2000 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota 4Runner

$212 - $14,532  MSRP Range
2000 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

49 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 49 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

We even LIVED in the 4Runner!

by FlipflopMawmaw from Centralia WA on Thu Jan 11 2018

My son purchased this vehicle used in 2013. It was driven from New Orleans to southwest Washington state. My husband, myself and our 6 dogs (from a 2.5lb chihuahua to a small stature 45lb. German Shepherd lived in it for nearly 2.5 months. This model has a 110 power plug in the center console. We used it often while homeless to power an electric blanket. This vehicle is very spacious, rides and handles well. The one “downfall” came about while we lived in it. Due to the condensation created by my husband, myself and the dogs it “got into” the stereo which makes it work intermittently now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever had!

by Tyler on Mon Mar 19 2018

Was still running great when sold it at 240,000 miles. No major issues. Original plugs lasted 200,000 miles. Great for everyday and great for off-road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 4RUNNER

by REDMOOSE from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA on Fri Apr 20 2012

SECOND 2000 TOYOTA 4RUNNER I'VE OWN. THIS CAR ITS EXTREMELY RELIABLE AND LOW MAINTANANCE. NO DISSAPOINTMENTS THERE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Toyota. Nuf said.

by SLosurf from San Luis Obispo, CA on Sun Aug 13 2006

I use this car mostly to commute from home to school, or from home to the surf. Let me tell you, I love Toyota 4Runners. They are soooo intuitive with their design. Everything fits in place naturally, tons of cargo room, seats fold down, sexy exterior. I have NEVER had a single engine, electrical, or operating problem with this car, and I bought it at 106,000 miles and it now has 125,000. Still going strong! Gotta love these things. Unfortunately, Toyota totally redesigned the car after making this model, and now they look terrible (in my opinion). Too boxy and way to expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet comfortable ride

by Surf n Skate from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Feb 22 2011

This is one sweet ride and its not HUGE! like all the SUV's u see on the road that look like boats! taking up space lol. V6 for cruising the town, body style is sweet! 4x4 is nice for the mountains. Handles like a charm with my new 16" BF all terrains and Summit Nomad rims. I get tons! of compliments. This site was VERY helpful and when I met the dealer, it was a goo! right from the start. Drove it home that same day. Downfalls: It lacks the overall power of a V8 if your looking for power. I wasn't :P I also have old school mustang, soo I get all the power I need haha.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THIS IS A MUST HAVE CAR!

by ILOVE4RUNNERS from New York,ny on Thu Feb 10 2011

I bought this car in 2001 with 1000 miles on it and have used it to commute from the the Poconos to New York and various other trips and in the 10 years I have had it I put over 365,000 miles on it. Of course I did routine scheduled maintenance for that high of mileage but it didn't kill my pocket. this car has been awesome to me and my family and i will never buy anything other than a 4runner even though i don't like the design of the new one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best vehicle

by long commuter from georgia on Tue Apr 19 2011

i've got about 207k miles on this truck and it's still going. I had it for almost 7 years and still love to drive it. it's the right size, not to small and not to big.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 4-Runner Limited

by DJ from Lancaster, SC on Tue Aug 25 2009

I have owned several other SUV's and the 4-runner has them all beat. I usually trade every 3 years but I still love my 2000 4-runner and when I do get another vehicle it will probably be a 4-runner!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4Runner Owner For Life!

by 4Runner Believer! from 64105 on Fri Feb 11 2011

I just sold my 2000 Toyota 4Runner and am looking for 2 more - one for me and one for my wife! We absolutely loved this car and can't wait to buy two more! I owned my 2000 4Runner for almost 7 years and never had any mechanical issues at all - you can't find a better SUV than this anywhere!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The only car I would purchase with over 200ka

by Dust from Merritt Island fl on Wed Jan 31 2018

Very well built and reliable car. This 3.4 v6 is bulletproof and cannot be beaten. The car is comfy with 5 seats and plenty of trunk space plus the oem racks on top. Interior is dated but it's almost 20 years old so that is to be expected. The one I purchased had 203k miles while I wrecked my last one at 260k miles. This is the only vehicle that I would purchase with that kind of mileage. Plus holds value mine is worth 5k bone stock at 200k miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com