NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Atlas

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volkswagen Atlas

#9 Most Popular SUV/Crossover
$30,895 - $48,395  MSRP Range
2019 Volkswagen Atlas

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

55 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volkswagen Atlas?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV, highly recommended

by Ryan from Jacksonville, FL on Tue Jan 01 2019

This SUV has it all in spades. It has the exterior truck-ness with all the refined interior SUV-ness. Couldn't be happier with this SUV, better than the Highlander, Traverse, Pilot, and Q7 for the money and the space inside is insane!!! If you drive the Atlas and don't love the size and driving style you are crazy. Yes, the mpg is not fantastic, but it runs on 87 octane not 91 or 93 like some others and it is still not terrible, but it is not going to compete with a hybrid so don't complain...it is what it is, a huge people/kids hauler with room for the dogs, stroller, sports equipment, and suitcases. I love the interior trim, it is not overstated and super functional! Love this SUV and would buy again and recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Well build SUV. Compare this to Range Rover

by Vwowner2002 from Surprise on Thu Nov 29 2018

Good on highway feels very strong and safe. Very little cabin nice at 75 mph. Hi tech features. Big but easy to park. Good for montain roads and comfortable on long drives. Excellent for kids and family!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Mid Size SUV On The Road

by AlexTN from Nashville, TN on Wed Feb 06 2019

The atlas is a larger bodied mid size suv. This harkens back to the SUV body style from a few years ago prior to suvs looking like mini vans as they do today. We bought the SEL trim black on black and absolutely love it. The vehicle looks amazing and everything in/on it is top quality for its price range, unlike many competitors. If there is one complaint I might have, it’s that Fender speakers do not come on anything less than the premium trim. That’s not to say the speakers are otherwise inadequate. The full length sunroof is amazing, remote start is a huge convenience, and the v6 AWD is more than enough for a family of 4-6 with a full load. Not to mention the 3 rd row seat is actually kind of spacious for a guy that’s 5’8” 190 lbs. It may be a bit more in price than other comparable suv’s But you’re truly getting what you pay for and it is well worth the little but extra. We had a Honda Pilot touring before.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives very well.

by Ellenella from Reistersrown on Mon Jan 14 2019

Great in the snow. Big enough to fit my kids and their friends without feeling too big. Drives amazing. Love the way it looks. Feels way more expensive then it really is. Great car great price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rugged, yet very elegant.

by Art (BOSN) Howard from Lorton, VA on Sun Jun 02 2019

This vehicle has exceeded my expectations; I am 6’ 4”, and am able to sit in the driver seat with my legs stretched-out, without having to push the seat all the way back! my family (even seated in the 3-row) have ample room to sit comfortably as well. The vehicle handles really well on the road (particularly during curves), and has great turning radius.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Atlas 2019

by Gina from Red Rock, AZ on Sun Feb 10 2019

It’s big, there’s room inside, no buyers remorse on my end, Apple play is convenient, adjustable sun shades built into the door in back, third row easy to move up/down, captain chairs in second row easy to adjust

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drive Bigger

by John B from Cleveland, TN on Fri Aug 02 2019

Volkswagen’s new catch phrase ‘Drive Bigger’ is on full display with the Atlas. We were looking to upsize from a mercedes crossover (GLA250), a fun car worthy of its own review but, in our case, too small. At 6’3” tall, headroom, shoulder room, hip room, and leg room are important. The Atlas delivers all of these, in all seating positions from the driver’s to the right side of the 3rd row seat. The driving experience is excellent as well. The 3.6 liter V6 connected to the 8 speed transmission propels this beast easily, with a very nice exhaust note to boot. 0 to 60 times are irrelevant to me, its an SUV, a big hauler, not a race car. But it accelerates strongly. It handles crisply, doesn’t lean in turns, and the 4Motion all wheel drive creates an impression of stickiness on the road that feels very much in control. The entertainment system encourages seat dancing with its rich sound and multiple speakers. Being able to use ApplePlay to access my playlists through this system is a bonus. My family has owned and driven Volkswagens since 1963, T1 and T2 vans, beetles, squareback variants, jettas, passats. I worked at Volkswagen’s Chattanooga Assembly plant as we launched both the redesigned Passat and the All new Atlas. The Atlas ain’t your daddy’s volkswagen though. Its big, its brawny, its comfortable, its roomy. In short, it is an excellent vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this sub!

by Jzthereal from Mason, MI on Sat Feb 09 2019

We have a family of five and need a full usable third row, this has it. I am 6-4 and fit very comfortable in the third row without my head Hitting the ceiling. We drove every SUV manufacturered, before purchasing a Honda Pilot in 2017, then the Atlas came out. The Atlas out performs the pilot in all aspects except acceleration.(still decent) What the Atlas lacks in take off it definitely makes up for in luxury. The ride is smooth, the interior feels like a super car, and balance of steering is perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great drive

by SeanK from Plymouth, MA on Fri Mar 08 2019

It’s a great value with smooth right, great technology. Very happy with purchase. The entire family fits with room to spare. Flexible drive options to tailer the driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking family car

by Anna from Savannah, GA on Tue Jan 01 2019

The largest 3rd row I’ve seen, cup holders and USB ports for all. I have the SE with Technology and it has everything I need from power lift gate to apple car play. Highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6