2008 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$5,828 - $19,868  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

102 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great truck for the $

by steelhead on the fly from on Wed Nov 19 2008

2008 2wd WT 4.3 engine 3.25 rear. Bought a basic truck and am very happy with purchase. Truck gets 18mpg in town and @ 20 mpg on hwy....I don't have a heavy foot. Put seat covers on, as i fish a lot and wanted to protect seats, but lint was a factor b4 the seat covers. Tranny shifts smooth once warm, but can delay on corners. Have Leer canopy which looks great, but increased wind noise and did 0 for mileage. Had to put mudflaps on as it kicks up a lot of dirt on side. Used Huskey custom flaps which fit perfectly but cost $70. Truck handles GREAT and is the best of 7 trucks I have owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Expect hub problems /rust over rear fenders

by Chevy man from Nh on Wed Jul 04 2018

You can expect to Always have front hub problems /wheel barrings I've replaced them 3 times in 2 years as well as rear fenders over tires rusting from little plastic caps covering xxxxx on the inside of fender . It's starts to rust from the inside between fender walls and eventually thru paint. really poor design flaw to put xxxxx in the fender wall for people that drive on salty roads in winter . I have no rust thru the whole truck anywhere else due to being down south most winters but 2 since I have owned it. I barley drove it for about 2 months in those winters and the fenders rusted thru . But I'm 218k miles and it runs great still . And rest of paint is in good shape . You can also expect to replace factory speakers. They just quit. Front Transfer case seal. As well as the usual front end stuff . Wiring harness for rear tail lights. They fill with water and short out so I suggest drilling a pinhole in tail lights to drain water

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

08 Silverado W/T Longbed

by Jim from Ohio on Sun Nov 09 2008

Bought the cheapest model around- no a/c - no options at all. What a great truck. Comfort- ride excellent. V6 is adequate- pulls about 15 mpg city...maybe 20mpg on freeway. Plenty of power. I traded an 05 W/T for this- and am happy. Cloth seats wipe clean easily, rubber mats clean easily (I am an HVAC mechanic) 2 complaints- head hits headliner upon entry (I'm 6'2") and door locks hard to reach once inside.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Knew What I Wanted

by Keeps a truck from West Monroe, LA on Tue Sep 20 2011

I finally decided to replace my 1997 GMC 4WD so I began by looking at Cars.com. There were not many GMC or Chevrolets available in the model I wanted. Cars.com helped me find exactly what I wanted (well, second choice on color) and I traveled 300 miles to purchase it. I've only had it a few months but love the truck! Only found one negative so far - the paint on the side trim on the doors hasn't held up well. It's not just my truck; I've looked at others and it appears to be a factory issue. Not enough of an issue to keep me from purchasing though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

TPS malfunction at 60,000 mi

by philby@ak from Wasilla AK on Thu Oct 31 2019

My throttle position sensor failed at around 60,000 miles. The dealer, jerks, insisted that I needed to purchase the entire throttle body assembly at almost $300.00. BS! Went to Amazon and got just the sensor for $18. Easy to replace, problem solved. No warranty left? NEVER go to the dealer. (As you all know.)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck poor gas mileage

by Steve-o from Pekin, Il on Thu Jan 17 2019

great looking truck, great performance, pull a trailer with it occasionally, reliable up to 130,000 miles now. only down fall is the MPG's. I average about 16 MPG with a 3 inch lift and no other Modifications, with my 4WD on i get about 13 MPG , and when i put on my fender flares and in 2wd now i am averaging 14-15 MPG..... not the best

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Truck.

by Johnny G from Santa Fe,TX on Thu Sep 01 2011

Owned this Truck since 20k Miles on it, Crew Cab V8 4.8L and I am very satisfied with this truck, No problems with it at all, All the features are sensibly placed. I do like to go fast so I am generally satisfied with the performance but could use a little more acceleration, its still a truck and for a truck this is perfect for anyone who knows how to park trucks. As for mileage it could be better on the highway even with cruse control.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice riding vehicle.

by Beach fishing dad from Windsor, ct on Sun Oct 10 2010

Nice power, added a cover and it is perfect for fishing off the beach. The truck is perfect for our family of 4. Nice comfort and room for the dog too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st. Day owning more to come

by DConant from Pembroke on Wed Feb 19 2020

I just took delivery so I will give a more detailed assessment of the new style Silverado when I get some time behind the wheel .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best Chevy truck i have ever owned, but.

by Chuck from Smithfiled, Ky. on Fri Sep 01 2017

This truck still needs improvements, such as wheel bearing assemblies that last past the 100,000 miles which can be bought. Improvements in the fuel management as i have had to replace the #4 and #8 spark plugs twice. I got the z71 so shocks have not been an issue as on my previous trucks. Stainless steel exhaust would be a nice improvement. Truck rides great and seats are some of the most comfortable i have sat in. Reliability overall is much improved over previous years that i have owned. I have 223, 000 miles on it and still runs and rides good and driven every day. My biggest complaint is the rust issue which has not improved much and they appear to start at 7 years of age on average and progress quickly from there. These should be composite or stainless in the rear quarters, rocker panels, and etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11