2018 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

$28,255 - $44,939  MSRP Range
2018 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

246 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 246 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Angry Moose

by 4Funner4Lyfe from wausau on Tue Jun 26 2018

extremely comfortable seats and great visibility all around. This vehicle gives you a nice smooth and confident ride. It is really quiet going down the road and has a nicely balanced sound system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Goes Anywhere

by Silverfoxstudiosus from Chelmsford ma on Tue Jun 26 2018

Great vehicle Well made Good gas mileage Very comfortable Drives over anything Nice controls Great sound system Holds the road well Really comfortable seats Lots of accessories to add on

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3rd 4 Runner I owned. 2018 awd limited

by 4 Runner 4ever from Stuart, fl on Mon Mar 04 2019

This vehicle is a tank. You feel solid in it. Love the limited with the awd. It has parking sensors and SOS system, nice nav and bluetooth. Push button start. Heated and cooled seats. Mine is pearl white with blonde interior. Nice color combo together. Averages 16.7 miles to the gallon. I used to have 2005 and 2008 SR5. They were great too. I love the new body style and upgrades too, 4 runners are awesome, period. If you like the tech stuff..the limited offers some. Supposedly 2020 models will be getting the latest toyota safety sense features, the variety varies per trim. At least they are finally bringing it to the 4 runner, but regardless, this vehicle is solid, has good visibility and reliability. The resale is awesome. A vehicle that will go the distance and handle all types of terrain. Whatever model is in your price range or taste..each have cool personality all their own. The cloth seats are very comfortable too. They all have their perks and personalities. Per iseecars reports..the 4 runner has had the least amount of fatalities and is the most likely vehicle to go past 300,000 miles, sooooo a 4 runner is a great investment, regardless what consumer reports or others may think. The heritage and statistics speak for themselves. Choose your favorite and enjoy your ride!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV with about the same interior space as my

by HawaiiGirl from Plano TX on Sun Dec 24 2017

Great vehicle with lots of options, so you determine your price. But at least $10,000 less than Tahoe, which is what I had been driving. Truck chasis, so still like driving a truck and not one of those baby Sun's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I currently own one and it's a fantastic vehicle!

by ntmartin2010 from Denver, CO on Thu Jan 31 2019

Plenty of space within the car, super reliable, maintenance is generally low cost if anything does come up. Overall great quality car as is with most Toyota vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful color

by Deb from Resaca GA 30735 on Mon Dec 03 2018

The first car in my life that I have set my eyes on and would only settle for this car in the certain color that I got.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota reliability was my reason for buying .

by Larry D from Peabody Ma on Tue Jun 26 2018

I wish it were just a bit larger but it works out well for my needs. If the Sequoia had flat folding second row seats, I would have gone with the Sequoia. This seat configuration works well for my dog in the back.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best trade I ever made

by djt384 from Putnam Valley, NY on Thu Jun 07 2018

I traded in my Nissan Xterra which was my FAVORITE car ever. I had to get something bigger because our family was growing. The 4Runner had additional space and the design is incredible. The 4Runner is actually a more capable vehicle off-road, safer on road, and better gas mileage. I don't know if I can ever get rid of this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Kody from Colorado Springs, CO on Tue Mar 27 2018

I purchased a 2018 Toyota 4runner, Off Road Premium. I have only owned a month, aprox 1500 miles so far. I will start by saying this vehicle is not for everyone. The reasoning for this is it doesn't have many creature comforts as almost every other make of SUV on the market. A few things it doesn't have that my 2014 Grand Cherokee did; heated steering wheel, automatic headlights, passenger vertical adjustment, power lift gate, push button start, keyless/ fob-less entry, remote start. That being said, this is still a phenomenal SUV. The reasons I still purchased this vehicle over another with the creature comforts; Toyota reliability, off-road capability, interior cargo room, and rear glass window ability of rolling down (for the dogs). The ride comfort is great even for a large body on frame SUV, it is definitely firm but not harsh. Seats are firm, but I prefer that over a "coach" feeling. Gas mileage is as expected, average 18-19, 70-30 highway. I intend on owning this vehicle for 200k+ miles and expect to have no issues. The confidence you have in your vehicle to never leave you stranded and take you anywhere you could ever want to go cant be over stated. Worth every penny. Would buy again in a heartbeat. I sold a 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited (that was paid off) for the 4Runner. Although the Grand Cherokee had a little more of a luxury ride, with all the creature comforts you could ever want, I spent entirely too many weekends at the dealership having issues fixed ( or not fixed because they couldn't figure it out). The reliability of a 4runner is phenomenal. An easy way to check this is to compare resale value of a 4Runner to any other SUV on the market. Nothing comes close. Happy Hunting

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Our first 4Runner

by Oklahoman from Tulsa, OK on Fri Jan 26 2018

After an extensive research we finally decided to get a new 4Runner SR5 Premium. The key factors that led to purchasing this SUV were the Toyota's reliability, Low/High 4x4 transfer case, great resale value. Pros.: Fun to drive, solidly built, comfortable, off-road capabilities (low/high 4x4), 3rd. row seating, power/heated front seats, XM radio/navigation, moonroof, high resale value. Cons.: 4.0L V6 is thirsty, it's also sluggish when driving uphill compared to Tundra's V8, the transmission is still 5-speed in 2018, lack of locking rear differential on SR5, several safety features offered in Highlander such as Blind spot monitor are missing on all 4Runner models. Overall, the truck is fun to drive and we like it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com