2006 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2006 Toyota 4Runner

$3,549 - $18,521  MSRP Range
2006 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

102 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 102 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I have ever owned so far.

by On-off-road SUV from Spring field gardens on Wed Jul 29 2020

This car was on of my successful choices. I made search for about seven months and I cam to occlusion that the 4 runner would be the best car for me because wherever you put it will serve. really reliable SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the most powerful car I 've owned

by ella from Jacksonville,FL on Fri Oct 19 2007

I feel very proud to own this vehicle. It is the best I 've ever had. I love everything about it, especially the power once I push on the gas pedal on highway. All the other cars stay behind and get smaller as I go. It's a great feeling, knowing that I have something that's built strong and I know it will last a long time. It has plenty of room, the brakes are excellent, and the overall appearance is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable and best car i have ever owned

by jdubb999 from California on Wed Jun 15 2011

I absolutely love this car! its worth so much more then it costs!!!! Anyone looking for a great SUV, look no further!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Military from Mt Home, ID on Mon May 03 2010

Good mileage (w/o towing pckg), bought in Missippi drove across country did great, towing 4k+LBS w/ 12mpg (V6), easy to work on...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Was a grate car

by Wish I hadn't traded it from modesto ca. on Wed Mar 09 2011

I loved this car the only thing I didn't like was the color of the seats, tan in a black car, we never had any problem with it a good ride and vary nice looking

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best suv owned

by Toyota dude from Oshkosh, WI on Mon Jan 02 2012

I have owned other trucks and SUVs in the past. This one doesn't break down like others. All electronics work which in other SUVs you have to have them fixed all the time. Great fuel economy considering the size. Over all a great Suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best off-road and interstate driving combo

by long time sports car, pickup and suv owner from Ocean Pines, MD on Sat Nov 01 2008

I b I bought this V-6 Sports Edition new in 2006 and have never regretted it. The V-6 aluminum block engine makes for a well balanced vehicle and the X-reas suspension is the frosting on the cake. As I approach 40k miles, I have come to appreciate several features, rare in 2006 vehicles: ipod jack,timing chain (no belt to replace), valve stem air pressure warning,extra large front discs, stability control, many compartments including one in a non-obvious place. The V-6 engine has an occasional tick which Toyota claims not to recognize. It comes and goes but doesn't seem to be harmful. There are many reports of the tick on the 4Runner forums. Acceleration and handling are excellent for a tough body on frame SUV, and would be very good for a passenger sedan. Gas mileage, 19-22 mpg is not great but seems reasonable for the weight and performance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tons of kids, Great car

by Soccer Mom from Vancouver, Wa on Tue Apr 15 2014

I am a mom who has 11 kids that are all involved in the wonderful sport of soccer. This car transports them to and from soccer practice on a daily basis, other than Sundays. I can cram all 11 of them in this baby (not legally, but still).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have ever owned!

by Love my 4Runner from Carmel, IN on Wed Sep 19 2012

This is my second 4Runner and it is the best car I have ever owned! Also, it may be the best vehicle ever built. I have heard nothing but praises from people who have owned them with well over 130,000 miles. There is never a rattle or squeek and it is the most reliable car ever. I would highly recommend one, and they are fun to drive!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Think twice about this 2006 4Runner

by LisaMarie from Chatham, NY on Thu Dec 12 2013

I just purchased a 2006 with 120K from a Toyota dealership with a Carfax. Maintained at dealer. Had the car for less than 24 hours when accelerating between 23-40 the car felt like I was driving over a rumble strip. Took it back to dealer and told me to live with it. I said not acceptable. Too make a long story short they flushed transmission 2 times reset computer and car still has problem. Told me the torque converter and the computer in car are not working properly together and it is what is. Didn't even think putting in new transmission would help. Toyota evidently has a big flaw in this vehicle. For this reason I would not recommend buying.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11