2018 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews
2018 Toyota Prius Prime

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

10 Reviews
2018 Toyota Prius Prime
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's all about the gas savings !

by Blue Orca Owner from Shawnee, KS on June 14, 2018

I was looking for something that would provide stability in a world of topsy-turvy gas prices. I did the math on the 5 year savings for the Prius Prime, Chevy Volt, and Chevy Bolt. The sticker price on the two Chevy models was so much higher than the Prius Prime that the 5 years savings on gas actually ended being a net loss unless gas were to raise above $5 per gallon. The Prius Prime's lower price combined with the 25 mile range that would take care of most commutes and take a big chunk out of any trip longer than that came out with a big savings overall after 5 years. After further research I bit the bullet and purchased a new 2018 advanced trim model. The advantage with this car is you don't have to purchase an expensive home charging station. It was ready to charge as soon as I brought it home using what was provided with the car. Another bonus was that, although it claims to get 25 miles on the electric battery, it often gets better than that. 25 seems to be the minimum depending on climate, climate settings int he car, and how you drive. I have gotten as much as 32 miles on a perfect day before kicking in the gas motor. I have had this about 3 weeks and still have half of a tank that the dealer filled it up with. I drive about 400 miles a week. Depending on how far you travel etc it is common for people to go over 1 thousand miles or more on a single tank of gas . Charging it up at home takes about 5 hours. It takes about 2 hours to charge it at a level 2 charging station. The electricity cost where I live to charge it every night is about 50 cents per night. The cost here for the charging stations is about $1 to charge it up. That is the equivalent of a gallon of gas for $2 . When you are using the gas motor, the 50 mpg is also on the low side for what you are capable of getting. I would recommend the advanced trim model for the safety features and the incredible interior. It's a sharp looking car on the inside and out. It isn't much for pickup and go but that is the price you pay for this MPG. If you really need that it does have a power setting that will not get quite the mileage as normal. Features that I have found to be helpful : The radar controlled cruise control that adjusts speed when someone going slower than your set speed is in front of you, Blind Spot notification, Charging timer that lets you set it to charge overnight only when electricity is super cheap, The Entune app that lets me see where my car is - how much charge it has- turn on the AC or defrost/heat prior to getting to the car , 3 year free roadside emergency service, Driving training displays that show you exactly how to be a better driver for mpg and battery miles, the HUD on the advanced trim that shows you the current speed limit - Training tool- speed your going etc. Things you need to know ( cons): There is no spare tire so you will want to purchase one or get a repair kit, but the car does have low tire pressure warning systems, the AC takes a while to get to the people in the backseats on hot days, no sun roof to save weight and make it get better mileage, Only seats 4, I gave it 4 stars on reliability ONLY because I have only had this vehicle 3 weeks, this car will force you to change your driving habits and be a better driver whether you want it to or not ! It is also a source of great envy among my friends ! I now have zero gas cost anxiety. I have no idea what a gallon of gas costs right now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cheap to operate but some problems encountered.

by Bob from Anamosa, Iowa on April 16, 2018

54 MPG on first tank without external charging. VSC won't turn on. Manual denotes 77 pages on just charging in nauseating detail. Manual appears to be written in Japanese for Japanese then translated to English by Japanese. Steering seems imprecise and handling difficult in crosswinds.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Bluto5 on May 19, 2018

Love it. Had it for one year. 33 miles on a charge. Charges fully in 2 hours. Takes about 8 gallons every 3000 miles. Drove to Disneyland and back from Dallas for $120, 64 mpg average. Filled up every 500 miles or so. Quiet, great stereo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Electric/ Hybrid

by Jo-Jo from Pawleys Island, SC on April 17, 2018

I have driven a 2017 and 2018 prime. I do not like the fact there is no spare tire in case of a blow out where the flat tire kit is not useful. I would love the fact if the prime go at least 50 miles on a charge instead of the 25 miles now. Is Toyota going to increase this mileage on the future year models?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Who cares about gas prices?

by Skipdr68 from Bend Oregon on July 16, 2018

Perfect for those short trips around town. Loaded with entertainment and safety features. Easy to park and comfortable to drive. Best of all little gasoline needed ( maybe even good for the environment!)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Chev. Camaro

by Keith from Stanwood, WA on June 23, 2018

The car was just fine. However.... only able to seat a total of four people in the car. Having that removable center counsel stopped me cold. That is the only reason I did not purchase the prime.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car I needed!

by Nadya from Carmichael on June 13, 2018

I love my car. It saves me on gas. Beautiful and safe. Love the color, white pearl. I think I will be with Toyota for a long long time!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car!

by Northerngirl1020 from Burlington, Ontario on June 4, 2018

Have had my hypersonic red prime for three weeks. Am getting over 47km on one charge and using no gas commuting to work. Smooth, handles well, comfortable seats. Passengers find the back seat area has lots of room and cup holder a positive feature. Stereo is great and I really like the HUD display. Huge 11.2 inch display with nav is easy to figure out. Lots of people approach me to ask about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gas saver

by Gas-saver from Kent, WA on July 7, 2018

Vehicle does exactly what I wanted, reduce use of gas. And I use this vehicle primarily for local use such as shopping and going to the gym.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new prime

by Rjgellar from WEST PALM BEACH on April 29, 2018

My favorite car since my very first "freedom"car. My cars need to be entertaining whether from performance, appearance, or technology. The prime is a sporty cute package packed with all kinds of technology. It's fun to drive and look at. My prime is my own personal space craft chocked full of fun. Each adventure is a test in how far can I go without using gas or how high can I take my MPGs this time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1