1999 Accord

Consumer Reviews

1999 Honda Accord

$840 - $5,520  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

57 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1999 Honda Accord?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Still going....

by KJA from North Shore, MA on Fri Nov 16 2007

I bought my '99 in 2001 off a lease with 30K. Since then I've put 200,000 miles on it and it has never let me down. I live in New England and the front-wheel drive with the manual transmission gets me through anything. My only complaint is that the car is sluggish while passing on the highway.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a reliable and cost effect

by Lara from Hayward on Mon Jun 13 2011

Honda is a very reliable car with low cost to maintenance. Parts are not too expensive. Very roomy and great for family

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car to be 13 years old

by Wanted to get a Honda CR-V from Atlanta, GA on Mon Jan 16 2012

I just bought a 1999 Honda Accord EX, just thinking to keep it for a short time until I can get something newer. But it has been a very good buy so far. Granted, the previous owner took very good care of it. But I have had to make very few repairs and the gas mileage is pretty good, I can drive 150 miles from Atlanta, GA to my hometown and use only about a quarter of a tank. I would still like to have a hatchback or something that will hold large loads(I had a Toyota Matrix previously, it was one expensive fix after another), but I am much happier with this car than I expected! It's a keeper.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Kaydee from winchester, va on Tue Feb 02 2010

Bought my car used with 78k miles on it. Have had it now for almost 4 years. Only 1 $90.00 repair which was the main relay and I havent had any other problems!! Love this car!! Very reliable and smooth!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great, dependable car

by Simon A. from Holt, MI on Thu Apr 16 2009

At 193,000 miles this car has costed me nothing in repair yet. Just regular oil changes, brakes and tires. I highly recommend this car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by L.C. from Tennessee on Tue Feb 12 2008

I have 313, 000+ miles on my Accord and still am running the original clutch, muffler and tailpipe. I bought it with 26,000 miles on it. The only non-routine maintenance item replaced was the right rear wheel bearing. Gas mileage is fabulous with the 5 speed. It still uses almost no oil and has great compression. I am expecting to get at least 500,000 miles before a rebuild.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car Ever

by Honda Lover from Wisconsin on Sun Sep 12 2010

This car drives fabulously in all weather conditions. It is reliable and comfortable. Fits 5 people comfortably.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car, extremely reliable, hasn't failed

by Tune up kid from Miami, Fl on Wed Dec 26 2007

*underestimated horspower for 4 cylinder ULEV *Many options on tuning *Sturdy and very reliable engine *Don't like the fact there is not much torque present within the 4 cylinder *Weak Axles on 4 cylinder version so can't really put big rims *Handling seems a little stiff *Smooth and quiet accelaration *Luxury exterior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and low cost of ownership.

by solo from Camarillo, CA on Sun May 27 2018

This car is in great shape for a 1999 car. It is very clean inside and out. It has the Honda quality and then some. If you own this car, you'll only need to spend money on gas. I've owned it for 15 years and I've never had any troubles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I've owned

by hondafan from Kennesaw, GA on Thu Sep 24 2009

Reliability is number one for me, and this car has not let me down. Got to 108000 miles before my 1st repair. Everything before that was maintenance and normal wear/tear. My car is a 4 cylinder, mainly used for commuting to work. Great for gas milage, and very good handling. Engine performance is lacking, but its plenty good for backroads driving. Highly recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 1999 Honda Accord

The 1999 Honda Accord EX four-door has styling as bland as the Sonata's, but it's more than a step up mechanically. The 2.3-liter, 150-h.p. 4-cylinder is very lively, the 5-speed manual very smooth, the 25 m.p.g. city/31 m.p.g. highway mileage rating very attractive.

One major gripe: the seat bottom stops less than halfway down the thigh, which may be the design of choice for a bar stool, but not for a car seat that needs to provide long-distance comfort.

Too bad the seat was so skimpy, because ride and handling is most pleasant. The suspension system smooths road abrasions Sonata lets filter through.

Decent price: $20,900 that requires only a $415 freight charge to motor away with such... Read More