2000 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota 4Runner

$212 - $14,532  MSRP Range
2000 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

49 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 49 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned!

by Redman from Tennessee on Wed Jan 03 2018

As most loyal Toyota owners know Toyota vehicles are trouble free vehicles that are very dependable and hold their value better than most due to their reputation of reliability. I have owned several Tacoma's and 4 Runners and have had excellent service out of them and have sold them easily with my phone ringing off the hook every day until sold! All we buy anymore! Off Road capabilities are also second to none with the best running gears you can get in a off road vehicle. not the best gas milege but very rugged and durable!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most well made car ever made !!

by Cannonball from Cumming,Ga on Tue Apr 21 2020

I have a Limited with every option...304k miles ,it still looks and drives like new...air ,windows .sunroof all still work perfect...I just changed the original alternator at 287K miles....will never part with it and would drive it cross country today..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle I’ve ever owned!

by WendyWR from Pontiac, Michigan on Tue Nov 19 2019

Best money I’ve ever spent on a vehicle. I bought this vehicle in 2000. My 29 year old son drove it. Now my 18 year old daughter is driving it! Thanks for a well built vehicle that possesses a timeless exterior design!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All in one package

by ZachAttack from Oregon on Tue Apr 24 2018

The 2000 Toyota 4Runner has been my favorite vehicle I've owned. Mid-sized SUV with 4 wheel drive when you need it. Plenty of room for passengers and storage, power, and the convenience of the sun roof, rear window, etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Energizer Bunny of SUVs

by DoubleR from Tampa, FL on Fri Dec 01 2017

Purchased used in 2004 w/62K miles. I-4 motor, base vehicle. Nothing fancy about it, very utilitarian, but it's a great all rounder and amazingly dependable. The cloth seats are still in good shape and comfortable on 600 mile drives. Just under 420K miles at the moment and it's still my daily driver. Vehicle is very sturdy and you feel safe in it. Front passenger side impact @ ~ 45mph ~13 years ago and damage was minimal (fender/bumper). Visibility is great with all the windows and handling is excellent for such a tall vehicle. The A/C works very quickly cooling/heating the large cabin quickly. Basic maintenance items up to this point. Incredible value for the money spent! Some things that it doesn't excel at: Racing (150hp new for vehicle this heavy isn't practical). Towing heavy trailers (light trailer and a couple of motorcycles is the most I'd recommend).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid vehicle

by Dave from Mt. Vernon, ohio on Fri Nov 30 2018

Great car with everything I was looking for. The ride is smooth and it handles great. I would buy another and would recommend to family and friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 4Runner is one of the most fun cars I've owned

by Sexyachocolate on Sun Jul 07 2019

If this truck were a little more roomer inside, there's no way it would be for sale. The 4Runner is a very reliable vehicle and a blast to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ridiculously reliable

by ERock from Raleigh, NC on Thu Sep 07 2017

230K miles and the only major repair we've ever had to perform was to replace the water pump (around 150K miles) and some of the gaskets have started to allow oil to leak. This car has paid for itself a couple times now.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome ride

by Wickedly fun 54 from Valdosta on Mon Aug 28 2017

Since owning a 4 runner. It's been a dang good one,had for 4 yrs now and my next will be another 4 runner

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I've ever owned. Very reliabl

by CynthiaT54 from Madisonville on Sun Jun 11 2017

This car meat all my needs. You can convert it to the size of a truck to haul more. It has a great towing package. All leather interior. Very nice ride. Very dependable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com