Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2010 Accent

Consumer Reviews

2010 Hyundai Accent

$1,773 - $8,365  MSRP Range
2010 Hyundai Accent

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

43 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Hyundai Accent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased the new 2010 accent gs

by MeganRenee from loveland on Thu Oct 15 2009

I got the 2010 accent gs 5 speed with popular equipment package a couple days ago and am beyond impressed with this vehicle! I average 35 mpg in it, it has everything and more that I need. Its comfortable and handles great even quickly around corners and even bumps. It is extremely fun to drive and is suprisingly large on the inside. The 10 year hundred thousand mile warranty was amazing as well as a 1500 dollar rebate just to name one of them. I highly reccomend this vehicle I always said I'd never drive anything but a honda or toyota but this car definately beat that!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun to drive car, just not for everyone...

by Mature Sports Compact Car Driver from on Mon Oct 03 2011

The 2010 Hyundai Accent SE is very reliable having owned it for the first full year now. Its very economical too if you are trying to drive around town or cruising through the country. One major down point is that people view you as not having power when you are on the road, either passing you or riding too close to your bumper. The thing is, this car has enough power from its engine to keep up and even out run most things from a take off or even at normal highway speeds. The automatic I drive is mostly limited when it shifts into overdrive at 40 mph and don't pick up steam again until about 46 mph, that's about 2 seconds of slow laggy acceleration. The only other time you will notice a down fall in acceleration is when the car is approaching 70+mph. You can merge on to the interstate somewhat easily, but don't believe you can out run anyone with this car if the speeds are over 50 mph easily. Before I got my SE Automatic, I test drove a manual and the gears aren't that easily to go through, but after a year of driving a manual, I'm sure you could easily and quickly go through them without much of a challenge. The suspension is stiff on the SE, with not much body roll. Turn in is pretty quick though not dangerously quick. The car does have some body lean, but not much in the SE trim. It is enough to know when you turned too fast. And the SE has a ground clearance of about 6.7 inches so, you can in a way think of this car as a small SUV in that you can go over many things like speed bumps without the car bottoming out, and park with those concrete slabs not scratching the bumper... Had issues with this with my previous car. This car though isn't really made for tuners or those that want to customize or trick out their rides too heavily. It is a good reliable ride for those that want an economical car without going hybrid or electric car and yet at the same time, offers those that want to get away from the gas guzzler SUVs a choice that gives them the same amount of cargo room. I'd say this car is more for mature older drivers than for the younger crowd, which is evident in the refined exterior styling that isn't really aggressive looking unlike most cars in this segment try to be. One thing I'd note about this car, the "Eco indicator" light doesn't really help it any. As long as you drive sensibly, this car will get very good mileage. I had the light on and got around 30mpg with keeping the car in the "Eco" light on for acceleration and normal cruising, this made the car feel very laggy and like it lacked power. I turned it off and drove like a normal person would drive a car, and the acceleration felt better and gas mileage improved by a little bit for me to 32 mpg. I do a lot of stop and go city driving. I like the XM Satelite radio it comes with, though I never actually listen to the satelite radio instead opting to us my MP3 player and its USB hookup. This car has a great audio system, although it at times doesn't seem to have a good base thump if you like that type of music. You have to treat the car as if you are using full featured speakers with its 6 speakers and turn up the base and turn down the tremble and then turn the volume up a bit louder than I would like personally. This gives a good base to your music that would otherwise sound kind of flat. The sunroof was the main reason I chose the SE other than I like to drive for fun and the SE with the sunroof and windows lowered offers a very good experience driving on the back roads in the country. The only thing is the automatic lacks the ability to sport shift it, so if you want true fun to drive you would want to get the manual. Other than this, the car is a very good, fun to drive car...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great commuter car!

by austex from austin, tx on Fri Feb 04 2011

I bought my Accent GLS manual transmission new about a month ago, and I love it! I got a great deal on it with a year end clearance sale. I seem to average 31mpg city with it, my driving style seems to excede the sticker mpg rating, and on a long hwy trip it returned 37mpg. It wasn't easy downsizing from a v6 sedan to this car, but I don't regret it as my monthly fuel expenses were cut by 1/3! If you can drive one, get the manual trans, as the automatic makes this car slow. My only complaints are the lack of thigh support (raising the cushion height helps with that), and clutch/shifter feel (this is a far cry from a smooth Honda clutch), but I can live with those downfalls. It rides softer than many other small cars, so it's not too much of a penalty box. The back seat has more room than many cars this size, and can fit 2 modest sized adults good without moving front seats very far forward. I had the dealership add cruise control, as they didn't have any left with that option pkg. Like most entry cars, engine/road/wind noise gets loud above 70mph, but the 6 speaker xm radio drowns it out, it's tolerable on long hwy trips as well, although it's best for commuter duty. I would recomend this car as a city/commuter car for anyone, ease of entry/exit, good outward visibility, easy to use and read controls/displays, and easy parking/handling would also make it a good inexpensive car for elderly drivers.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very safe car!!

