NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Escape

Consumer Reviews

$12,811 - $23,639  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

600 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 600 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Picky car buyer from Montgomery, Al on Mon May 23 2016

Actually I bought a used Escape (2013) It is a SEL and I an very pleased with it. If I had wanted to spend more money I would have bought a brand new one, But I found this Certified car that looks brand new, had only 22,000 miles on it so bought it instead. In time I will probably buy a new one as I am so happy with this one. I tried many, many cars and this one was the most comfortable one I drove. Love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value for dollar

by dmjross from Troy on Fri Oct 27 2017

Can definitely recommend this car. I got the larger engine (2.0L Ecoboost) and it never fails to deliver power on acceleration or quick passing on the freeway. Handling is responsive without making the car feel wobbly. The fit and finish of the interior is good, and there are plenty of conveniences in the cabin. SYNC 3 is intuitive, and the gauge cluster, while not the most elegant, is actually wonderfully simple. Sitting high on the road is nice, and you feel like king of the road with all the glass around you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Biggest disappointment in a car ever.

by Disappointed Ford Owner from Buckhannon,WV on Fri May 31 2019

I purchased my 2017 Escape 1.5 L. Titanium in Oct 2016. I was happy with it for the first few months. Then the problems started. The door handles would stick up keeping the door from staying shut. You had to put the door handles down yourself. The dealership had to order parts and fixed that problem. Next the Check Engine light came on and would not go off. A sensor was bad and had to be replaced. Now it is 5/2019 with 52,000 miles and it has had 2 episodes where I was stopped and had to accelerate fast and it left a cloud of blue smoke. On another occasion, my son was driving it and had to accelerate fast and the Check Engine light started blinking and it bogged down then finally started to accelerate and the light went off. Took it to the dealership today and they cannot find out what is wrong with it. Also, I drive about 25,000 miles a year and now with the current mileage, the car is not quite worth half of the $32,500 I paid for it. Unless something major happens to change my mind, I will NEVER own another FORD vehicle. Did not expect such a quick decline in value after only 2 years. Would recommend you read reviews and buy some other vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV For The $$

by rockinroller from Motown on Mon Oct 08 2018

Shopped the mid size SUV market (Escape, Cherokee, etc) after turning in a 2016 Cherokee Limited on a 24 mo lease. Actually thought about buying the newer (2019) redesigned front end Cherokee but I couldn't get the dealers below $30,000 delivered. I visited a local Ford dealership and ended up driving away in a leftover brand new 2017 Escape Titanium AWD, loaded, for $25K, that sticker'd for $36,000. Having had the two SUVs to compare, I'd say there's pluses (and minuses) in each: The Escape wins in terms of city/stop light performance as the 2.0 Ecoboost really has a lot of low end torque, although the Jeep's 3.2 V6 was no slouch. Visibility is also a bit better in the Escape. Personally, I loved the 9spd AT in the Jeep despite the critics, and appreciated the downshifting process using the lever, which the Ford does not provide. Gas mileage was better in the Jeep, ironically (about 22mpg city compared to around 20 in the Ford). The Ford's power rear tailgate is also very handy, as is the foot sensor to open (when your arms are full). I liked the fact the Escape offers 19" wheels/tires (the Jeep's largest are 18's). Finally, the Escape just seems to be built "better" than the Cherokee--fit and finish, heavier doors, etc. Frankly, if the Cherokee's comparable trim (Limited) came close in price to the Titanium I would have had a tougher decision to make.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic SUV for Family and Fun

by Traveler on Tue Jul 24 2018

This 2017 Ford Escape has plenty of leg room for those of us who are tall and large people. Plus, it has a large space in back for beach gear & luggage. The back seats lay down to make even more room for larger items. Most importantly, this 2017 Ford Escape has a Government 5-star Safety Ratings.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional Escape

by Lynne from Mi on Mon Mar 06 2017

We love this car for traveling and transporting items from store. We love the heated seats this winter

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable suv

by Brenda from Easley on Mon May 20 2019

Plenty of leg room, lots of bells and whistles. Plenty of pep for a 4 cylinder. Storage spaces good, spare tire good size, good sound system. I commute 80 miles round trip daily and the savings in gas will come close covering my car payment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy Drivers

by NeverADullMoment from Maryville, TN on Sun Aug 26 2018

This car is so roomy! My husband is a tall man with bad knees and it's so easy for him to get in and out of and very comfortable. We looked at many vehicles before choosing this one and truly believe we got the best deal in town!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Met all expectations so far.

by rjl32 from North Babylon on Mon Nov 26 2018

Replaced previous sedan with Escape for easier entering and exiting of vehicle. Also wanted larger carrying capacity with easier access than a trunk. Front wheel drive provides excellent traction in rain and snow without need for four wheel drive in the normal driving I do - no off road or mountainous driving. The 245 horsepower 4 cylinder engine gives good gas mileage while providing more than adequate power for passing on highways with 70+ mph speed limits. Averaged 23mpg while commuting (85 miles per day) - down to 17mpg with current driving mix now that I am retired. Current mileage is 35,000 @ 24 months.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Greate handling and comfort for driver.

by Lu from ElCajon CA on Sat Apr 08 2017

Handles very well and has responsive acceleration from the turbo feature. Moderate to above average comfort for the driver seat however the rear seat passenger seating is not very comfortable for extended trips that exceed an hour

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 60

Our Take on the 2017 Ford Escape

The verdict: The updated 2017 Ford Escape’s improvements are minor — if you didn’t have the Escape on your consideration list, these won’t put it there — but this compact crossover SUV is easier to live with daily.

Versus the competition: A sophisticated, punchy driving experience and impressive multimedia suite continue to define the Escape for 2017, as does its lackluster fuel economy and less-than-perfect crashworthiness ratings.

The 2017 Ford Escape features a number of small improvements that improve everyday usability despite the update not being a complete redesign. Cabin improvements in storage and quietness boost livability, while Ford’s optional... Read More