2017 Sonata Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid

$16,374 - $35,949  MSRP Range
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

53 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Hybrid Vehicle

by Wally World 1 from Port St Lucie, FL on Wed Jul 19 2017

The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is the most amazing hybrid vehicle on the road. We looked at all of the hybrids on the market since my commute is 80 miles round trip every day on highway driving. After looking at horsepower, design, interior room, quality and price, we quickly narrowed it down to the Sonata or the Ioniq hybrid. We found more room in the Sonata, though the Ioniq was a great vehicle as well, though it had less room and lower horsepower, but did offer better mileage. The ride of the Sonata Hybrid is amazing, the interior is so roomy and comfortable, the dash is super high-tech and offers every option. This is not our first Hyundai, and the quality and design of the Hyundai really captures the market and meets all of our needs, especially comfort and mileage. I'm getting 45 MPG on the highway, and more than that on in-town driving. What a vehicle! Totally amazing! The warranty is better than anything on the market, and the final decision maker was the fact that the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid battery (very expensive to replace) is guaranteed for as long as you own the car, over and above the best warranty on the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2017 Sonata hybrid

by FLMOOGS from Miramar, Florida on Mon Feb 05 2018

Ok, the gadgetry took a while to get used to. But, now I am addicted to all of it. There are so many smart things that are not even mentioned in the descriptions. For example, when merging the vehicle not only sees cars in the blind spot but somehow discerns that the car 50 yards back is traveling so fast it is not safe to merge. Sweet! Back seat leg room incredible! Gas mileage around 40 mpg. But, I have gotten 50 mpg by paying strict attention to acceleration. When evacuating due to a Florida hurricane it was really fantastic not to have to worry about finding a gas station. My range is about 800 miles on with a full tank. Skip the extra blue link options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thrilled, so far

by Jim from Waukesha, WI on Wed Jul 05 2017

I drove a Prius for most of the last thirteen years, but I didn't like the interior styling of the 2017 models. However, I didn't want to take a big step back in gas mileage in my new car. Fortunately, I found -- and fell in love with -- the 2017 Hyundai Sonata Limited Hybrid. It's been getting 43-45 MPG (since purchasing in March), which is only a slight drop from the 45-50 MPG I'd experienced over the years with my Prius. This car has far more features than my Prius had -- including heated and cooled seats -- and the price was unbelievable! So far, so good... no regrets

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Sonata Hybrid

by tvbob from Los Angeles, CA on Fri Apr 21 2017

This is my second Sonata Hybrid. The 2017 is a major feature upgrade from my 2012 model. Enjoying it very much. Comfortable ride. Previous contact with Hyundai corporate on some minor issues with the 2012 showed a company that was willing (and often anxious) to resolve the issues and keep the customer satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car for value & nice ride.

by Godgal from Roseville, IL on Mon Mar 06 2017

I have had a 2013, 2015 & .now the 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I especially love the way the car rides & handles on the 2017. It's as nice as the more expensive models of other brands. Would buy this car again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable and efficient car ever

by Easwooth from Plantation, FL on Thu Nov 09 2017

The interior room is unbelievable, comfortable for people in the back as well as in the front , I wish they offered the dark interior in the entry level trim, I like that it has the 2.0 liter engine and a proper transmission ( not a cvt) it makes all the difference and the hybrid battery has a lifetime warranty, can’t beat that.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love this car

by Kimberlyk from on Fri May 05 2017

This car gets amazing mileage. Usually between 39 and 40 mpg. It is very comfortable. It's my second 2017 hybrid sonata as my first was totaled after only having it for 1.5 weeks. From that experience, I can tell you that it does very well keeping occupants safe in an accident. The car was totaled but no one was hurt at all. It's a great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by SuzanneCorona on Fri Mar 09 2018

I was worried that buying a hybrid meant that I'd be driving a boring car. Not so! This car is extremely fun to drive. It has great pick up and is very comfortable. And.....I'm getting an average of 42 mpg for my 50 mile round trip commute to work each day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car for the money

by Dano from Grand Junction, CO on Fri Jul 07 2017

I just purchased this car and took it on a 3000 mile road trip, the car was prefect, great millage even at 80 mph, which is in Utah, Montana, Idaho, it holds its speed well in the mountains and great for down hill because of the charging, I like how it is very quite and shuts off when stopped, and a smooth ride, brakes good had a few close calls.... all in all I'm happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Plenty of room with 45/50 MPG

by SB from Rock Run, Alabama on Wed Aug 01 2018

This is my 6th Hyundai and 3rd Hybrid. The Sonata is not a small car compared to many of the other Hybrids getting 45/50 MPG. Driven in a reasonable fashion this car does get 50 MPG. It is a comfortable ride and very easy to handle. If I were to fault it, it would be road noise on imperfect roads. Personally, I wish Hyundai had better color selections.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid

The verdict:

The 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid delivers the comfortable ride, high-quality interior and affordable price of its gas-powered sibling with impressive fuel economy. Some competing hybrids, though, get better mpgs.

The gas-powered Sonata, which beat nine competitors in our $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge, was redesigned for 2015, but the hybrid version carried over until its redesign for the 2016 model year. Updates include a fresh face, increased efficiency and additional cargo room. Compare the two model years here.

Versus the competition:

Midsize hybrid sedan competitors include the Honda Accord Hybrid, Ford Fusion Hybrid and Toyota Camry Hybrid; compare all four sedans here.

Editor’s note: This review was written in August 2015 about the 2016 Sonata Hybrid. For 2017, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay smartphone connectivity and a 7-inch touchscreen are now standard. Little else of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the 2016 and 2017 model years.

Exterior & Styling

For the green-car fans who like to say it loud and proud, the Sonata Hybrid might be too understated. Aside from an extra badge, it’s not easy to distinguish it from the non-hybrid version. The same thing is true for other hybrid sedans, as opposed to dedicated hybrid models, which are typically hatchbacks... Read More