2008 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$7,030 - $20,642  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

88 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 88 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great truck for the $

by steelhead on the fly from on Wed Nov 19 2008

2008 2wd WT 4.3 engine 3.25 rear. Bought a basic truck and am very happy with purchase. Truck gets 18mpg in town and @ 20 mpg on hwy....I don't have a heavy foot. Put seat covers on, as i fish a lot and wanted to protect seats, but lint was a factor b4 the seat covers. Tranny shifts smooth once warm, but can delay on corners. Have Leer canopy which looks great, but increased wind noise and did 0 for mileage. Had to put mudflaps on as it kicks up a lot of dirt on side. Used Huskey custom flaps which fit perfectly but cost $70. Truck handles GREAT and is the best of 7 trucks I have owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

08 Silverado W/T Longbed

by Jim from Ohio on Sun Nov 09 2008

Bought the cheapest model around- no a/c - no options at all. What a great truck. Comfort- ride excellent. V6 is adequate- pulls about 15 mpg city...maybe 20mpg on freeway. Plenty of power. I traded an 05 W/T for this- and am happy. Cloth seats wipe clean easily, rubber mats clean easily (I am an HVAC mechanic) 2 complaints- head hits headliner upon entry (I'm 6'2") and door locks hard to reach once inside.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Silverado

by Tough Guy from Ohio on Mon Nov 07 2011

Great vehicle. I will keep this one until it dies. It has everything I want and need. Awesome power and durability. Not just a driveway truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Knew What I Wanted

by Keeps a truck from West Monroe, LA on Tue Sep 20 2011

I finally decided to replace my 1997 GMC 4WD so I began by looking at Cars.com. There were not many GMC or Chevrolets available in the model I wanted. Cars.com helped me find exactly what I wanted (well, second choice on color) and I traveled 300 miles to purchase it. I've only had it a few months but love the truck! Only found one negative so far - the paint on the side trim on the doors hasn't held up well. It's not just my truck; I've looked at others and it appears to be a factory issue. Not enough of an issue to keep me from purchasing though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Expect hub problems /rust over rear fenders

by Chevy man from Nh on Wed Jul 04 2018

You can expect to Always have front hub problems /wheel barrings I've replaced them 3 times in 2 years as well as rear fenders over tires rusting from little plastic caps covering xxxxx on the inside of fender . It's starts to rust from the inside between fender walls and eventually thru paint. really poor design flaw to put xxxxx in the fender wall for people that drive on salty roads in winter . I have no rust thru the whole truck anywhere else due to being down south most winters but 2 since I have owned it. I barley drove it for about 2 months in those winters and the fenders rusted thru . But I'm 218k miles and it runs great still . And rest of paint is in good shape . You can also expect to replace factory speakers. They just quit. Front Transfer case seal. As well as the usual front end stuff . Wiring harness for rear tail lights. They fill with water and short out so I suggest drilling a pinhole in tail lights to drain water

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Chevy Silverado - great trucks!

by Swede from Missoula, Montana on Mon Jan 23 2012

This truck drives and handles like a dream. Both the interior and exterior are beautifully designed. The options of the Z71 package are excellent - I love the heated black leather seats. Also, ONStar and XM radio being embedded in the vehicle is just great. The 4X4 option worked great in our last huge blizzard - I had to go down to 4-low and it operated seamlessly. Everything about it fits my wishes and wants. I love the side mirrors with the directional blinkers on them!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Truck.

by Johnny G from Santa Fe,TX on Thu Sep 01 2011

Owned this Truck since 20k Miles on it, Crew Cab V8 4.8L and I am very satisfied with this truck, No problems with it at all, All the features are sensibly placed. I do like to go fast so I am generally satisfied with the performance but could use a little more acceleration, its still a truck and for a truck this is perfect for anyone who knows how to park trucks. As for mileage it could be better on the highway even with cruse control.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice riding vehicle.

by Beach fishing dad from Windsor, ct on Sun Oct 10 2010

Nice power, added a cover and it is perfect for fishing off the beach. The truck is perfect for our family of 4. Nice comfort and room for the dog too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck!!!!

by Al from Inwood, WV on Sun May 11 2008

Was stuck between the new Tundra and the Silverado. Went with the Chevy when the 2000 dollar owner loyalty rebate came out. Not sorry at all that i did. What a great truck! I bought a 2 wheel drive extended cab with the 5.3. It doesn't have the power the 5.7 in the Tundra had, but it's got plenty.The active fuel management is flawless, and I'm getting between 18 and 19 mile per gallon in about a 25/75 mix of city highway. Just took a 500 mile trip and averaged almost 21. I have to agree with Lee about the seats and everything sticking to them. Kind of a pain to keep clean. And why still useing a 4 speed transmission? It works fine but I think a 5 or six speed would help fuel mileage even more. The onstar is a nice feature, and customer service there is great. Put this truck on your list and check it out before you buy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Truck that could be a little better

by Nomore76 from Bakersfield, CA on Thu Jun 24 2010

My 2008 Silverado rides well and is relatively quiet. The engine has good power and gets decent mileage for a full size truck, the cylinder deactivation certainly helps, as the truck consistantly gets mpg in the mid-twenties at a stady 55 mph. The A/C is powerful and cold. Two complaints: The doors rattle because of the extended cab design (no b-pilar), just a big open hole and the rear door latch is required to hold the front door closed. I'm sure the double cab would be more solid and quiet. The other thing is the center storage bin is just a big bin with no trays or compartments, not very useful. Overall, I like the truck and would consider another one, but probably the double cab version.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9