2016 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$4,693 - $55,845  MSRP Range
2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

168 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 168 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing power!!!

by Chevyluv from Denver, Co. on Sun Jun 10 2018

For having a 6.2 liter this truck does awsome mpg's must be the new transmissions they are putting in them . Very nice led lighting. This is a very comfortable truck and awsome interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable and Reliable

by Monsterman69 from Michigan on Mon Oct 23 2017

I own the 2016 Silverado, 1500, V6 engine averagjng about 19 MPG and about 23.3 MPG on HWY with no crazy lead pedal driving. Fits my needs from weekend home project pick-ups at hardware store to canoeing, biking, and RV. Payload says it can hold just over 1,900 LBS, but from my experience I've hauled 1,800 few times and would not hold anymore, but this is a V6. Wife enoys driving it, saying it's like driving an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

worst truck

by Slickmotorsports from Iowa City IA on Sun Apr 28 2019

The transmission is shuttering and slamming into gear it’s just over its 41,000 Chevy said they know that there is a problem they have tried to fix it at 980 dollar bill and it is still doing it. It doesn’t matter shifting up or slowing down it feels like it’s going to fall out. They won’t stand behind the transmission, even though it a known problem.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Rusting after 2-1/2 yrs!

by Justin from Rochester, NY on Tue Jul 23 2019

Was mostly pleased until the hood began to bubble after owning for less than 3 years. Upon visiting the dealership they recommended I call Chevrolet’s customer service since we had just passed the 36k mile mark. Long story short, Chevrolet will not cover the corrosion unless it rusts through within 5 years or 100k. I am very disappointed that they will not stand behind their product being so new. This was my first new vehicle purchase and probably my last. I’m also not one to post reviews but this is completely unacceptable in opinion. When purchasing a $40k+ vehicle, one would expect to not have to worry about rust for a long time... Only other negative is the EcoTec engine lags off the line.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast Truck!

by cmjh24 from Addison, IL on Mon Jul 31 2017

This truck rides nicely, has good pickup and lots of interior room. I have the Z71 model, and it is super pricey for not having leather or too many "upgraded" options. But the engine will switch between 4 and 8 cylinders depending on how you are driving. We drove from Chicago suburbs to Denver and averaged 25/mpg. Right now I drive mostly city and am getting 15.4 mpgs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

A money pit...

by Rambo from Tampa,FL on Mon Nov 04 2019

After spending money and money on the fixes, I will not recommend it. First the whole truck you can barely touch it, and it gets dented. After two years of owning it, paint and clear are coming off; this was a brand new truck when I got it. The AC condenser out, after $1800 to fix not cover under warranty, problem with Increased Brake Pedal Effort $$. The problem with the headlight hardness $$, the new issue is with the transmission $$$, and it is going to be in the shop for a solid week. I call Chevrolet open a complaint, and nothing got resolve I just waiting to fix the final problem and get ready of this garbage before it becomes worse.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Comfortable, Reliable, Best ride

by Oldslvr76 from California on Tue Apr 18 2017

I purchased My 2016 Silverado new. First new car owned. The ride is next to none. So comfortable. Interior is spacious and ergonomic. Plenty of power. Fits family easily

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Truck Extremely Impresses

by Fisherman from Chicago, IL on Thu Mar 10 2016

Overall the truck is great and it looks amazing. EZ lift tailgate is phenomenal, Chevy MyLink is an extremely simple interface. The drivability and ride quality are really good, as well as the transmission. The fact that the truck shuts down half the cylinders when on cruise is amazing, thats why you get the good gas mileage. Definitely consider this truck, worth it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Quiet but uncomfortable

by Soonerfan from Waco, Tx on Thu Mar 16 2017

Pros: -Cabin is extremely quiet -Nicely equipped with everything you could ever need. -Plenty of power for towing Cons: -Seats are extremely uncomfortable for long periods. Enough so, that if I could sell the truck I would.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought it

by Ben from Riceville , Tn on Sat Jul 27 2019

I am very pleased with my used Chevrolet Silverado. Very comfortable ride , a quite ride , very spacious . I would buy it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

The verdict: The 2016 Chevrolet Silverado exudes a good, old-fashioned trucklike attitude with its bold presence, but it isn’t the least bit outdated, with highly competitive capabilities and the latest multimedia technology.

Versus the competition: A 2016 Chevrolet Silverado with the optional 6.2-liter V-8 and eight-speed automatic transmission is a nearly unstoppable combination in overall performance against the most powerful half-tons the other guys have to offer.

With its latest update, the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado adds a few features on the inside and under the hood to keep the full-size, half-ton truck up to date in a constantly changing segment. For 2016, the Silverado’s styling is... Read More