2000 Tundra

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota Tundra

$1,931 - $11,959  MSRP Range
2000 Toyota Tundra

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

15 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota Tundra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good but not tops

by geezer from Seattle, WA on Wed Nov 07 2007

The 2000 year was Motor Trends' truck of the year. Mine is a Limited, 4wd, access cab model. Currently it has 57,000 miles. OE oxygen sensors were a problem, but later replacement parts ok. Front rotors are too light as well as other rear brake components, and I've had my rotors replaced twice under warranty, drums once; after market's probably much better. Originals were too thin to disipate the heat and warped. The starter is mounted under the intake manifold and a common problem is contact replacement costing $500-700 or more at the dealer. Front end geometry makes tire replacement tricky, as some tires will cause "shimmy" at 50-60 MPH even with new alignment and tire truing. Buy Michelins or OE replacements. Tight body, comfort good, quiet ride, a tad tight in the back seats, but that's for groceries anyway. It's about the size of a newer Tacoma. A good used choice keeping in mind the starter and brakes. No engine problems or expenses otherwise. Some other owners have reported ball joing problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Made the mistake of trading it in...

by Truckguy777 from Minneapolis, MN on Sun May 17 2015

Put 100,000+ miles on my Tundra, and other than normal maintenance, only had to replace the oxygen sensor and a wheel bearing...Biggest mistake was trading it in for my wife's Montero, that now sits dead in my driveway after I've already put about $2000 into repairs recently...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Entered Beast Mode

by Chepiksacc from Canada on Tue Jun 13 2017

This truck makes me feel like I've gone back in time 17 years (being 2017 now), without losing the comfort, power, and style of current trucks. Nothing better than having all the windows open with some good classic rock playing while cruising around in this comfortable ride. Very very spacious on the inside and out, just the back seats could use a wee bit more comfort for long drives. Powerful truck to get any job done, work or play.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable most comfortable truck I've owned

by PopTop from Mankato Mn on Fri May 11 2018

Nice pickup reliable needs timing chain instead of a belt access cab small works well for children or pets needs a 5 speed transmission instead of 4. Comfortable ride

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Almost 19 years and still great!

by jth6721 from charlotte on Thu Apr 26 2018

Bought my 4.7 V-8 as soon as they came out in summer 1999. Now 330,000 miles later with expected repairs and replacements still a great drive. My regular mechanic told me today that he bought a 2001 land cruiser because of his experience working on my truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Old Pickup Still Makes Me Happy!

by OgdenSkier from Ogden, UT on Wed Jan 11 2017

This Tundra was 5 years old, had dents, 80k miles, and owned by a heavy smoker when I got it 12 years ago. I've pulled trailers that were too heavy, loaded the bed with way too much weight, and even tried to 'catch air' a few times while off roading. All repairs: new front brake rotors, new radiator, and a cylinder coil (and tires and batteries, of course) It has never left me stranded and at 205k miles, it still runs great! A couple years ago, I fixed the dents and got a budget paint job and now it looks good! I was going to give it to my teenage son, but I'm still too happy to part with it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid pick-up that will last a long time

by JerryNJ from New Jersey on Mon Feb 12 2018

Smooth ride, especially for a pick-up truck. Extended cab is roomy enough for 3 grown adults in the back seat. I've got 268k miles on it and its still going - with minor issues you'd expect from an 18 year old vehicle. I used it for personal use, though I've hauled some fairly heavy loads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good reliability and very comfortable ride

by PopTop from Mankato Mn on Mon Mar 19 2018

Good power reliable nice 4 wheel drive performance comfortable for a pickup. The access cab is small but functional for children or small adults.easy to change spark plugs and oil

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value and reliability

by Kevi k from Mn on Sun Nov 19 2017

Good power and performance reliability and smooth ride average gas mileage for a pickup. Needs a 5 speed transmission. A full quad cab would serve me better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best truck on unreliable roads

by Dsand from Ventura California on Tue Apr 29 2008

I've driven my truck 4 times down Baja and was on roads, off roads and somewhere else. I always feel 100% confident on any road when I am in my Toyota. It is a proven safe and sturdy truck. Now if they could only get it to be more efficient with the MPG, I get 15 mpg no matter where I drive or how I drive. 4 X 4 limited, TRD with shell.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 Toyota Tundra

For the vast majority of people who use their pick-up trucks as commuting vehicles, testing its ability off-road is a waste of time. The true test comes around town. What feels agile off-road can become ponderous on-road.

American automakers have been making their trucks much more civilized, even in the full-sized category. After a couple of half-hearted attempts at matching GM, Ford and DaimlerChrysler, Toyota tackles the big three on their own turf with the new Tundra full-sized pick-up truck.

Built at a new plant in Indiana, Toyota offers its biggie truck as a two-door, regular cab with an eight-foot-bed or a four-door extended cab with 6-foot bed. Two- or four-wheel-drive is available in... Read More