2006 Equinox

Consumer Reviews

2006 Chevrolet Equinox

$2,014 - $8,202  MSRP Range
2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

73 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Made it to 240K with very few problems

by Mickey from Boise Idaho on Thu Jan 07 2016

Purchased my Equinox 2wd in 2007 with 20K on it. I am a ford person and went from an Explorer that I loved. I am now getting ready call it quits with 240K and sad to see it go. The motor and tranny are still going strong. Mine is just the 2wd it has been great on nasty roads. As you can guess I am a commuter and have put it to the test. Most repairs were basic maintenance, EXCEPT for the door that switches the thermostat from hot to cold. The part was only 25.00 but the labor was right around 1000.00. It is a known problem but Chevy didn't seem to want to recall it. To access the door you have to tear apart the dash which takes between 8 &10 hrs. Now the heater core is out, and once again the dash will have to be taken apart to fix it (book says 6 - 8 hrs. of labor) to access a 75.00 part. Will I buy another one? I?m not sure yet. If Chevy would have made parts easier to access, or at least recalled the door, I would in a heartbeat."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my equinox

by mom from New Jersey on Tue Jan 15 2008

I have two kids and my husband is tall at 6'5" and the four of us fit very well in the car. I bought this vehicle at the end of 2005 and have loved it. There have been no problems at all with it. We have taken it on numerous trips and it has done well with gas mileage. I also like the way the back seat can move up to 6" front or back for either more leg room or more cargo space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not good for stering or engine noise

by Parts pusher from small town, missouri on Sat Feb 09 2008

we purchased this car new, to repace a car with 150,000 miles. I do not know if this one will last. less that 12,000 miles had stering gear replace, now with 26000 need another one and new tires. Very hard to keep on highway with this stearing. The engin has cold morning knock using GM oil or Mobil I, and was told this is normal. GM said the nose will not cause damage and it is covered under warrenty for 3 yrs or 36,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best laid out interior folr Tall people

by Tall 1 from Cleveland, Oh on Sat Oct 28 2006

Never thought I would go domestic, however since my test drive I have changend my mind. I purchased the Equinox AWD six months ago and have been delighted everyday. The vehicle is extremly roomy and cormfortable. I am 6'5 and my partner has had major back surgey so leg room and comfort are our number one concerns. We are also pleased with Chevys interior lay out. This is the first vehicle to put all controls for locks and windows in the center so the front seat passenger can help the driver with backseat children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Heater core problems

by Madatyou from Westland Michigan aep2020 on Thu May 25 2017

Worst vehicle I ever owned due to all the heating and heater core problems I having since I purchased the vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Had

by Equinox Landing from Lancaster, PA on Mon Nov 29 2010

Going from an 89 Cavalier Z24 to a 2001 Cavalier 4 door, the 2006 Chevy Equinox is by far an upgrade!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by lovin boiz from conway, AR on Wed Jul 11 2007

the only thing we dont like very much about the equinox is the interior. the seats stain easily, the carpet shows dirt very easily and paint scratches off plastic easily. otherwise, we love our equinox. the ride is great, it handles well, and very very reliable. already have 65,000 miles on it and it still drives like new

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

2006 Chev Equinox, body seal problems, Engine prob

by Dennyjohn from Federal Way on Sun Apr 15 2018

Overall design is good , interior well made although seat cables could better. 52,335 mi. on a 2006 Equinox. Had problems for last two years of Roif and door seals leaking caused by getting clogged all tbe time. Now have problems with transmission failing in drive, jerks in reverse. Now a costly trip to dealer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

so far, so good

by rusty from Verndale on Thu May 31 2018

I have only had my Equinox for 3 weeks, but love it so far. Uses more gas than my Impala, but has a lot more leg and head room for my husband who is 6' 3" tall. Very quiet and comfortable ride, just takes getting used to the shifting on the floor and the wipers. Different from what I am used too. The back door is nice too and opens high up. Good style and sure do love the auto lights and auto start and love the way it locks and unlocks, Never had that on any of my vehicles before. Would recommend this to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The most smooth sailing car I ever driven

by DEYONTE KING from Indianapolis,Indiana on Wed Jul 19 2017

This car is an amazing find for anyone it's safety features are among the best it's surround sound system sounds like you in a theater you barely hear any outside noise at all its a relaxing drive ... It's only downfall would be the oil change and starter problems come very often

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8