2018 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$25,895 - $38,690  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

346 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2018 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 346 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wow. Best kept secret in the automotive world!!!!

by Subie Duuuuuu from Conroe, Texas on March 20, 2018

Our 1st Suburu (2018 Outback Touring 2.1l) and we're over the top in love. Having owned quite the variety of suv's, trucks and cars we do believe we've found "the one". Beautiful interior, safe, spacious, comfortable, a blast to drive, great mpg, awesome sound system and technology. Love the high ground clearance and all wheel drive. Low center of gravity makes it hug the curves and gives easy entry and exit. So happy to own our Suburu.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I?ve owned

by Ozzie from Islip, new York on October 5, 2017

This car feels very safe. The new eyesight system is excellent. It ride very smoothly with good gas mileage. I have no complaints so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really Good Handling

by Happy Camper from Newark, DE on September 17, 2017

Love driving this car! It's comfortable, but also rugged. Feels roomy, even though I'm tall and long-legged. The Car Play feature is so cool! There's a USB port for the back passengers. Safety features are fantastic. So glad we chose this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and roomy

by TybeeDog from Atlanta, GA 30328 on October 30, 2017

The car is roomy enough to carry a large wheelchair for my special needs sister. It is sporty enough to carry my 16ft kayaks on top.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New owner

by Subaru 25 from Columbia, Maryland on March 13, 2018

So far so good. I haven't had the car long so I can't speak to reliability but neither can most others since it's a 2018. I think the base model is really a great deal. Coming from a base Forester, I feel like I'm drive luxury car. But I buy Subaru mainly for it's utility and functionality. Growing up on snowy roads, I know the disadvantages one faces with fwd or low ground clearance. I also fly fish and have to occasionally drive fire roads so the awd comes in handy there as well. The car is also quiet to drive which is nice. Outside of it's functionality, I really like the technology of the touch screen and android auto. The instrument panel is really cool as well. Directly in front of the steering wheel you can toggle between different digital screens ranging from tire psi readings, to what music you're listening too and more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I had to replace my 2010 Outback

by Carmel from Chaptico MD on October 18, 2017

When I had to replace my previous Outback, I didn't think twice about buying any other vehicle. The new features are quite amazing! I was never particularly attached to any car until I bought my 2010 model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One if the best SUV values for the money.

by PAR - Golf & Raider fan for life from Bluffton, SC on October 2, 2017

Met all the options I was looking for and has a very high safety rating. Smooth ride and good visibility all around. Has more room than most SUV's in it's class. Features like roof rack, are always available and stored in the vehicle for convenience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of all I drove

by 3tees from Milwaukee, Wi on March 25, 2018

I chose this car after test driving Ford, Lexus, Mazda, Toyota, and Honda crossover equivalents. Hands down best drive, visibility, power, quiet, comfort. I got one with the 3.6 6-cylinder engine. A lot quieter than any turbo 4 cylinder and far better low end torque and power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st Subaru that I have owned. Previous car was a H

by Retired school nurse from Palos park ,Illinois on November 19, 2017

Has a very smooth ride. Handles well on the road. The heated seats are great . Love having the hands free phone and navigation system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru is The winner after 20+ Toyota years

by KarenG from St. George, UT on April 13, 2018

Loving my new Outback! Everyone I mention it to as my new car choice says they only hear good things about it. Here’s to a long life together!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 35

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru Outback

The verdict:

The Subaru Outback offers a blend of two worlds: It's rugged-looking and capable outside, and it provides just the right balance of comfort and coddling inside.

Versus the competition:

The Outback blurs the line between wagon and SUV, but it's more affordable than similarly sized SUVs and just as capable and practical.

Minor updates for the 2018 Subaru Outback make an already good thing better. Subtle styling tweaks — like more angular headlights and a slightly larger grille — maintain the Outback's clean, unfussy design, while an updated multimedia system and retuned transmission improve usability and drivability. Compare the 2017 and 2018 models here.  

The Subaru Outback's most direct competitor — spiritually if not in size — is the VW Golf Alltrack, another tall wagon with AWD. The Outback also competes against more traditional mid-size SUVs like the Ford Edge and Jeep Cherokee. Compare them here.

Boring? Not So Fast

While the Outback's exterior styling... Read More