2018 EcoSport

Consumer Reviews

2018 Ford EcoSport

$13,215 - $20,795  MSRP Range
2018 Ford EcoSport

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

185 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Ford EcoSport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 185 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Questionable value for money

by cuemark8 from Imler, Pennsylvania on Mon Mar 25 2019

Slow with the 1.0L engine but this vehicle is sold world wide. In the US, I guess we just expect more power. Worldwide the Ecosport is sold most commonly with the 1.0L EcoBoost. Often, it is the desired engine choice to have. Most of the world raves for the 1.0L FWD combination. It's ride is better than most reviews give. Go for the Titanium trim. Get the leather seats, NAV, heated seats, premium sound system. I drive high mileage. I wanted these features. Yes it's limited on safety options that getting to be standard or are least common place options. The SES sportier models has a stiffer ride. The Titanium has softer suspension smoothing some rough roads. Potholes still rattle through though. The SYNC 3 is user friendly and by far best in class. Honda and Toyota could only dream of such a good system. I don't that credit goes to Ford, I'd say credit goes to Microsoft for designing the system. Its not big, rear seat is tight. This vehicle isn't for hauling for adults. It's for a high mileage single commuter and cruising around with a spouse or significant other. Maybe for a budding family with kids still in car seats maybe it works for rear comfort. In my case also, maybe a great vehicle for a downsizing set of empty nesters. Seats are comfortable, higher trim offer lumbar support and 3 levels of heating and heated steering wheel. The vehicle has more cargo area than the Ford Fiesta or Ford Focus hatchbacks. It does decent hauling tools or groceries, or some camping items. Rear door is a swing gate. Ok with me. Honda and Toyota had it on older previous model vehicles. Ford does it, seems to be crime. I live in a rural area. I honestly can't recall last time I even parallel parked a vehicle curb side. Let alone, loaded materials into while doing so. Only negative I see is if raining, a normal rear door hinged from top provides a roof over head from rain while loading or unloading items. I drive high mileage, xxxx notice a theme. The Ecosport has been on sale in current form since 2012 overseas. It's proven. Transmission is no longer the dual-clutch disaster that plagued the Fiesta and Focus. Ford abandoned that. It's a normal 6speed auto like found on the Escape. The 1.0L engine has been in production since 2012 first appearing in 2013 model vehicles. Some issues did occur. Ford engineers have revamped a few things and hoses associated with those failures. World-wide nearly a million of these 1.0L 3 cylinder engines have been produced. Current annual production is about 200,000 units worldwide. It's proven, multi, international engine of the year awards. The 2.0L in the AWD models is borrowed from the Focus. It's practically unchanged in over a decade and somewhat old school not even offering any high tech stuff like direct injection or turbo charging. Engine noise is noticeable. Cabin noise is too. Both are within normal expectations for it's class. Even with the sluggish 1.0L engine the vehicle has usable towing capability. The top 2 rated SUV's in this class offer zero towing capability, Hyundai Kona and Honda HRV. I like Ford's medium light stone interior. It's kinda a greyish/ beige color. Something other than coal bin black, or a drab grey color. Big reason why I bought and bought other Ford vehicles. I just hate black interiors. In the praised Honda HRV you can get grey interior instead of black. It's limited in availability and only available in 3 exterior color choices. I personally went with the shadow black exterior paired with the contrasting beige interior. Then there is the AWD option. Key word, option. I live in Pennsylvania where 4wd seems to rule. I specifically went out of my way to track down a FWD Titanium trim version of the Ecosport. I drive high mileage. I wanted the FWD that yields marginal better fuel mileage. FWD, with added taxes, save upfront about $1600 over the AWD. Long term, less fuel to buy, less parts for long term maintenance. I sometimes drive enough miles I can wear a set of tires out in a year. It's just makes more sense to winterize a vehicle and purchase a set of dedicated winter tires when that time comes. Can only use one set of tires at a time. I like the fact that I can purchase a top trim Titanium Ecosport and not be forced to pay for AWD and not forced to feed it more fuel week to week hauling an AWD system around. In the deep South good look finding many small SUV's at all in AWD. Not everyone feels they need AWD.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My New Favorite Car

by Stacie Y. from La Vergne, TN on Tue Aug 28 2018

This car is my new baby and I love it. The look, the style, the handling, the performance! It's perfect for me. I have the Titanium package so it's fully loaded. A great car for a great value!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of All Car Workds

by Lizzie C from West Palm Beach, Fl on Sun May 20 2018

The Ecosport is a dream to drive. Plenty of cabin space with an elevated view of the road. Love the large phone pad. Unbelievable gas economy. Car, truck and SUV rolled into one heck of a vehicle. Ford nailed it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Ecosport

