NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

$12,755 - $21,303  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 81 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Just Eh.

by croot from Austin, TX on Sun Dec 24 2017

This car is small and quick but is not very exciting. Features are plentiful and nice, and the car is attractive. Overall just an okay car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love It !

by Roger and Kelli K from DeKalb,IL on Tue Oct 29 2019

This car is the exact size we had been looking for. It rides and sits good. Very roomy and excellent on gas. We love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle

by Shelly1910 from on Thu Jun 15 2017

Fantastic Purchase VW Abbotsford is a great place to purchase a vehicle Peter was an excellent sales rep

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle!

by Karen from Tonawanda, NY on Sun Dec 22 2019

I really love this vehicle. I wasn't sure if I would like the 4 cyl turbo because I am used to a 6 cyl peppy VW engine. But it has great pick-up and drives great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just a very cool little car great on gas

by Russell from Springtown,TX on Sun Jan 21 2018

Excellent gas mileage,looks great, lots of interior room,and really fun to drive. With all the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not the best woo factor for me

by arapson from Boulder on Tue Jan 02 2018

The seating was not comforting to me, it did not have anything special that made me want the car. The warranty is great - 72 months. The stereo was lacking in terms of really good bass and treble. It cost around the same as a X1 BMW - I'd rather be in a beamer.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect fit for me!

by Sushisally from Yorktown, VA on Sat Aug 17 2019

This car was mine the moment I sat in it. The panoramic roof, comfortable seat, light beige interior and black floor mats sold me. The Wolfsburg edition has the pano roof that the non-Wolfsburg did not. I grew up with VWs as a child. It was like going home. I run premium gas and average about 23 mpg. Not great, but no complaints regarding performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect car

by MT from Glendale,NY on Mon Oct 08 2018

The overall quality of the car is fantastic. This is the best car that I have driven. It drives smoothly with no problems. I am so happy to have this car because I drive everyday and gas mileage was an issue on my old car. A full tank of gas lasts me Atleast 2 weeks and i think that’s great for how much i drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Grandma car hauler

by Grammy from utah on Mon Jan 08 2018

Never got anyone to help us out so we did not buy. Got a Rouge for less and just as nice. People should respond to inquiry's if they want you sell. Like the new look

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Francis Santa from delray FL on Wed Jun 07 2017

Alex Koppelman is far the best Sales person I have ever met. I owned and operated a GM Dealership in in the New York aria and wanted to buy a SUV for my wife. Alex made the experience enjoyable and fun. Gunther is a great place and service is their highest priority. Also Gabe in the business office took his time and was not pushy. I bought their leasing protection program because it was properly explained and its all good stuff. They sell the best and service the rest!!!! Its not about price for me, its about care and service, these people have it all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

The verdict:


Volkswagen has an uphill battle to win back buyers in the wake of its messy diesel-emissions scandal, and the Tiguan is dead weight in that battle: It's cramped, inefficient and irrelevant in a class of winners.

Versus the competition:


The Tiguan's peppy engine and pleasant ride are strengths, but many other compact SUVs offer those things plus better gas mileage, higher crash test scores and more space — for less money.

It competes in a crowded class that includes sales leaders like the Honda CR-V, Ford Escape and Toyota RAV4. Compare all four here.

For 2017, the Volkswagen Tiguan’s base S model gains Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, which mirror select smartphone apps on the dashboard touchscreen. Compare 2016 and 2017 models here. A new Tiguan is coming soon, though VW has released few details.

Exterior & Styling

If you’ve seen the 2012 Tiguan, you’ve seen the 2017 Tiguan. Aside from a minor face-lift in 2012, it hasn’t seen an update since it debuted for the previous generations 2009 model year. Surprisingly, it doesn’t look dated; it wears a version of Volkswagen’s streamlined... Read More