2010 Accent

Consumer Reviews
2010 Hyundai Accent

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

41 Reviews
2010 Hyundai Accent
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased the new 2010 accent gs

by MeganRenee from loveland on October 15, 2009

I got the 2010 accent gs 5 speed with popular equipment package a couple days ago and am beyond impressed with this vehicle! I average 35 mpg in it, it has everything and more that I need. Its comfortable and handles great even quickly around corners and even bumps. It is extremely fun to drive and is suprisingly large on the inside. The 10 year hundred thousand mile warranty was amazing as well as a 1500 dollar rebate just to name one of them. I highly reccomend this vehicle I always said I'd never drive anything but a honda or toyota but this car definately beat that!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun to drive car, just not for everyone...

by Mature Sports Compact Car Driver from on October 3, 2011

The 2010 Hyundai Accent SE is very reliable having owned it for the first full year now. Its very economical too if you are trying to drive around town or cruising through the country. One major down point is that people view you as not having power when you are on the road, either passing you or riding too close to your bumper. The thing is, this car has enough power from its engine to keep up and even out run most things from a take off or even at normal highway speeds. The automatic I drive is mostly limited when it shifts into overdrive at 40 mph and don't pick up steam again until about 46 mph, that's about 2 seconds of slow laggy acceleration. The only other time you will notice a down fall in acceleration is when the car is approaching 70+mph. You can merge on to the interstate somewhat easily, but don't believe you can out run anyone with this car if the speeds are over 50 mph easily. Before I got my SE Automatic, I test drove a manual and the gears aren't that easily to go through, but after a year of driving a manual, I'm sure you could easily and quickly go through them without much of a challenge. The suspension is stiff on the SE, with not much body roll. Turn in is pretty quick though not dangerously quick. The car does have some body lean, but not much in the SE trim. It is enough to know when you turned too fast. And the SE has a ground clearance of about 6.7 inches so, you can in a way think of this car as a small SUV in that you can go over many things like speed bumps without the car bottoming out, and park with those concrete slabs not scratching the bumper... Had issues with this with my previous car. This car though isn't really made for tuners or those that want to customize or trick out their rides too heavily. It is a good reliable ride for those that want an economical car without going hybrid or electric car and yet at the same time, offers those that want to get away from the gas guzzler SUVs a choice that gives them the same amount of cargo room. I'd say this car is more for mature older drivers than for the younger crowd, which is evident in the refined exterior styling that isn't really aggressive looking unlike most cars in this segment try to be. One thing I'd note about this car, the "Eco indicator" light doesn't really help it any. As long as you drive sensibly, this car will get very good mileage. I had the light on and got around 30mpg with keeping the car in the "Eco" light on for acceleration and normal cruising, this made the car feel very laggy and like it lacked power. I turned it off and drove like a normal person would drive a car, and the acceleration felt better and gas mileage improved by a little bit for me to 32 mpg. I do a lot of stop and go city driving. I like the XM Satelite radio it comes with, though I never actually listen to the satelite radio instead opting to us my MP3 player and its USB hookup. This car has a great audio system, although it at times doesn't seem to have a good base thump if you like that type of music. You have to treat the car as if you are using full featured speakers with its 6 speakers and turn up the base and turn down the tremble and then turn the volume up a bit louder than I would like personally. This gives a good base to your music that would otherwise sound kind of flat. The sunroof was the main reason I chose the SE other than I like to drive for fun and the SE with the sunroof and windows lowered offers a very good experience driving on the back roads in the country. The only thing is the automatic lacks the ability to sport shift it, so if you want true fun to drive you would want to get the manual. Other than this, the car is a very good, fun to drive car...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great commuter car!

by austex from austin, tx on February 4, 2011

I bought my Accent GLS manual transmission new about a month ago, and I love it! I got a great deal on it with a year end clearance sale. I seem to average 31mpg city with it, my driving style seems to excede the sticker mpg rating, and on a long hwy trip it returned 37mpg. It wasn't easy downsizing from a v6 sedan to this car, but I don't regret it as my monthly fuel expenses were cut by 1/3! If you can drive one, get the manual trans, as the automatic makes this car slow. My only complaints are the lack of thigh support (raising the cushion height helps with that), and clutch/shifter feel (this is a far cry from a smooth Honda clutch), but I can live with those downfalls. It rides softer than many other small cars, so it's not too much of a penalty box. The back seat has more room than many cars this size, and can fit 2 modest sized adults good without moving front seats very far forward. I had the dealership add cruise control, as they didn't have any left with that option pkg. Like most entry cars, engine/road/wind noise gets loud above 70mph, but the 6 speaker xm radio drowns it out, it's tolerable on long hwy trips as well, although it's best for commuter duty. I would recomend this car as a city/commuter car for anyone, ease of entry/exit, good outward visibility, easy to use and read controls/displays, and easy parking/handling would also make it a good inexpensive car for elderly drivers.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too Fun and Versitile

by KDM (Korean Domest Market) Enthusiast now xD from All over Florida on May 11, 2014

