great electric capabilities added to the hybrid system!!! This hybrid vehicle is highly recommended!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car!!!

by Dalcon95 from Easley SC on Wed Apr 12 2017

I love this car and would highly recommend anyone to buy this car! I get 64mpg on only gas. I get 35 miles of electric range. I have driven 4200 miles and only filled up once with 460 miles left on the second tank! I love the advanced trim with the Entune app where you can set your temperature ahead of time before you get to the car, you can manage and monitor your charging status, and compare other Prime Advance drivers to see who is the most efficient. It is a highly efficient and technological!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Prime---A Tesla you can afford

by Mark P from Portland Oregon on Sat Apr 15 2017

I mean nothing derogatory by the title. I have driven the Tesla and it's a wonderful car, but far out of the price range of most buyers. The Prius Prime is a very practical alternative to the pricey "battery only" products currently available. For around 30 K you can own a car that, depending on your driving, will never need fuel. Yes, if you drive 25 miles or less per day and charge daily you will never need to buy gas again. If you charge nightly and drive 25 miles to work one way, the return trip will only burn 1/2 gallon of gas to drive 50 miles. That's about 100 miles per gallon plus the cost of one charge. I estimate about 1.50 per charge. As of this writing we have just about 1000 miles on the car and have only burned one tank of gas. That was for a 400 mile trip my wife took. It has a lot more power and handles better than other Prius's I have driven. It comes in 3 model levels. I have the premium level which features a (Tesla like) glass panel that controls the radio, the GPS and environment. Overall it's been a fun ride and if it performs long-term like the other Toyota's I have owned, it's going to be a great choice of a car. So if you're interested in a car that gives you the benefits of a battery driven vehicle without the possibility of being stuck with a dead battery, that's an affordable alternative, this might be worth looking into.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE CAR

by mbailes from Monroe Township on Fri Mar 10 2017

Love the way the car rides, handles. The only problem is the car is very new and nobody even the dealer knows how to program the climate control from your mobile phone. (so you an start the car to either cool/warm it outside. If anyone knows how to do solve the problem please advise.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Prius prime test drive.

by James from Colorado on Fri Aug 04 2017

I currently own a 2009 Prius (which is the most reliable car I've ever owned) and as somone looking to get a new car the new Prius prime has more than peaked my interest. Mostly everything about the car is great! It's definitely a lot more fun to drive than previous Prius models and it also comes with a lot more bells and whistles. However it has a few flaws. As a Prius owner already I expect to have 5 seats not 4. I also expect to have the same amount of cargo space as I already have and not less. It would also be nice to pair apple or android car systems with such an awesomely large screen as the prime has similar to the screen newer Volvos have. All and all I'm waiting to see what a future Prius prime may have to offer, but who knows how long that may take. If only there was a Prius with awd, 5 seats, cargo space, a media platform that paired well with your cell phone, along with air suspension, and 55+ mpgs with an awesome battery to charge. Toyota would probably have the best selling car in America if not the world. Until that's all a reality prime really is a great option despite its pitfalls, especially with the savings from tax credits. It should be a serious consideration if you want a new Prius that feels more premium, and gets insanely great mileage, paired with the Prius brands already infamous reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Feel really safe in it

by LarryS from Southern California on Sun Jun 25 2017

With external cameras and radar sensors, we can track what's behind us when backing up, when another car or cars are crossing the back of our car, when we inadvertently cross over a lane marker, when another driver is moving in a 'blind spot', etc. We get 26 miles out a 110-volt overnight charge in the garage and, after 2 1/2 months we're averaging 180 mpg equivalent. Strangely, we have only seen one other Prime since we bought it, which makes us wonder if this is just an experimental car so that Toyota can collect data for future Prime models which will be nothing like the current 2017 version.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Prime Premium a Great Addition for Toyota

by DaytonBill from Dayton, OH on Mon May 15 2017

I have driven Prius models since they came to the US and I find they are outstanding vehicles. The new Prius Prime is no exception. My experience is, with some conservative driving, the EV mode will stretch beyond the published 24 miles and the hybrid mode is better on gas than the manufacturer says. Compared to the standard Prius, the Prime has a much improved styling, but less cargo space due to the large battery, and seats only 4 people instead of the normal 5. The navigation system is good, but the voice recognition is poor, at best. Once the destination is entered into the system it works great. The ability to search the internet for an address is limited to only when the vehicle is stopped and cannot be used to change destinations on the fly. I believe that makes the use of the navigation system somewhat limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great cars, lots of safety features

by Vtpapa from St Albans, VT on Wed May 03 2017

Headline pretty much says it all. The cross traffic alert, blind spot monitoring, lane departure warnings, and all the other technology is very comforting. The exterior styling, and the "moon stone" interior do not make you think Prius, but the MPG and the plug in capability definitely make it a Prius.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car We've Owned

by jeh from Middletown on Wed Mar 14 2018

My husband is able to make his 47-mile roundtrip commute entirely in electric vehicle mode, greatly increasing our average miles-per-gallon as well as the cost-effectiveness of the purchase and reducing our carbon footprint. The auto-assist features make driving less stressful, and we get lots of compliments on the car's appearance and comfort. We've owned Hondas, an Izusu, an Infinity, a Chevy, a Volvo, and other Toyota models, but we enjoy driving this car more than any other.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The car of the futureooo.

by M from Hayward on Sat Jul 01 2017

I think you are for someone who go to work everyday out of town or just shopping if your day with your son silver everything's perfect

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime is quirky in the driving department and overly expressive in the looks department, but its electric-only range, gas mileage and green-car mission are admirable.

Versus the competition:


Other plug-ins offer similar fuel efficiency and electric-driving range, as well as more understated, regular-car styling, but the Prius Prime's value is hard to beat.

As many of us learn in playing (losing) the stock market, timing is everything. Toyota is likely in the middle of that lesson. New for 2017, the Prius Prime is a plug-in version of the regular Prius gas/electric hybrid, and now is not a prime time for it to debut: Sales of hybrids and electrics are down, and low gas prices and a White House teeming with climate-change deniers will likely keep them that way. That’s a shame; the Prime delivers a solid fuel economy win — you just have to put up with some quirks in exchange.  

The Prime goes up against other plug-in hybrids like the Kia Optima Plug-In, Chevrolet Volt and Ford C-Max Energi. Compare them here

A Curious Blend of Strange and... Read More