2018 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$16,363 - $30,595  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

437 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 437 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best of all I drove

by 3tees from Milwaukee, Wi on Sun Mar 25 2018

I chose this car after test driving Ford, Lexus, Mazda, Toyota, and Honda crossover equivalents. Hands down best drive, visibility, power, quiet, comfort. I got one with the 3.6 6-cylinder engine. A lot quieter than any turbo 4 cylinder and far better low end torque and power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New owner

by Subaru 25 from Columbia, Maryland on Tue Mar 13 2018

So far so good. I haven't had the car long so I can't speak to reliability but neither can most others since it's a 2018. I think the base model is really a great deal. Coming from a base Forester, I feel like I'm drive luxury car. But I buy Subaru mainly for it's utility and functionality. Growing up on snowy roads, I know the disadvantages one faces with fwd or low ground clearance. I also fly fish and have to occasionally drive fire roads so the awd comes in handy there as well. The car is also quiet to drive which is nice. Outside of it's functionality, I really like the technology of the touch screen and android auto. The instrument panel is really cool as well. Directly in front of the steering wheel you can toggle between different digital screens ranging from tire psi readings, to what music you're listening too and more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and roomy

by TybeeDog from Atlanta, GA 30328 on Mon Oct 30 2017

The car is roomy enough to carry a large wheelchair for my special needs sister. It is sporty enough to carry my 16ft kayaks on top.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car for the money

by autigr91 from Alexandria, VA on Mon Aug 13 2018

When I retired from the military and decided to live on a fixed income for a while, I needed a reliable car to replace my worn BMW X1, the survivor of several accidents courtesy of living in the DC metro area. I looked at another BMW, Acura RDX and a Subaru Outback. Of course, the BMW and the Acura had more powerful engines and great name recognition but when I looked at the price to get all the additional safety features found in my Outback, the choice was obvious. The Subura has proven to be an outstanding choice especially since I am living on half the budget, I had before retiring and it has a little more power and zip than I was expecting. I would recommend this car to anyone and that’s saying plenty considering my last four vehicles were two BMWs, Jeep Wrangler and an Acura.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awsome great car...except

by ride4god from Arvada, Colorado on Tue Aug 28 2018

Love it except the navigation system and screen have issues. The radio stays on until you open the car door. The auto dimmer on the navigation screen does not dim the screen at night, I have had to manually dim it every time. The navigation is not near as good as Google maps.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Good Car ! - Some Issues

by Mr.Atoz from Tampa Bay on Thu Jan 17 2019

Very happy with this car mainly because I have 6 cyl. version. Therefore no issues with acceleration. 10 way power driver seat, V6 power when I need it, Lots of safety features such as lane departure warning, low speed front and reverse crash warning. Blind spot detection warning. AWD system does have some jerky shifting at low speeds. Nav/Info/Entertaintment screen sometimes goes blank. But overall, very happy with this car. It is the top trim, so Im not sure I would feel the same with the lower trims.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Automobile

by RetiredTrojan from Troy, Alabama on Mon Nov 13 2017

More comfortable with better performance than any automobile previously owned. The gas mileage is also much better than anticipated. The Outback has more than adequate power and maneuverability for big city traffic, and it has proven to be a most comfortable automobile for long distance travels as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Subra I love it.

by Barb from Wilmington OH on Tue Jan 30 2018

I like the way it handles has plenty of leg room. Heated seats are wonderful. Will definetly meet all our needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

problems

by NOT LUVIN IT from winona mn 55987 on Fri Dec 14 2018

28000 miles new computer ,radio nav, second one acting up. 2 leaking gaskets,makes wierd shake occasionally tranny,sputters in cold weather bad sensor,windshield was making strange crackling noise cracked a month later. warranty of 32000 now i know why. Dont get this car!!!!! !!!!!!! 3.6 R touring TOP OF THE LINE??

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best ever

by Steve from Richmond VA on Sun Feb 25 2018

Over 60 years I've bought many cars including VW, Toyota, Acura, and Mercedes. The 2018 Subaru Outback is the best of the lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 44

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru Outback

The verdict:

The Subaru Outback offers a blend of two worlds: It’s rugged-looking and capable outside, and it provides just the right balance of comfort and coddling inside.

 

Versus the competition:

The Outback blurs the line between wagon and SUV, but it’s more affordable than similarly sized SUVs and just as capable and practical.

 

Minor updates for the 2018 Subaru Outback make an already good thing better. Subtle styling tweaks — like more angular headlights and a slightly larger grille — maintain the Outback’s clean, unfussy design, while an updated multimedia system and retuned transmission improve usability and drivability. Compare the 2017 and 2018 models here.

The Subaru Outback’s most direct competitor — spiritually if not in size — is the VW Golf Alltrack, another tall wagon with AWD. The Outback also competes against more traditional mid-size SUVs like the Ford Edge and Jeep Cherokee. Compare them here.

Boring? Not So Fast

While the Outback’s exterior styling doesn’t raise eyebrows, it stands out... Read More