2017 Escape

Consumer Reviews

$41 - $35,073  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

698 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 698 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Met all expectations so far.

by rjl32 from North Babylon on Mon Nov 26 2018

Replaced previous sedan with Escape for easier entering and exiting of vehicle. Also wanted larger carrying capacity with easier access than a trunk. Front wheel drive provides excellent traction in rain and snow without need for four wheel drive in the normal driving I do - no off road or mountainous driving. The 245 horsepower 4 cylinder engine gives good gas mileage while providing more than adequate power for passing on highways with 70+ mph speed limits. Averaged 23mpg while commuting (85 miles per day) - down to 17mpg with current driving mix now that I am retired. Current mileage is 35,000 @ 24 months.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable suv

by Brenda from Easley on Mon May 20 2019

Plenty of leg room, lots of bells and whistles. Plenty of pep for a 4 cylinder. Storage spaces good, spare tire good size, good sound system. I commute 80 miles round trip daily and the savings in gas will come close covering my car payment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional Escape

by Lynne from Mi on Mon Mar 06 2017

We love this car for traveling and transporting items from store. We love the heated seats this winter

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy Drivers

by NeverADullMoment from Maryville, TN on Sun Aug 26 2018

This car is so roomy! My husband is a tall man with bad knees and it's so easy for him to get in and out of and very comfortable. We looked at many vehicles before choosing this one and truly believe we got the best deal in town!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this vehicle

by Suzy's Toy from Sebastian Florida on Wed May 24 2017

I have only had this vehicle for four weeks, but in that time it has exceeded my expectations. It is very attractive on both the outside and inside and very comfortable. My vehicle is equipped with Sync. It makes using my cell phone to both listen to Pandora and make and receive phone calls very easy. I do not have to take my eyes off of the road to use the device. All I have to do is tell it to call someone on my Contact list and the Sync device does the rest. I recently traveled on a long distant trip of 810 miles each way and the vehicle handled great. During the trip, I faced some heavy downpours and high winds. I was easily able to negotiate through the adverse weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by Misty D from Newark Ohio on Sun Aug 18 2019

Haven’t had the vehicle long but so far my family and I are very satisfied with our purchase. It runs great, the stereo system is absolutely wonderful. It has great gas mileage and good amount of trunk space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Greate handling and comfort for driver.

by Lu from ElCajon CA on Sat Apr 08 2017

Handles very well and has responsive acceleration from the turbo feature. Moderate to above average comfort for the driver seat however the rear seat passenger seating is not very comfortable for extended trips that exceed an hour

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another Ford winner!

by GK930 from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Dec 03 2018

The Escape SE is a fantastic vehicle! The 2.0L Turbo engine is zippy and smooth and the styling is excellent for this SUV! 4WD rounds out the perfect car for an all-season climate. And Ruby Red looks fantastic!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle but not fuel efficient

by AdamKlassen from Edmonton on Mon Jan 29 2018

Let me first say that i love this vehicle. It has power and comfort and with the 4X4 for our winters it is excellent. The only problem is that there is no fuel efficiency for city driving and its not a V8. But it is a SUV so that is okay i just thought with the fuel eco boost it would be better. I also wish that there was a button you could use for the eco drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my little escape

by lv2drive from barrie,ON on Tue Mar 28 2017

simple - easy to find everything - lots of room - great for the dogs and going camping - i can throw the canoe ontop with my thule canoe rack and zoom off without any issue

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 70

Our Take on the 2017 Ford Escape

The verdict: The updated 2017 Ford Escape’s improvements are minor — if you didn’t have the Escape on your consideration list, these won’t put it there — but this compact crossover SUV is easier to live with daily.

Versus the competition: A sophisticated, punchy driving experience and impressive multimedia suite continue to define the Escape for 2017, as does its lackluster fuel economy and less-than-perfect crashworthiness ratings.

The 2017 Ford Escape features a number of small improvements that improve everyday usability despite the update not being a complete redesign. Cabin improvements in storage and quietness boost livability, while Ford’s optional Sync 3 multimedia system is more feature-packed... Read More