2017 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius Prime

$17,115 - $26,555  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius Prime

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 81 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I OWNED

by KIRK from NEW YORK on Mon Oct 02 2017

GREAT GAS MILEAGE, THE VEHICLES SAFETY FEATURES ARE STANDARD. FINDING ELECTRIC STATIONS MAY BE A PROBLEM. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Prius Prime Advanced

by Jim from Winter Haven, FL on Thu Feb 08 2018

The car gives a good solid, quiet ride. The interior is stylish and comfortable. The 11.6 inch display and entune premium (JBL) audio with integrated navigation and app suite was great on my 1,000 mile trip down the eastern seaboard. Toyota safety sense package worked great on my long trip and around town. The full-speed range dynamic radar cruise control is my favorite feature when freeway driving. Gas mileage was 54 mph in hybrid mode traveling down I-95 interstate. Around town I can drive on electric for a good 30 miles before recharging. Great value for the money. Love the car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Robhuff46 from Martinsburg on Wed Jun 14 2017

Great vehicle... Driven over 1000 miles, not using any gas. Most of my driving is within 30 miles. This is a hybrid plug-in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Car

by RobertDc from Federal Way, WA on Sat Apr 21 2018

So far this is by far the best car I have ever owned. And my previous car was a 2016 Toyota Prius. It is the most wonderful color. It is by far the smoothest ride I have ever enjoyed compared with all my past autos. I love the space age interface. I feel it is well laid out and easy and quick to access all the needed functions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome piece of hardware.

by mjpburke60 on Tue Jan 02 2018

This car is absolutely spot on for our local EV needs. Had it now for 3 weeks and only used an 1/8th of a tank of gas. Currently showing 176.6 MPG. A blast to own and operate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far I love it

by Hotlanta from Atlanta, GA on Fri Dec 15 2017

I bought the Prius 2 Eco, and it really does get well over 50 mpg. Nice. I bought the car two weeks ago, and have put about 150 miles on it. I am pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the seats and the handling of the car. Very nice indeed! There is very little road noise when driving. The upholstery and interior are unusual;.I think the black/white/grey color scheme is both attractive and stylish. Things I don't like: The instrument array. I find it unnecessarily cluttered, with too many choices, displays, and menus. I'm an intelligent person, and not at all intimidated by technology. Should I really have to read the Owner's Manual before I can reset the dashboard clock or trip the odometer? Because of the information overload, I'm never quite sure where to look to find a gauge, and I find it distracting. In my opinion, this is true of ALL the new cars, not just my Prius. The mostly-analog display on my 2013 CR-V was much better, to my mind. Other than the information displays, however, I haven't found anything else to dislike about the car. I'm excited about the gas mileage and quality of the car, and looking forward to many miles of driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

REALLY SMOOTH

by Environmentalist from Lincoln, Nebraska on Tue Nov 07 2017

The car moves out quietly and smoothly. It handles easily and the ride is quite comfortable. It has plenty of acceleration. All said, I enjoy driving this car. In addition the safety warnings are most helpful and give peace of mind. We were backing out of a parking spot and it let us know that a car had turned into our lane (in a parking lot) ; it did stop before getting very far but it was reassuring to have that kind of warning.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High Tech Wonder

by Davidstress from SoCal on Thu Aug 31 2017

So many amazing high tech features it really needs to be appreciated by an Engineer. Love the big screen, love the HUD, love having 2 real seats in the back without trying to shoehorn in a 3rd. Did I say I love the look, both inside and out. But you do need the center console applique package to get rid of the urinal look. Easy to install if you are handy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Most Advanced Prius Ever

by model3prime on Thu Aug 03 2017

This is one of the best cars I have ever driven. It is a great way to go green, especially with 133 mpge. With a 25 mile rated electric range, I am able to commute to and from work almost entirely on electric power. It seats 4 comfortably, and there is plenty of rear legroom, maybe even more than the front. However, the other main feature I got this car was for its great safety features. The Advanced has the most, with the BSM and Toyota Safety Connect, while the other two trims have the rest same (auto braking, lane keep assist and warning, etc.). I bought this vehicle after the lease to my Nissan Leaf ended. I didn't lease this car as I got the Advanced trim level, and the lease for it is more than 560 bucks a month, which is unreasonably high for a $36,000 car. But then again, there are federal and state incentives, since it is a plug-in hybrid. Interior comfort is pretty good, except for the armrests being unreasonably hard. I took this car on a long road trip and it was comfortable enough for the entire 8 hours. Overall this car was a great buy and highly recommend it. You may think that the Volt has an advantage over this car due to its 38 mile electric range. However, the Prime has almost TWICE the overall range (gas + electric), TWICE the mpge, and much more safety features. The Prius Prime is the winner.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Prime

by Mugsy from Jamesville, New York on Thu Aug 31 2017

The most comfortable car I have ever had and that is many! I feel very safe in it, all the controls are easy to maneuver right in front of me. I love the styling and color. Everything about this car is perfect!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime is quirky in the driving department and overly expressive in the looks department, but its electric-only range, gas mileage and green-car mission are admirable.

Versus the competition:


Other plug-ins offer similar fuel efficiency and electric-driving range, as well as more understated, regular-car styling, but the Prius Prime's value is hard to beat.

As many of us learn in playing (losing) the stock market, timing is everything. Toyota is likely in the middle of that lesson. New for 2017, the Prius Prime is a plug-in version of the regular Prius gas/electric hybrid, and now is not a prime time for it to debut: Sales of hybrids and electrics are down, and low gas prices and a White House teeming with climate-change deniers will likely keep them that way. That’s a shame; the Prime delivers a solid fuel economy win — you just have to put up with some quirks in exchange.  

The Prime goes up against other plug-in hybrids like the Kia Optima Plug-In, Chevrolet Volt and Ford C-Max Energi. Compare them here

A Curious Blend of Strange and... Read More