2016 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

$4,693 - $55,845  MSRP Range
2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

168 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 168 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Hated it from day 1. Mediocore at best.

by Dbear44 from Harrisburg, Pa on Tue Oct 17 2017

Had a 2015 Silverado,pretty much liked it. Traded for a 2016, so many things to hate about this truck. Voice recognition's favorite response was "pardon?". For some reason this one couldn't understand things that the previous vehicle had no problem with. Window switches had 2 settings, up or down. There seemed to a no in between. Gas mileage sucked. Driver's seat back wore out after 4,000 miles, seat base foam also broke down. Had to have both replaced. Cheap cheap Goodyear Wrangler tires were horrible on wet pavement and useless in snow and ice. Passenger side mirror is oddly sized/shaped, making it difficult to judge distance when backing up. I could go on but I have better things to do.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Hated this truck from day one...

by Dbear44 from Harrisburg, PA on Wed Sep 27 2017

So much about this truck to hate, and it surprised me because I also had a 2015. Hated the cheap paint, hated the stupid window switches, hated the cheap fabric and padding on the seats. Finally got rid of with after 19 months, with only 8,600 miles on it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

I love Chevy but never again

by Chevyshavetrannyprobs from Mobile on Wed Jul 31 2019

I am a 90% disabled veteran. I use my truck for work. My transmission failed at 62k. Funny how that was right after the 60k warranty change... Chevy only did a partial pay. Stuck me with the bill. It is failing again now at 80k. They are refusing to trade my vehicle or repair. I need this truck. They are not veteran friendly. In fact, they have put me in a bind. Totally disappointed and deceived. I will never ever buy a Chevy that was built after 2000 ever again. Bunch of crooks! Did I mention they treat vets horribly. Garbage. Semper fi.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mergery sebal

by poobear from monroe,mi on Sat Jan 26 2019

this car met my needs. very dependable. it lasted 7 years for me. it was very good on gas per mile. lots of room in

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Spy from Phoenix on Sun Oct 30 2016

Bought crew cab LT new and am amazed at the gas mileage I get on trips with the large V8. I average 23 to 24 mpg on the road. I can travel over 500 miles on a tank full of gas. And the very is very comfortable. The wife likes the ride of my truck better than she does in her new car.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Service Concern

by Concerned from on Wed Apr 05 2017

Purchased, operated great for four months, than safety issue occurred where vehicle became unreliable. Steering and power issues unresolved after multiple attempts by GM. Believe likely pertains to this truck, but could be larger safety concern for other owners.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've owned

by Matt from Sweetwater tx on Fri May 05 2017

Great truck, for he money you pay I would expect more features and options. I mean 50k for a truck and no leather or turn signals in the mirror. I will say it is the smoothest truck I've ever owned, after my 2014 Silverado blew an engine and had problems I was worried about the 2016 but at 54000 miles and the ac compressor failure at 20000 I'm happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Waste of money

by Jaybris from Ontario ca on Tue Jun 23 2020

Bought it new from dealer , had many problems with it, at 60,000 miles the transmission gave out! Just a waste of money ! Not worth buying!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very smooth running truck,comfortable and reliable

by tfro49 from Madison, WI on Wed Jul 08 2020

This truck runs great. Everything works the way it should. The only reason I'm trying to sell is because I personally need a crew cab truck for extra cab space. This truck has new tires. A Corsa Performance exhaust muffler was installed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Very unreliable.

by proffittmarke from Springfield, MO on Sun Aug 09 2020

Very unreliable.I owned this vehicle for two months. After four engine issues I decided to trade it. After I had it three days, the windshield wiper came apart. They tried to get out of giving me a new one because windshield wipers aren’t covered. In 35 miles?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

The verdict: The 2016 Chevrolet Silverado exudes a good, old-fashioned trucklike attitude with its bold presence, but it isn’t the least bit outdated, with highly competitive capabilities and the latest multimedia technology.

Versus the competition: A 2016 Chevrolet Silverado with the optional 6.2-liter V-8 and eight-speed automatic transmission is a nearly unstoppable combination in overall performance against the most powerful half-tons the other guys have to offer.

With its latest update, the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado adds a few features on the inside and under the hood to keep the full-size, half-ton truck up to date in a constantly changing segment. For 2016, the Silverado’s styling is... Read More