2006 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2006 Toyota 4Runner

$3,549 - $18,521  MSRP Range
2006 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

102 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 102 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from New York, NY on Tue Jul 13 2010

Really am very interested in type of car driving. Driving very smooth. also maintenance very low cost.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

cascade

by waterfall from Southington, CT on Sat Apr 23 2011

Rav 4--AVOID! My new husband swore by Toyotas. Wanted a 4x4 so bought the Rav4. Felt roomy and lots of nooks and places for ease. Feels much bigger inside than it looks. Decided I don't like the back door, it's often in the way- a hatch is better 'cause you can open the window and have rain protection when loading things in the back- so Rav gets a minus there. BIGGEST NEGATIVE---the 4-whel drive automatically pops out at 30mph--designed that way--so why bother??!!! thought it handled VERY POORLY in snow and ice conditions. Had accident with it--antilock brqckes caused a fistailing and although the safety features worked great--insurance totaled the car even thought the damage looked minor. Too expensive to fix! Really! Went back to a Ford and am much happier now.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Vehicle is over price

by Eric mk from Grovetown, GA on Tue Sep 15 2020

This used vehicle is being priced over value. All used 4Runner come with extremely high mileage. Dealers are marking the price up to generate profit. I tested a vehicle where the frame had started to rust. The dealer painted the under carriage to make it look like some type of protective cover was on the frame. So buyers make sure you actually check the frames for rust

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Definite upgrade from Gen 3 4Runner

by RickD from N. California on Fri Jun 16 2017

I'm really happy with this 4 runner, quieter, better performance, more room, all with slightly better mph. Love the full time FWD and e-locker! No regrets....even off road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Man I Miss My Truck!!!!!!!!

by Letha M from Mobile, AL on Tue Sep 19 2017

This car was everything I ever wanted as a teen. Spacious, reliable, and smooth. I pray I have the credit to purchase another one!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have ever had

by Dolphinman from Las vegas on Tue Mar 27 2018

Ive had it for 12 years and i would not be selling it , but I need a truck. Still runs like new I bought it in mexico and like it so much I imported into the states.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable, good car

by hnwhite01 from Hattiesburg, MS on Tue Jun 20 2017

As long as you take care of basic maintainance - this thing will go forever. Very reliable vehicle - great for college students and young professionals.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by col from Miami on Thu Apr 05 2007

5 out of 5 for this SUV. Excellent car, value and pricing. Great interior features, like the automatic climate control and MPG display. Solid on the road, very comfortable and quiet. You'd be hard pressed to to buy this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned

by Trent 4RUNNER from Westchester, IL on Wed Mar 07 2018

The only drawback is the fuel economy. Other than that, it is an amazing vehicle. Gets only 4 stars for interior design as the window controls are under the handle and hard to get to in the dark. Highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who is debating between this and similar models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4Runners keep their heads up!

by Reverend MT from Durham, NC on Sat May 13 2017

we have had a few toyota's the past 10 years but the 4Runners are our favorite. We have a 2000, a 2005 and now a 2006. They hold their value, are very dependable and provide a great ride and great room for active lifestyles. They are safe and in my opinion... are just pretty dang cool.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11