2019 Atlas

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volkswagen Atlas

#5 Most Popular SUV/Crossover
$20,929 - $51,293  MSRP Range
2019 Volkswagen Atlas

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

121 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volkswagen Atlas?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Drives very well.

by Ellenella from Reistersrown on Mon Jan 14 2019

Great in the snow. Big enough to fit my kids and their friends without feeling too big. Drives amazing. Love the way it looks. Feels way more expensive then it really is. Great car great price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best mid-size 3 row SUV for room and money.

by WaltVW from Shenandoah Valley, Virginia on Thu Oct 24 2019

Originally Kia Telluride was no. 1 on my list over Atlas SEL Premium due to costing less and being a little more of a pretty face. Still had some doubts about Kia though due to historical reliably issues even though it is said that Kia has gotten better. But when Kia dealers started marking the Telluride over sticker, hate gouging, I looked at the Atlas again. SURPRISE end of year and the Premium was marked down 7200 dollars that and the fact it has a six year bumper to bumper warranty made it the easy winner. Now to the Atlas, by the way I'm coming from a Range Rover but was getting tired of 2000-3000 dollar maintenance bills, the Atlas is not a Range Rover but at 1/2 the cost it is a pretty good ride and as far as room goes it wins big time. Have 2nd row capt. chairs and when all the seats are folded down it is amazing how much room there is. When seats up there is a ton of seating. My grandkids ride in my son's Audi Q7 and they hate the 3rd row. No leg room and quite claustrophobic. They love the Atlas and fight to see who gets to sit back in the 3rd row. Other ... ride is pretty good, handles well on curvy roads for a SUV, better than Telluride, like all the safety toys, Fender is good but no where near excellent. Range Rover had a Meridian system which really rocked. Interior ... ok with plastic finish, could have used a little better plastic but it doesn't really bother me. Don't like fake wood, they could have used leather and I would have been ok with. Mpg is not great but the whole mid-size group has that problem. So far averaging 23. Range Rover I was getting 20. Not going to quibble about 1 or 2 more mpg that a Telluride may get. Was worried about power as coming from a big v8 to a v6 but have been pleasantly surprised, it handles the Blue Ridge Mts. rather well. Would like to see more power but not at the expense of mpg. I only use normal or sport drive modes, econ drains power too much. Overall love the vehicle and thanks to Kia dealers for gouging customers and VW having this great end of year sale. I am one happy camper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rugged, yet very elegant.

by Art (BOSN) Howard from Lorton, VA on Sun Jun 02 2019

This vehicle has exceeded my expectations; I am 6’ 4”, and am able to sit in the driver seat with my legs stretched-out, without having to push the seat all the way back! my family (even seated in the 3-row) have ample room to sit comfortably as well. The vehicle handles really well on the road (particularly during curves), and has great turning radius.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acceleration complaints should be ignored.

by Greenfield Husker Fan from Greenfield, Indiana on Mon Nov 11 2019

Traded our Nissan Murano in for an Atlas with premium trim. Up to that point the Murano had been the best riding car I had owned. The Atlas is more comfortable and is a smoother ride, probably due in part to the longer wheel base. Ignore the poor acceleration reviews. If you put the Atlas in sport mode, it's as responsive as our lighter weight Murano. If you're buying such a large vehicle for its acceleration strengths, you're probably buying the wrong vehicle, anyway. The amount of interior space is exceptional. Technology is extensive and intuitive. The cabin is VERY quiet. The transmission is a bit jumpy at lower speeds as it works to find the right gear, but it doesn't rise to an irritating level. If you are critiquing the vehicle from an expert's viewpoint, there are minor things to complain about, but they are minimal. Volkswagen has hit a home run with the Atlas. I bought after extensive research, and settled on the Atlas instead of the Hyundai Pallisade. The Atlas is well designed for human cargo, and we look forward to many years of ownership.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Atlas 2019

by Gina from Red Rock, AZ on Sun Feb 10 2019

It’s big, there’s room inside, no buyers remorse on my end, Apple play is convenient, adjustable sun shades built into the door in back, third row easy to move up/down, captain chairs in second row easy to adjust

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking family car

by Anna from Savannah, GA on Tue Jan 01 2019

The largest 3rd row I’ve seen, cup holders and USB ports for all. I have the SE with Technology and it has everything I need from power lift gate to apple car play. Highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great drive

by SeanK from Plymouth, MA on Fri Mar 08 2019

It’s a great value with smooth right, great technology. Very happy with purchase. The entire family fits with room to spare. Flexible drive options to tailer the driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far it’s amazing!

by Ashleigh M from Lynn Haven, Florida on Tue May 14 2019

I searched for and researched many mid-sized suvs and came across the Atlas not remembering VW now made one as well. I will have to tell you it surpassed my expectations and checked off all my needs flawlessly! I needed a family car to fit 2 car seats and 4 adults without being cramped and this works amazingly! The captain chairs give the car seats room to maneuver around, front and back since the whole seat raises not just the back! It has all the top safety features I was wanting plus the interior is just beautiful! I feel so proud of this car and can’t wait for many years in it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Probably the nicest 7 passenger around $30k

by Jr from Gettysburg Pa on Wed Nov 20 2019

I did a lot a lot a lot of research. Test drove just about everything and the Altas was the best value for money. It was an average a really good options and price vs the competition. You simply can’t get this from another car manufacturer....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great-looking and very roomy

by Kay from Northern California on Tue Oct 29 2019

We have the SE, 4-motion, R-Line with technology and we love it. We have had so many compliments and questions from friends and strangers. Having had 4 VW vehicles since 1999, we know VW is reliable. It is also, at least now, stylish! The only thing we need corrected is to have the tires balanced, as the car shakes a little between 55-75 mph. The Atlas is a raised model (by 3 inches) and has awesome 20-inch wheels/tires. It looks like a rugged hard-guy vehicle but performs like a luxury SUV. Still learning all the options...I couldn't find the A/C driving it the first night and had my tush heated for an hour until we stopped for dinner (husband was in our Bug, following me home). Probably not best for the first time with any new car to drive at night! The first time I showed my Chiweenie the SUV, he had a blast going from the front to the second to the third seat and over that into the cargo area. The Atlas has enough power--and more than enough looks and space-- to make everyone happy. It feels sporty while offering roomy comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13

Our Take on the 2019 Volkswagen Atlas

The verdict:

With an emphasis on utility, the Atlas is a comfortable SUV with lots of interior room and well-executed high-tech features.

 

Versus the competition:

For those who often carry people or cargo, the Atlas offers greater interior flexibility and space than the competition.

 

The newest vehicle from Volkswagen is also its biggest: the aptly named 2018 Atlas. Why does the name fit so well? Because its cavernous interior can carry passengers and cargo better than anything in its class.

The all-new Atlas competes in a crowded segment of three-row SUVs that are a step below full-size, truck-based behemoths like the Chevrolet Suburban and Ford Expedition. Its rivals include the Toyota Highlander, Honda Pilot and Chevrolet Traverse. Compare the Atlas with those vehicles here.

I tested two versions of the Atlas, both with the optional V-6 engine and all-wheel drive: an SEL (priced at $43,615 including destination charges) and an SEL Premium ($49,415), the Atlas’ top trim... Read More