2011 Impreza WRX STi

Consumer Reviews

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

$15,821 - $30,385  MSRP Range
2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

31 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car for Road Race and Getting Groceries!

by NHFirefighter_STi from Manchester, NH on Thu Mar 22 2012

This is my 2nd STi, I have previously owned a 2005 sedan. I have just purchased the 2011 hatchback... All I can say is WOW, the suspension has been completely redone, this car easily out-handles my 05. In the snow this car is a beast, locking the diffs and this thing cuts through a foot of snow with ease(with snow tires). The only downside is that the car has been refined more towards a luxury car than a performance car, I would rather have more turbo/engine noise and stiffer mounts and bushings, which are very easy fixes from the aftermarket. As for the reliability this car has been just like my 05, no problems reported, the only visit to the dealer so far is for a faulty fog-light housing. I am a auto technician for a local dealer and Subaru's quality has come leaps and bounds, compared to the other imports. Just have others have stated as soon as you get behind the wheel you will have a giant grin form ear to ear. The 2011 STi Si-drive is a great upgrade as well for saving fuel or having some fun. The other thing that made me buy the STi over the WRX was the 6-speed M/T, limited slip differentials, Brembo brake package, and the better suspension and reinforced frame. Well worth the extra $$ Subaru asks for. The Subaru community is also what makes a Subaru, every other WRX, STi, RS, or Impreza I pass we exchange a friendly wave. This is a great platform to build a great auto-x or road race car, I have added a few upgrades and the car has responded tremendously to these upgrades. Highly recommend you test drive one, I drove alot of cars in its class from a performance standpoint and no other car felt better, from Hyundai, Honda, Mazda, and Mitsubishi. I wont own any car but an STi in the future as long as the body styling doesn't change too drastically. Definately can see/feel the Rally heritage/technology brought to the consumer at an affordable price!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great step forward from the early cars

by Lflouie from Tennessee on Sun Jan 06 2013

I had an 05 STI with lots of mods, a thinly disquised race car with a an attitude. It was a fun weekend driver, incredable handling, great power and reliable. However, the car was setup for performance and traded off creature comforts...like ride. The 2011 is a different car, leaning more towards the BMW side of the sport/luxury equation. While it isn't an M3/335, it does very nicely with the blend of very good acceleration, handling and ride....but the styling is still a little different than the mainstream and it is $10s of thousands less and has better resale and repair/service costs. The car itself has gained a little weight, improved the stock suspension/handling and improved the interior design and content. The seats are wonderful, easy to shift, and did I comment about the great acceleration. Yes this is really a car for the "sport" oriented driver. While it will certainly work as a daily driver and grocery hauler, it comes into its own on a curvy back road or any straight away. The S-drive helps out by giving a moderate performance level in S1, easy to drive around town, but powerful if you rev it up. The S# setting gives the type of response that enthusiasts are looking for....gobs of torque, improved throttle response and some exhaust sounds....music to my ears! Subarus are reliable and repair costs modest in todays world of $100 hr/dealer rates. The cars are durable. just not as robust as the europeans when comes to sheet metal, trim parts and interior materials...they're just more Japanese like...adaquate and reliable. The STIs require more frequent maintenace than your run of the mill import, but its the good kind...oil changes, tire rotation, brake and transmission fluid changes are more frequent since its a high performance car. If there's one single caution it is check the insurance rates on the car before buying. If you have a good record then expect to pay slightly higher than normal rates, but if your 25 yrs old and a few tickets then be prepared for a sticker shock. The Base model is just fine because the Premium only adds a sunroof and BBS wheels, all of the rest of the features can be added to the Base if you want them. To me, spending $2k for a factory NAV when I can drop in any of the excellent aftermkt units for $150 makes no sense. Yes you can upgrade the stereo but the factory speakers are the weak link. If you want a high quality music upgrade the system/speakers with aftermkt units ....sound better and less $$$. Nice thing about STIs is that there is a huge performance and styling aftermkt, so you can personalize or extend the performance to pretty much any level you want. I love this car for what it is...unadulterated fun, in your face styling, and a grin to drive. Oh and did I mention it has great acceleration?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE MOST FUN CAR I HAVE OWNED!!!

