2006 GTO

Consumer Reviews

2006 Pontiac GTO

$4,579 - $27,783  MSRP Range
2006 Pontiac GTO

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

63 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Pontiac GTO?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

GTO = Civilized Brutality

by Formula1970 from Minneapolis, MN on Thu Feb 24 2011

Bought my "used" '06 Torrid Red GTO two years ago with 1k miles on it. Now have about 4500 miles on it. The car is simply amazing. It behaves nice when you need it to and conversely it makes the jump to light speed instantly when called upon. The build quality is far beyond any normal GM product you might be familiar with. This Australian built masterpiece is unmatched for price, quality and price. Plus you don't see a lot of them around which is nice versus the dime a dozen new Camaros & Mustangs. For people who criticize the GTOs limited trunk space, common folks, you don't buy a GTO, Vette, Camaro, etc. for trunk space! The LS2 GTO is simply the best GTO ever built and the most exciting Pontiac product since the 1973-74 455 SDs! Long live PMD!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sorry I let it go

by RJ from Illinois on Tue Jun 12 2012

2 1/2 years ago, bought a 2006 black GTO...after test drive...fell in love with car...pictures do not do this car justice...it really looks good up close and in person.....last year,because of some money issues ,had to sell it...I've had Camaros,Vettes,etc....absolute best car I've owned!...the fastest,too... I WILL be looking for another '06 GTO within the next year....miss that car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by ziege3 from Dallas, Texas on Tue Dec 14 2010

One word explains it all....EXCELLENT! This is, without a doubt, the best car I have ever owned. I have enjoyed just driving this car better than any other one I have owned as well. My first one was totaled when rear-ended in rush hour traffic (took a 40mph hit without so much as a bruise to the occupants) and did all I could to find another. The second one had the strut issues but it was a warranty item and was fixed pronto by Sewell in Dallas. I HIGHLY recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleeper to msot

by PONTIACDude from bel Air, MD. on Mon Feb 11 2013

I drove several of these cars long before I bought my Midnight Blue Metallic 2005, 6-speed. I read so many vintage GTO guys downing them when they came out, I say now what I said then. DRIVE ONE! these cars are a great bang for the buck used. You can find a nicer lower mile example for a great price. the styling is subdued, understated, and does'nt scream FAST CAR to the unknowing. Performance of the 400H.P. LS/2 is very sweet. And these cars respond well to mods. I think my favorite part is the interior comfort and handling. Some of the best seats of any car I've owned. Hope this helps for anyone on the fence about buying The LAST PONTIAC true MUSCLECAR!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Soooo Fun

by Asher from kansas on Fri Aug 12 2011

I only have had the car for a week, very easy to drive, so far it feels like it was a great decision.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NOTE

by FOX from on Wed Sep 23 2009

BEST CAR EVER SO YOU SHUD BUY ONE OF THES CARS THAY ARE EVER RELIABIL AND JUST FUN TO DRIVE AROUND IN AND VAERY SPORTY

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

don't want nothing else except maybe ssr

by gazpipe from sacramento on Sat Nov 12 2011

I only mention the ssr because it has the same engine. Heard this is the best engine gm ever made. Most people want something else within a year and I can't think of any other car I want. I just love my smokin fast gto, its amazingly fast and has a nice roar too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car gm ever made

by girlymon from orlando fl on Mon Sep 10 2012

sweet ride, superfast, great control w/ fat tire posi, not too bad on gas - measured 20 mpg twice. I verified that absolutely no street car needs a spoiler.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Goat

by Woody woods from Junction City, KS on Thu Nov 28 2013

This will be my second, last generation GTO. I recently totaled my 2005 at the race track. I had to have another one. In my opinion the GTO is the most muscle car value for the money on the market today. They come only one way, loaded with power everything and leather interior. They are comfortable, powerful, and have potential to be a straight up street brawler. With a stock 400 HP 400 Ft LBS of torque LS2 they are great out of the box but with a few modifications like cam, intake, headers the LS2 engine is easily capable of over 500 crank horsepower and over 460 wheel horsepower. I know I did it with my 2005. The 2006 seems quite a bit tighter suspension wise than my 2005 even with upgraded sway bars and polyurethane suspension bushings. It has the optional 18" wheels. I haven't really looked under the car yet to see if anything is aftermarket or modified on the suspension. I just know these cars are excellent quality, have loads of power potential, and are pretty easy to modify. I love mine, again, and I would recommend a GTO to anyone looking for a great, top quality, muscle car at a great price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My baby

by Nick from STL on Mon Aug 08 2011

i love this car. so much power for the money. 75XXXmi on her and the only problem i have is keeping rubber on the car and off the road.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7