2017 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Passat

$10,839 - $18,491  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

169 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 169 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great deal!

by Nacole Sears from Lost Creek, WV on Thu May 18 2017

We are very happy with our choice of style and color. We look forward to making many memories with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kendar

by Kendar from Pt. Pleasant, NJ on Sun Mar 26 2017

I had a 2012 Jetta Sportswagon TDI and loved it. This time I went for a sporty sedan. I just bought a Passat R-Line, but it has everything you could want. I feel you get a lot for your money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Owned or 3 months, 1 recall and 1 electronic malfu

by Mihall166 from Kansas City, MO on Sat May 20 2017

Bought the Passat SE in February. Beautiful car! Looks even nicer with after market rims. Got a recall on the break line 2 months later. And after 90 day the in dash touch screen goes out. Covered under warranty but on back order from Germany, so that tells me its happening to a lot of Passats. Was very happy, now I wish I went with the Ford Fussion. Also the reverse breaking assist will have to be turned off. It trips out and breaks for no reason occasionally.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Priceless Passat

by Julie R from Cicero, NY on Wed May 10 2017

It's Beautiful, it's comfortable And it's affordable luxury at its finest! Could not be happier with this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Joe K from Point Pleasant, NJ on Wed Mar 29 2017

I bought the Passat R-Line. The car is loaded with all the features you could want. The back seat and trunk have plenty of room it will be a great car for trips. The outside is very stylish with a sporty look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Passat

by Lynner from Pitman. NJ on Sun May 21 2017

This is our 2nd Passat. We love it. It is very roomey inside. Handles beautifully. Lots of car for the price. We love our VW dealership of Salem County. NJ. They make the experience wonderful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for the Buck !!

by Pete Pett from Alpha, NJ on Mon Apr 03 2017

The feel of the car is stable. The gas mileage is good. The new Pure White color really adds a ton of class to the exterior look. The heated seats and heated mirrors work very quickly. I was caught in a long downpour and the wiper top speed was adequate to keep up with the amount of water falling. The wide angle Blind Spot in the outside mirrors is an excellent asset. Overall, I enjoy the vehicle very much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Rick from HHI, SC on Sun May 21 2017

Had a 2013 Passat and traded it in for a 2017. The new one drives very similar to the old one which is great. Very roomy in the front and back and plenty of truck space. Very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jason from Fairmont,wv on Thu Mar 23 2017

Exceptional car for the money. I wish vw was able to make diesels still but the 1.8 turbo 4 gas motor has enough power to do everything i need. Interior is spacious and well designed. Exterior is sporty but elegant. I have had a few people tell me they thought it was a mercedes benz when they first saw it. The led lighting package is phenomenal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by royals 2015 from kansas city mo on Mon Mar 06 2017

ive only had car about a month but i had traded my chrysler 200 for this passat rline great styling interuior room is huge for a midsize this car wont win any races but the turbocharged engine will get it up to speed fast enough

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Passat

The verdict:


Multimedia system updates, a slew of new advanced safety features and lower fuel costs make the refreshed 2016 Volkswagen Passat much more attractive, even if its styling changes go largely unnoticed.

Versus the competition:


The Passat remains one of the roomiest and best-driving mid/full-size sedans. Updates where they were most needed keep the 2016 competitive, though its mileage is beginning to trail even though it went up this year.

Editor’s note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Passat, but little of substance has changed for this year. To see what’s new for 2017 click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. To read the full review of the 2016 Passat, click here.

When it was introduced, the current-generation Volkswagen Passat sedan won Cars.com’s top award, the Best of 2012. The midsize-priced, full-size sedan aged well, and the 2015 took third place against nine competitors — most of which had been redesigned more recently — in our $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge. For 2016, Volkswagen’s product planners left well enough alone and improved only what... Read More