2006 Equinox

Consumer Reviews
2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Change Vehicle
3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

73 Reviews
2006 Chevrolet Equinox
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Made it to 240K with very few problems

by Mickey from Boise Idaho on January 7, 2016

Purchased my Equinox 2wd in 2007 with 20K on it. I am a ford person and went from an Explorer that I loved. I am now getting ready call it quits with 240K and sad to see it go. The motor and tranny are still going strong. Mine is just the 2wd it has been great on nasty roads. As you can guess I am a commuter and have put it to the test. Most repairs were basic maintenance, EXCEPT for the door that switches the thermostat from hot to cold. The part was only 25.00 but the labor was right around 1000.00. It is a known problem but Chevy didn't seem to want to recall it. To access the door you have to tear apart the dash which takes between 8 &10 hrs. Now the heater core is out, and once again the dash will have to be taken apart to fix it (book says 6 - 8 hrs. of labor) to access a 75.00 part. Will I buy another one? I?m not sure yet. If Chevy would have made parts easier to access, or at least recalled the door, I would in a heartbeat."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my equinox

by mom from New Jersey on January 15, 2008

I have two kids and my husband is tall at 6'5" and the four of us fit very well in the car. I bought this vehicle at the end of 2005 and have loved it. There have been no problems at all with it. We have taken it on numerous trips and it has done well with gas mileage. I also like the way the back seat can move up to 6" front or back for either more leg room or more cargo space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not good for stering or engine noise

by Parts pusher from small town, missouri on February 9, 2008

we purchased this car new, to repace a car with 150,000 miles. I do not know if this one will last. less that 12,000 miles had stering gear replace, now with 26000 need another one and new tires. Very hard to keep on highway with this stearing. The engin has cold morning knock using GM oil or Mobil I, and was told this is normal. GM said the nose will not cause damage and it is covered under warrenty for 3 yrs or 36,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best laid out interior folr Tall people

by Tall 1 from Cleveland, Oh on October 28, 2006

Never thought I would go domestic, however since my test drive I have changend my mind. I purchased the Equinox AWD six months ago and have been delighted everyday. The vehicle is extremly roomy and cormfortable. I am 6'5 and my partner has had major back surgey so leg room and comfort are our number one concerns. We are also pleased with Chevys interior lay out. This is the first vehicle to put all controls for locks and windows in the center so the front seat passenger can help the driver with backseat children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Had

by Equinox Landing from Lancaster, PA on November 29, 2010

Going from an 89 Cavalier Z24 to a 2001 Cavalier 4 door, the 2006 Chevy Equinox is by far an upgrade!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Heater core problems

by Madatyou from Westland Michigan aep2020 on May 25, 2017

Worst vehicle I ever owned due to all the heating and heater core problems I having since I purchased the vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by lovin boiz from conway, AR on July 11, 2007

the only thing we dont like very much about the equinox is the interior. the seats stain easily, the carpet shows dirt very easily and paint scratches off plastic easily. otherwise, we love our equinox. the ride is great, it handles well, and very very reliable. already have 65,000 miles on it and it still drives like new

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Very sorry I purchased.......

by Devong from Bethel, CT on August 17, 2006

I went from an Isuzu Trooper to a Chevy Equinox in hopes of better mileage. The car has had so many small problems its just been too annoying. I miss my bigger more dependable car! The inside is roomy and comfortable. But lots of little problems. spent WAY too much time back in the shop.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Mr. C from Lee's Summit, Mo on December 26, 2009

I purchased My Equinox used with 15,000mi on it. Had it for about 1 1/2 years and so far been totally satisfied. The ride is smooth and comfortable. Handles well except when turning into tight spaces (takes very wide turns). The best thing about this car is the room, has the feel of a mid size suv. So far it has been problem free. The two biggest draw backs are with the seats; stains very easily and when backing up it's very difficult to see over both driver and back seat head rest and I am 6' 3".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Tech Guy from on July 12, 2011

Really enjoyed my Equinox. Powerful engine but a fuel sipper. Great for a growing family without upgrading to a minivan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8