by Sherrie from Winchester, Tn. on Tue Oct 09 2018

Love this car so far. Not a lot of room in the trunk but I don't need a lot. I do worry a little that there is no spare tire. Did not know this till I saw a YouTube video. Dealer did not mention. Saw a lot of reviews that weren't great but a lot of them dealt with the room in the car also how fast it would go. I did get the bigger motor and it seems fine to me. I recently decided I'd like to have an SUV but not a large vehicle. This one is perfect. Love the fact that you can raise the seats as It's a problem to get out of a low car. Traded in a Fusion, which I also loved but after owning three, decided I wanted something different.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty car

by Julie J from Chicopee, MA on Sat May 05 2018

Excellent vehicle. Love all the features. Nice sized SUV. Would definitely recommend this vehicle to someone looking for a smaller SUV. Check out Balise Ford of Wilbraham for your next purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So happy with my purchase!!

by crcj118 from Ridley Park, P.A. on Mon Jun 25 2018

The Ford EcoSport definitely meets all of my needs as a college students with 3 jobs. I am constantly on the move whether it’s driving to one of my jobs, school, extracurricular activities, the shore, etc. The EcoSport has plenty of room for me to pack and bring what I need for my car rides, and even has room for several passengers to come along with me. I am so happy with my purchase and absolutely love my Ford EcoSport!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A small yet comfortable SUV

by Applecrumb from Mt Pleasant Mills, Pa on Thu Jul 19 2018

I haven't had it very long, I like the gas mileage and room in the front, I was able to get a recliner in the back with the seats laying down. I am looking forward to see what this vehicle does in the winter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle features

by Foxy5170 from Oconomowoc. WI on Sat Nov 17 2018

Considering my husband and I didn't have the need for a large SUV to haul our camper any longer due to purchasing an F150 pickup, we still wanted the reliability of an AWD vehicle for our second car since we had a sportier car that needed new tires and was never going to be very safe in winter weather. I accidentally stumbled upon the Ford EcoSport Titanium when I was searching our local Ford dealer's website. It seemed to have every feature we were looking for and after driving it I was convinced. I was a bit let down to find out that it didn't have auto start but it only got better after we found out that by downloading the Ford app, we can start "Foxy" (the nickname I gave her) directly from our phones no matter where we are! I have yet to get into a cold car once since the weather turned cold!! The only thing I wish it had was a CD player. Yes, I'm old school and don't have music loaded on my phone and still listen to CD's. Another option that would be beneficial is having the right armrest/storage a little higher as it's a bit low to rest your arm comfortably. Otherwise, as a mom with grown children that used to have to have larger vehicles to transport multiple children, I LOVE this smaller option! I loved my Dodge Dart but I love my new Ecosport even more!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned!

by Dinnzelda from Detroit Lakes, MN on Wed Apr 03 2019

I absolutely love it! The drive is smooth, the 4WD handles great on icy roads, and it works well for me and my small family. The backseat seems small but we sat 3 grown men around 6 feet in the back with no complaints. They were quite surprised. The interior is great and the back support is much better than my Ford Focus was. The only complaints that I have are that the acceleration is sometimes a little pokey and there is no spare tire unless you buy one for the hatch (not a fan of the look). There is still a fix-a-flat kit in the back. With the two very minor drawbacks, I would still give the EcoSport a 5-star review. I did not buy it for sport and acceleration. I bought it for what I needed; 4WD and transporting my small family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Needs some help

by RDH from Indianapolis on Sun Feb 10 2019

Problem with squeaky brake pedal, replaced brake booster still squeaky any solutions? Overall great handling , 2 liter engine has good power, titanium model so nicely equipped. Navigation works great nice screen readout.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19

Our Take on the 2018 Ford EcoSport

The verdict:

At long last, the new EcoSport gives U.S. shoppers a subcompact Ford SUV, but its many drawbacks leave us questioning whether it was worth the wait.

 

Versus the competition:

The EcoSport feels like a bona fide SUV, not a jacked-up hatchback like some of its rivals, and Ford offers a first-rate multimedia system to boot. But as drivability and utility annoyances add up, its appeal is fleeting.

 

Its recent stateside debut notwithstanding, the Ford EcoSport is no spring chicken. The 2018 model represents a substantial update but not a full redesign of the nameplate’s second generation, sold internationally since mid-2012. The first generation dates back to 2003, and Ford calls it “echo sport” — a pronunciation I suspect most U.S. shoppers will abandon in favor of “eeko sport,” which keeps with the more-recent “eeko-boost” marketing of Ford’s turbocharged gas engines (EcoBoost). That’s all but assured on the front-wheel-drive EcoSport, which has an EcoBoost three-cylinder engine. “Echo” stands no chance.

Optional all-wheel drive... Read More