2017 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

$12,323 - $37,515  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

67 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 67 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great to drive, not the best MPG for the class

by Lucas Cury from Plano, TX on Tue May 30 2017

I really enjoy driving my 2017 Tiguan, and it exceeds most of my expectations. The one and only reason why I gave 4/5 stars on performance is its MPG. Compared with the cars in the same category, it falls under the average. For me since I bought it, it scores 20mpg combined (city/highway) using Premium gas, recommended by VW. I mostly drive it in short commutes in the city(70% of the time) and had only 1 road trip of 700mi on it. Twice a week I also drive to Dallas (50mi per trip). But in the end I don't mind much because it's a fun car to drive - and I drive fast too - and it's acceptable for the 2.0 Turbo engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still Good But even better

by Tiggy from MD on Sat Feb 18 2017

2017 has been our favorite, we have the sport, great wheels, leather not leatherette, all the bells and whistles but sportier. We had to have the last year before they made it bigger. Why does everything have to get bigger? Its a great SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice clean vehicle

by Butch from Spring Hill FL 34609 on Wed Apr 11 2018

My Tiguan handles better than most cars. The quality of the interior is excellent, everything fits like a glove. The seats are very comfortable. The quality of the paint on the exterior is excellent. When stopping because of an emergency the vehicle does not fish tail but goes nice a straight. I'm very happy with my Tiguan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I AN IN LOVE WITH THIS VEHICLE

by Jennay64 from Shillington, PA on Fri May 05 2017

Awesome!!!! Comfort and Performance! I drive all day every day for work. Love it! I strayed away from VW's for a few short years to Ford and Mazda. Hated them! This new Dub feels like I've restored a part of my life lost in the past.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drive this car!

by Another Heidi from Austin on Wed Apr 25 2018

I was looking for a certified preowned car and everyone told me to look at Honda, Toyota and Subaru. I went to those dealerships as well as the auto show and sad and all the cars and wasn’t thrilled. I decided to look at the Volkswagens and went to a dealership the next day and drove off with a new car. There were a lot of updates to the 2018 so it is a great time to purchase a 2017 at a great price. My 2017 has less than 5000 miles and I was able to get so much more for my money then if I had gone with a Honda HRV or Subaru crossTrek.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I owe it and I love it.

by Karim9010 from Chicago on Thu Apr 05 2018

Tiguan 2017 goes above my expectations. It is way confortable ride than my former car the Jetta 2013 and even faster thanks to the Turbo engine. The interior more modern and a tuned with the new digital demands. Big enough to get notice and small snouts to park in Chicago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Tiguan is even better!

by swdenyse from Fairfield, OH on Mon Mar 06 2017

Had a 2010 Tiguan and this one is quieter, rides better and gets better gas mileage. I chose the Wolfsburg Edition and love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tiguan Sport

by Alexa from on Tue Mar 28 2017

I just recently leased the Tiguan Sport and I love it. Although I have driven other SUVs, this is my first one. It is very comfortable and drives great on both the highway and city roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First SUV i've Owned

by Diann I from Fort Smith, Ar on Sat Apr 29 2017

I've just had the car a short time, but I really like it! It has a good amount of cargo space. It is my only vehicle so it must "do it all".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent compact SUV!

by GinaG from Elk Grove, CA on Sat May 06 2017

I am a new Tiguan owner and love this compact SUV! It has all the roominess of my previous midsize SUV and more gadgets to help me get where I need TTY o be safely. It runs very peppy, has clear/open visual field, and rides like a comfy sedan. I highly recommend this SUV to any age.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

The verdict:

Volkswagen has an uphill battle to win back buyers in the wake of its messy diesel-emissions scandal, and the Tiguan is dead weight in that battle: It's cramped, inefficient and irrelevant in a class of winners.

Versus the competition:

The Tiguan's peppy engine and pleasant ride are strengths, but many other compact SUVs offer those things plus better gas mileage, higher crash test scores and more space — for less money.

It competes in a crowded class that includes sales leaders like the Honda CR-V, Ford Escape and Toyota RAV4. Compare all four here.

For 2017, the Volkswagen Tiguan's base S model gains Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, which mirror select smartphone apps on the dashboard touchscreen. Compare 2016 and 2017 models here. A new Tiguan is coming soon, though VW has released few details.

Exterior & Styling

If you've seen the 2012 Tiguan, you've seen the 2017 Tiguan. Aside from a minor face-lift in 2012, it hasn't seen an update since it debuted for the previous generations 2009 model year. Surprisingly, it doesn't look dated; it wears a version of Volkswagen's streamlined, stylish grille and... Read More