2017 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius Prime

$17,115 - $26,555  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius Prime

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 81 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great fit 25 electric then a true hybrid

by Johnny Falcon from San Francisco CA on Sun Oct 01 2017

One of the best cars I've owned Perfect for today's driving Handles great - much improved over previous Toyota Prius Advanced is the way to go

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car, but very small for family

by Nematoda from Los Angeles on Tue Oct 24 2017

I like the Prius Prime, especially the technology. But for a family, it's a bit too small. Cargo space is extremely limited, even compared to the regular Prius. If used strictly as a commuter car, the space would be largely irrelevant, but there's hardly even enough space for an overnight trip for a family of three.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's Red

by Judith Peck from Eugene, Oregon on Wed Oct 04 2017

I have only had my car for a few weeks. Compared to my 2007 Prius Touring my Advanced is more comfortable to drive, seating is more adjustable. It has heated seats and steering wheel will be nice in winter. The auto alert features take some getting used to, but do make it very safe. Really nice if you live where there are a lot of bicyclist. On the freeway the car pretty much drives itself. It keeps the proper distance from the car in front. This car is as close as you can get to a self driving as you can presently get. I have only used 1/4 tank of gas so far, the electric charge does fine for daily chores and work. This should get me to the grave with miles to spare!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most gas efficient car in the market

by Javi N from Houston, TX on Wed Jan 17 2018

Toyota Prius has established itself as the most reliable and signature hybrid vehicle to date. The Prius Prime has significantly improved the gas efficiency on this vehicle with great electric capabilities added to the hybrid system!!! This hybrid vehicle is highly recommended!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Who would've guessed a Prius could look so snazzy?

by CarolynS. from Pittsfield, MA on Sat Apr 07 2018

Loving my new Prius Prime! It's absolutely beautiful in red, very sporty, and drives like a dream. I've only had it for 500 miles so far, so I really can't speak to it's reliability, but so far everything's been great. The electric motor lets me plug it in at night (to a regular outlet in my garage), and my commute to work and home is primarily electric, but it also generates electricity via the wheels, and the gas kicks in when going uphills. I got up to 103 mpg the first week I owned it, and I can get even more whenever I'm just driving in town. The gas gauge didn't budge all week, and the mpg just kept going up and up. It's seamless, and so quiet, yet powerful, too. My only disappointment was that there isn't more storage room. The trunk and glove compartment are small, but, the high gas mileage is so worth it, and the seats fold down if I need to carry something bulky. If you're at all tempted to buy a hydrid, I'd recommend looking at this one!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

lots of technology for little money

by archphips from Maryland on Thu Nov 09 2017

The Prime offers exceptional gas mileage and range combined with the option to drive short commutes entirely in electric mode. The exterior design takes getting used to and is overly showy but the interior is comfortable and mostly quite functional in spite of the many options and choices this vehicle offers including dynamic cruise control, lane control and automatic emergency breaking. The car is quite responsive in its quiet way getting up to speed with its CVT transmission. The Prime beats the Volt in price and the Hyandai Ionic in company experience with plug-ins. I have it only for a few days, so I can't say anything about reliability

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite Prius yet

by xmasboy from Jericho, Vermont on Sat Apr 07 2018

This is my fourth Prius and first plug in. I have owned 3 previously. One I had for 90,000 miles, one for 150,000 miles and one for 60,000. Aside from routine maintenance I never had a problem with any of them. I’m only at 10,000 miles on this one but so far I love it. The only negative, the Entunes suite sucks. I understand toyota is now moving toward incorporating Apple CarPlay and Googles android version.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Prime: Impressive mpg and mileage

by Keith M. Cagle from Annapolis, Maryland on Wed Apr 18 2018

I have been using this new car for third week now. Its mileage reaches more than 500 miles and the tank still is more than half. As of today, its mpg is 74 which is impressive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Prime

by Mugsy from Jamesville, New York on Thu Aug 31 2017

The most comfortable car I have ever had and that is many! I feel very safe in it, all the controls are easy to maneuver right in front of me. I love the styling and color. Everything about this car is perfect!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I OWNED

by KIRK from NEW YORK on Mon Oct 02 2017

GREAT GAS MILEAGE, THE VEHICLES SAFETY FEATURES ARE STANDARD. FINDING ELECTRIC STATIONS MAY BE A PROBLEM. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime is quirky in the driving department and overly expressive in the looks department, but its electric-only range, gas mileage and green-car mission are admirable.

Versus the competition:


Other plug-ins offer similar fuel efficiency and electric-driving range, as well as more understated, regular-car styling, but the Prius Prime's value is hard to beat.

As many of us learn in playing (losing) the stock market, timing is everything. Toyota is likely in the middle of that lesson. New for 2017, the Prius Prime is a plug-in version of the regular Prius gas/electric hybrid, and now is not a prime time for it to debut: Sales of hybrids and electrics are down, and low gas prices and a White House teeming with climate-change deniers will likely keep them that way. That’s a shame; the Prime delivers a solid fuel economy win — you just have to put up with some quirks in exchange.  

The Prime goes up against other plug-in hybrids like the Kia Optima Plug-In, Chevrolet Volt and Ford C-Max Energi. Compare them here

A Curious Blend of Strange and... Read More