by callalily89 from on Mon Aug 06 2012

Okay, this car is very safe! Today I got hit on the right side by a tractor trailer truck! My 6 month old son was in the back. This car is amazing! On the right side the air bags came down which protected us from a lot of the glass(my windows on the right side shattered). My son only had a scratch on his leg and I had no marks on me! The witnesses said the way my car was sliding they thought it would flip! Thankfully, I was going the speed limit and the truck(45 mph). Even still, when I walked on the right side my car was a mess! I couldn't believe it, the rear view mirror was gone, the handle was gone, I couldn't even open the car door it was so messed up! I saw the truck and he had some white paint on the front of the grill and barely a dent. The only thing I walked away with was whiplash and as I said earlier my son had a scratch on his leg. I highly recommend this car, I mean I think for such a small vehicle to take a hit from a tractor trailer truck it's a pretty safe vehicle to me! Anyways, the only negative thing I have to say is the back seats aren't that comfortable. The best thing, besides the safety is the gas mileage on it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Commuter Car

by Car Owner from on Sun Sep 18 2011

Excellent fuel economy:cost of ownership ratio. Average MPG is 36 overall. Auotomatic transmission is nice when sitting in traffic. Not great comfort for very tall people. Otherwise well appointed interior. Best new car value in North America.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2010 Hyundai Accent GLS

by Emily from Little Rock, AR on Sun Jul 13 2014

I had this car for about 2 1/2 years and bought it used with 30,xxx miles on it. Traded it in with about 75,xxx miles on it. This car is a great car for someone that doesnt have a lot of money to spend. Great MPG, I got around 33. Pretty roomy for when you want to haul people. Nice sound and cool that it came with USB and aux ports. However, only buy this car if you can't afford something more expensive. I bought it and the resale value on them is garbage. You will definitely lose money if you don't plan on keeping it forever. It is slow... as in no get up and go at all. Only has your basic features, not even power door locks, which I thought just about every car has now a days. It definitely isn't anything to look at and there is a lot of plastic inside, which scraps really easy and looks bad. All in all, reliable cheap vehicle but nothing to go out and brag to your friends about or show off. I would spend the extra money and buy something nicer personally.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SELL YOUR GEO METRO AND BUY A HYUNDAI ACCENT!!!

by carguy7654321 from Indiana on Sun Jul 22 2018

What a great car for zipping around town and driving on the freeway, too! The 4 cylinder automatic has lots of pickup and it is really comfortable to ride in. Good A/C, heat and stereo...what more do you need! The 14" tires ride smoothly and only cost $69 each when you have to replace them. Buy the General AT23 tires and away you go!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good for the money.

by JLB from Colorado Springs, Colorado on Tue Jan 09 2018

Very good car for the last seven years. The only fail that was unexpected was one of the coil packs which showed up as a check engine light, but did not cause a miss on the engine. Belts are a pain to change, but that isn't unusual in small cars anymore, other than that it is very easy to do oil changes, wiper blades and batteries. I am over six feet tall and I don't need a shoehorn and bucket of grease to get in or out and there is plenty of headroom. Love the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

96000 miles and still going

by joek from milwaukee, wi on Fri Jan 01 2016

I bought this car new in 2010 and have put 96000 miles on it so far. I have done all my own maintenance except for changing the timing belt. The only issue I have had so far was changing out the sway bar stabilizing links - $30 part and 30 min to swap both of them out. Otherwise this car has been cheap to own and very very reliable. I have the 5 speed so I can open it up a bit to get better acceleration when needed and slightly better gas mileage. I plan on putting 250000 miles on this car. Even the battery remains strong after 5 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my little guy.

by emmyyy from Pa on Mon Oct 20 2014

My little guy has been great to me. He doesn't accelerate very well at first but once you get him going hes a speed demon. The interior is alright although its gray so stains show up pretty easily. Its great as a college car and hopefully it'll last much longer than college. My car has been so good in the rain. Its also good at emergency stopping.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5