31 reviews
2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Available Price Range $12,668-$37,472 TrimsN/A Combined MPG 19-26 SeatsN/A

Our Take on the 2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Our Take

Mercedes' E-Class is offered in four body styles and a choice of engines. Rear- and all-wheel-drive versions are offered, as is a high-performance E63 AMG edition. Depending on the body style, the E-Class seats four to seven people. Competitors include the BMW 5 Series, Audi A6 and Infiniti... Read Full Report

What We Don't Like

  • Gets pricey with options
  • Firm ride with Sport models
  • Lackluster handling and brakes (non-AMG models)
  • Relatively limited cargo room in wagon

Notable Features

  • Sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon body styles
  • V-6, V-8 or diesel V-6 engine
  • High-performance E63 AMG
  • RWD or AWD
  • &quot
  • mbrace&quot
  • communication system


Our Expert Reviews

The 2012 Mercedes-Benz E350 wagon has spoiled me for the rest of my days. With a ton of cargo space and the capability to transport my family in vogue as well as in comfort, this wagon also delivers a sublime driving experience. Simply put, the 2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class wagon is the ultimate family mobile, with exception of one giant not-so-family-friendly feature: its price. This wagon has ... Read full review for the 2012 Mercedes Benz E Class

Consumer Reviews


Average based on 31 reviews

Write a Review


by Abaco Mike from Florida on October 27, 2011

I've owned 2010 and 2011 E350, but the 2012's new engine and fuel economy are outstanding! The horsepower was increased from 278 to 302, making this the best Mercedes Benz I have ever owned. I got the... Read Full Review


Estimate your monthly loan payment.
Asking Price Range
$49,800 - $91,500
Calculate Monthly Payments


Crash-Test Reports


Great news! There are currently no known recalls on 2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class.

Warranty Coverage





Roadside Assistance Coverage


What you should get in your warranty can be confusing. Make sure you are informed.

Learn More About Warranties

Warranties Explained


Often called a basic warranty or new-vehicle warranty, a bumper-to-bumper policy covers components like air conditioning, audio systems, vehicle sensors, fuel systems and major electrical components. Most policies exclude regular maintenance like fluid top offs and oil changes, but a few brands have separate free-maintenance provisions, and those that do offer them is slowly rising. Bumper-to-bumper warranties typically expire faster than powertrain warranties.


Don't be misled a 10-year or 100,000-mile powertrain warranty doesn't promise a decade of free repairs for your car. It typically covers just the engine and transmission, along with any other moving parts that lead to the wheels, like the driveshaft and constant velocity joints. Some automakers also bundle seat belts and airbags into their powertrain warranties. With a few exceptions, powertrain warranties don't cover regular maintenance like engine tuneups and tire rotations.

Roadside Assistance

Some automakers include roadside assistance with their bumper-to-bumper or powertrain warranties, while others have separate policies. These programs cover anything from flat-tire changes and locksmith services to jump-starts and towing. Few reimburse incidental costs like motel rooms (if you have to wait for repairs).

Free Scheduled Maintenance

Some automakers include free scheduled maintenance for items such as oil changes, air filters and tire rotations. Some include consumables including brake pads and windshield wipers; others do not. They are typically for the first couple of years of ownership of a new car.

Similar Models

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class