by performance car enthusiast from on Thu Sep 13 2012

This is the first "small" high performance vehicle that I have owned. Other cars have been Corvettes, SRT8"s, and Audi's. The fun to drive factor has been much better than any of those other vehicles -- I am not stating they are bad, but this car is just simply much more fun! It is comfortable and very "quick" compared to the others. It has also responded well to small after market add-ons: Cold air kit, Invidia 3" exhaust from turbo back, computer chip upgrade. It also gets much better gas mileage than those other cars I have owned. I use it as a daily driver every day in LA traffic -- IT WORKS GREAT AND AGAIN, IT IS FUN TO DRIVE. I only have 8K miles on the car but have had no maintenance or reliability issues whatsoever. I do oil changes etc with Subaru - service has been great. Also, Subaru is reasonable as to what they charge. Also they are happy to answer any and all questions. They seem to very knowledgeable as it relates not only to their products but other company products as well. If Subaru would make any change that I would like, I would like to see 350 or more horse power and with the same power/torque curve.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by 2011 Subaru Owner from on Fri Dec 20 2013

I bought this car with zero miles on it. Great visibility from the drivers seat. I know people complain about the sound system, but please turn the sound down and listen to the beautiful engine. You're buying the car for performance and it delivers. Great in the snow, although you must get snow tires. It'll slide out a bit the first few days of winter, but thats because you get used to taking turns over 30mph. When its nice the summer tires stick like you're part of the road. It's not quiet on the highway, but a 4 hour drive wont leave you stiff. The whole ride is enjoyable, 0-60 or passing people on the highway. Everyone else is standing still. It's safe because you can get out of the way when something wild happens. Deer jumps out in front of you and you will be surprised the brakes work just as well as the rest of the car. I gave it a four for exterior because as someone else mentioned in a review "it's painted with watercolors". The paint could be better since little rocks do hop up on the highway and you can see it after the first few months. A little touchup paint does help. Sounds dumb, but get some mud flaps. Sure they look awesome, but it really does reduce the amount of debris that appears on the side of the car (especially salt during winter). 40k miles and no issues. I drive it hard everyday... the way it was built to be driven. Buy something cheaper and your going to have issues after that kind of punishment. Buy it. You will absolutely love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing.

by Random from New York on Fri Sep 06 2013

This car is honestly amazing, I test drove it before i bought it for my son and i thought about getting one myself. Its comfortable and fast, its for people who like speed but looking good while doing it. It really is an amazing car and i love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun

by Best ever from EAST PALO ALTO on Wed May 28 2014

I been wanting this car ever since the 2005 model. Now that I was able to buy it, it's the best purches I ever made in my life. Two car seat and moms in the middle ( very comfortable ) and still room for bags. Sound system yes it could be better but we are not paying for a sound system, we are paying for PERFORMENCES!!!!!! So with that been said upgrade the sound. Best purches bottle line!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beauty in motion!

by Kiwisuby from New Zealand on Sat Aug 02 2014

Best car I've owned - fantastic lines with the exterior shape, it's the best looking car on the road. Drives like a dream and sticks to the surface like it's glued to it. No problems so far after 50k, engine sounds purrrfect with the classic suby growl. If you're thinking about one do it cause you will not regret it Paul New Zealand

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty but yet family oriented.

by KevinB on Sat Jan 13 2018

I love how the car is able to be customized but still have the ability and room for a car seat comfortably. My son loved “riding in daddy’s car”.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable, also a great fast and fun car

by Nick from Silver spring MD on Sat Aug 05 2017

Beautiful car with wonderful handling and outstanding performance. The exterior ad interior are very nice and also comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great all arounder

by TheChiGuy from on Tue May 02 2017

The vehicle is a great all arounder for the enthusiast who can only have one car. The two downsides are insurance and gas costs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi


If I didn't know better, the Subaru WRX STI might just be the silliest gas hog of a little car there is. It's a cocky, pheromone-swilling show-off, with a hood scoop ready to inhale pigeons, a foot-tall rear wing, and all that booming, ear-splitting braaap from the four exhaust tips.

This is a car that acts like a frustrated teenage boy and is priced for a well-paid man in his 30s, albeit a single and slightly nerdy guy who likes a good deal. Because for all its tackiness — and this is after Subaru canceled the gold pimp wheels for 2011 — the man who buys a WRX STI does know better. He's getting a street-legal race car, and all the gut-wrenching performance of a Porsche 911 for half the... Read More