2006 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2006 Toyota 4Runner

$3,549 - $18,521  MSRP Range
2006 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

102 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 102 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wow..solid truck

by Animal Rescuer from NJ on Sun May 05 2019

I'm a long term Toyota lover. I've owner Camry's, Corolla, 2 Land Cruisers, Avalon and just bought this used. I forgot how wonderful Toyota trucks are. I want to add ,how the brand holds its value above any other brand. There is an reason for that;) This vehicle has 104k miles ,2 owners and pages of service records. I felt confident about my purchase and look forward to 300k miles together. What a great ride!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Clean and Reliable

by Silly Billy from Tucson AZ on Wed Aug 07 2013

Our Neighbor recommended Too Hot Motors for their inexpensive imports . We enjoyed our buying experience and were happy to support a small family owed dealership.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This 2006 4Runner is the best vehicle ever

by MrSherman from Loveland, Colorado on Thu Jul 23 2020

I currently own this car in July of 2020. I have owned and driven dozens of automobiles, both personal and fleet for over 50 years. For function, comfort, reliability, looks and resale, this vehicle cannot be beat. I have spent only about $5,000 on this 4Runner, including everything but gasoline, over 15 years. This is less than $400 per year for oil, filters,batteries, tires, brakes, struts, timing belt, water pump, fluids, everything. This 4Runner looks, rides and performs better than brand new. After 15 years, the paint is still pristine. Even with a V-8, I get 20 mph in the city and better than that on the road. I will never sell this car, and undoubtedly it will outlive me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most useful car I have ever had

by JohnV from Staatsburg, NY on Wed May 10 2017

I need a vehicle that can tow, and go long distance with comfort. The adjustable seats , 6 CD player and ride and handling make me a believer in Toyota 4 Runners,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Glad I bought it

by TexasPackerFan from San Antonio, TX on Wed Sep 20 2017

I purchased a 2006, 4Runner, SR5 Sport Edition, 4.7L V8, about 9 months ago. Only had 58,000 miles when I bought it. I've driven another 12,000 miles since then. Only complaint is that I had to replace the shocks, due to a couple of them that were leaking. I pro-actively replaced the timing belt, because it was 11 years old. Since then, NO other issues at all. Awesome vehicle. I'll drive it to 200,000 miles, then buy another 4 runner. Even the new ones seem very well built.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My 4Runner

by Retired Principal from Oregon on Thu Nov 09 2006

My 2005 4Runner is solid, smooth riding, and great looking. I trust the reliability and hope to own it for a long time. I intend to upgrade the stereo but am very satisfied with everything else. I love my 4Runner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money! Good resale value....

by 4 Wheeler from Indianapolis, In on Mon Dec 19 2011

Great SUV for the money! Bought used and no problems so far! Very reliable, commanding road presence, and cant wait for the winter snow....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 4Runner SR5

by Oboustm from Republic on Fri May 05 2017

I have owned 2 Toyota 4 Runner SR5's and still think they are the best to own. They are very reliable and comfortable for long trips. I have 3 large dogs and 2 kids and there is plenty of room for all of us. The slide/tilt sunroof is wonderful. On a cool morning I can tilt it and get fresh air without it blowing on me. On hot days I can open it up and let the sunshine in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun since I sold the Sunbeam Tiger.

by Old sports car, boat and SUV person from Maryland Eastern Shore on Sun Jan 21 2007

2006 V6 Sports Edition. Among the many vehicles I have owned over the years have been a variety of 4WD SUV's and pickups. Mostly they have been good, practical machines, but stolid and slow handling. The 4Runner has lively steering and acceleration. The XREAS suspension,and aluminum V6 in front contribute to the cornering and handling. The small width of the driver's seat back and the closeness of the seat bottom to the floor are comfort issues, but I have driven it across the country and back and over Southwestern mountain unpaved trails. Great!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Oldie But Still A Goodie!

by 4Runner 4U from Brownsville, TX on Thu Jun 21 2012

I bought my 06 4Runner in Sept of 2010 and have had it for about a year and a half and have had ZERO problems with it. It's built as solid as a tank and it's my daily driver so I can honestly say it's got turn-the-key and go reliability. The only complaint would have to be that you just can't find these on dealer lots as they get snatched up quickly. If you're looking for a very reliable, roomy and stylish mid-size SUV you can't go wrong with a 2006 4Runner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11