2008 Impala

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Impala

$2,026 - $8,834  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Impala

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

128 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Impala?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 128 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Most smooth drive car

by Ned. from Troy Michigan on Tue Nov 13 2018

It's good family car, with comfortable driving. Both Short or long trips, I would like to see the newest model and make comparison, more technology is the way to go now a days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by JAPorter1124 from Savannah GA on Tue Aug 06 2019

This car is very reliable and has been well kept, it’s averaging about 8k miles a year. Clean interior and exterior, car is only averaging about 8k miles a year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable

by markus from meriden ct on Fri Feb 09 2018

Very comfortable, easy to drive, good on fuel, good in snow. Change the oil every 3k and this car will last for many, many years

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort, Class and Reliability

by Sugarbabe from Racine WI on Tue Apr 23 2013

I have owned this car since 2008. I love it. I only have 43,000 miles, so I can't comment on how things hold up after that. The gas mileage is only 18 mpg city (so they say), so I have been looking to purchace a more fuel effeciant car. I have been looking for a year on and off and just cannot find anything that I like as much as my Impala. I have nothing but good things to say about my car. I just wanted to find something smaller. I compare everything to my Impala even though some cars aren't even comparable. (like apples and oranges). I have decided to hold on to it a little longer until I find another car that I just 'have' to have. Not looking good yet though as I am lovin' my Impala.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Impressed

by mbjb73052 from Lindsay, OK on Thu Aug 22 2013

I owned a 1994 Chevy Lumina Minivan for 8 years. Hated to buy another vehicle because I paid cash for my minivan. I didn't want to buy a car because lets face it, cars are not roomy. We were looking at SUVs but could not find one that was reliable or that didn't have a number of problems. I did my research and when it came to test driving, I really liked the way the 2008 Impala LT rode. I looked at all the information about this car. We didn't want a huge payment but where we live we didn't have much of a choice, car dealers have you by the throat. This car is very quiet, it runs smooth, for a used vehicle it rides like it is brand new. I like that there is plenty of leg room, the trunk is bigger than most storage room in any SUV that we looked at, it is pretty much exactly what we were looking for. I am very impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Impala works well as a first car for a teen

by A-O Mom of Four from Argenta, Illinois on Tue Jul 31 2018

On the used market this vehicle is very budget-friendly. The Impala has a nice design on the outside and fits the need for a basic sedan. The inside of the car is comfortable and includes all the needed features and is easy to operate. The trunk is HUGE! Engine components are marked with symbols to help those of us who are mechanically challenged.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than I imagined

by Employed college grqd from Wahpeton, ND on Mon Oct 01 2012

Important to me in a car is safety, fuel economy and comfort. I purchased my Impala after being involved in an accident and needed a car in a pinch. Knowing the great review of the Impala, I got one and have only grown happier with it after owning it for 18 months. Not only do I have the great performance, I also have the torque and power necessary to pull my fishing boat. I havent had a single problem since buying this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my Car

by Tippy from Arkansas on Fri Dec 07 2012

Okay, my car runs well... There has been one issue with the air conditioner and several people I know with this car younger and older have had this issue. It costs a couple hundred dollars to fix. The think the name of the issues was actuator. I purchased the car new is 2009 and now my car has a little less than 70,000 miles on it. I plan to purchase a new vehicle so I can have a vehicle with third row. I plan to keep my impala. It gets good gas mileage. (my car shows 21.9 mpg on the screen) Would recommend and would buy again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bravo Zulu

by Black Bolt from on Mon Jan 23 2012

i bought a 2008 impala Awesome car... last impala had 226,000 TWO HUNDRED TWENTY-SIX THOUSAND MILES ... CHEVEROLET ARE THE BEST!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Impala LT

by Golden Geezer from Chicago on Tue Jun 30 2015

I have a 2008 Impala LT that I bought used with 20,000 miles. It is now 6.5 years later with another 60,000 miles. The Impala has been a very good overall car. Fairly low maintenance and modest repairs. The best feature is the great gas mileage I get with the 3.5 V-6 engine. I drive with an eye toward fuel economy and avoid hitting the gas by timing lights and being very light on the accelerator. I regularly average 24 - 25 mpg in a mix of 75% city / 25 % highway driving. On a recent trip from Chicago to Detroit I got over 34 mpg with the cruise set at 70 mph. This is well above the EPA 18 / 28 ratings shown on the window sticker.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com