My family bought two of these around the recession when we lost a 05 Mercury Grand Marquis V8 and a 01 Hyundai Sonata. Both were 2010 Hyundai Accents. One was a Blue 2 door hatchback and one was a GLS sedan. In all honestly I never realized that one could purchase a vehicle with nothing in it besides AC or no AC. I'm still also thinking about how we bought it with no radio but it still has 4 speakers... The Hyundai deal of a new car and free XM subscription for three months had me confused but is a funny joke. 2 years of owning it though we did put a radio in it and the speakers in that car are amazing The Blue is surprisingly roomy even in the backseat. The layout of the interior is very convenient and comfortable for everyone. Driving the Blue in comparison to the GLS sedan everyone will notice the big weight difference in the cars. The Blue will get up and go especially with CVVT (Continuous Variable Valve Timing) on the exhaust system. This car can and will out perform many basic stock cars on the road (in my opinion on handling but not a 0-60). Superb handling and power (when it is just the driver and nothing else in it). Funny enough everyone thinks this is a Civic Si when it is driving around even though it isn't. The GLS automatic just like the Blue has just as good as an interior. Noticeable differences is the transmission really. That and the steering. The Transmission being auto I suppose it has longer gears but with "O/D OFF" displayed the GLS will kick it up a notch. An impromptu sports mode I would call it as it does zip in and out of traffic. With "Eco" displayed though it is a very smooth ride for the family and friends. The steering is much heavier than the Blue however. Parked side by side the displacement of the tires look the exact same so 4 doors or 2 I don't think there is a difference there for the steering. The weight difference is significant in my eyes though. I don't know about suspension being different though. Both cars are very smooth and quiet. Both cars a responsive and quick once used to them especially is only the bare minimal is carried in them. Both have great sound systems. The maintenance on both are exactly the same for wear and tear. Only noticed thing that came up with a recall on the GLS for a computer tune that fixed a misfiring cylinder. Other than that both needed to have ignition coils replaced at 90K mile marks that also cause engine misfiring. Both cars have been used for extreme long distanced commuting for work (120 miles a day min) and point A to B driving for college (10 miles a day min). Even though both lack many things like cruise control, traction control, Anti Locking Brakes, power locks and windows, alarm systems, powered seats and even a center console arm rest (single armlet attached to driver seat only) both the GLS and Blue are some very safe, reliable, and fun cars to drive. Yes even without TCS and ABS I find this a very reliable and safe car. Yes I've locked up my tires, yes I've spun my tires out but learning how to drive this is the rain really has made this a great car. In heavy rain the car can start in it's 2nd gear to avoid spin out of tires at a light. Down shifting can help slow the car as well in the rain as well. Once one gets used to it and drives with respect to traffic they realize how nimble and responsive these cars are. My only regret about them is that a sports version wasn't released to the USA. I hear that Canada had an Accent SR that looked awesome. Overall an amazing car that many will admire and have fun with as a auto, manual, hot hatch, or sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very safe car!!

by callalily89 from on August 6, 2012

Okay, this car is very safe! Today I got hit on the right side by a tractor trailer truck! My 6 month old son was in the back. This car is amazing! On the right side the air bags came down which protected us from a lot of the glass(my windows on the right side shattered). My son only had a scratch on his leg and I had no marks on me! The witnesses said the way my car was sliding they thought it would flip! Thankfully, I was going the speed limit and the truck(45 mph). Even still, when I walked on the right side my car was a mess! I couldn't believe it, the rear view mirror was gone, the handle was gone, I couldn't even open the car door it was so messed up! I saw the truck and he had some white paint on the front of the grill and barely a dent. The only thing I walked away with was whiplash and as I said earlier my son had a scratch on his leg. I highly recommend this car, I mean I think for such a small vehicle to take a hit from a tractor trailer truck it's a pretty safe vehicle to me! Anyways, the only negative thing I have to say is the back seats aren't that comfortable. The best thing, besides the safety is the gas mileage on it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Commuter Car

by Car Owner from on September 18, 2011

Excellent fuel economy:cost of ownership ratio. Average MPG is 36 overall. Auotomatic transmission is nice when sitting in traffic. Not great comfort for very tall people. Otherwise well appointed interior. Best new car value in North America.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2010 Hyundai Accent GLS

by Emily from Little Rock, AR on July 13, 2014

I had this car for about 2 1/2 years and bought it used with 30,xxx miles on it. Traded it in with about 75,xxx miles on it. This car is a great car for someone that doesnt have a lot of money to spend. Great MPG, I got around 33. Pretty roomy for when you want to haul people. Nice sound and cool that it came with USB and aux ports. However, only buy this car if you can't afford something more expensive. I bought it and the resale value on them is garbage. You will definitely lose money if you don't plan on keeping it forever. It is slow... as in no get up and go at all. Only has your basic features, not even power door locks, which I thought just about every car has now a days. It definitely isn't anything to look at and there is a lot of plastic inside, which scraps really easy and looks bad. All in all, reliable cheap vehicle but nothing to go out and brag to your friends about or show off. I would spend the extra money and buy something nicer personally.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

96000 miles and still going

by joek from milwaukee, wi on January 1, 2016

I bought this car new in 2010 and have put 96000 miles on it so far. I have done all my own maintenance except for changing the timing belt. The only issue I have had so far was changing out the sway bar stabilizing links - $30 part and 30 min to swap both of them out. Otherwise this car has been cheap to own and very very reliable. I have the 5 speed so I can open it up a bit to get better acceleration when needed and slightly better gas mileage. I plan on putting 250000 miles on this car. Even the battery remains strong after 5 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Accent GS

by Charles from West Palm Beach, FL on August 5, 2013

We just purchased a used 2010 Accent GS for my 18 year old daughter as a replacement for her minivan. LOL. The car is perfect for her, gets great gas mileage and pretty roomy inside for a little economy car. The only negative thing that I have to say about the car is the lack of acceleration. But that is to be expected when you compensate for the gas mileage without going to a hybrid or big money car that gets both great mileage and can accelerate quickly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my little guy.

by emmyyy from Pa on October 20, 2014

My little guy has been great to me. He doesn't accelerate very well at first but once you get him going hes a speed demon. The interior is alright although its gray so stains show up pretty easily. Its great as a college car and hopefully it'll last much longer than college. My car has been so good in the rain. Its also good at emergency stopping.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5